We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden Gem - Home from Home in the New Forest Area”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Curlews Farm TXOKO

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Romsey, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

PrincessP...
Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem - Home from Home in the New Forest Area”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just got back from a week at Txoxo Cottage at Curlew's Farm, this place is fabulous.

Home from home comforts plus a heated pool - it has it all. Ideal for families (there was 5 of us: 3 boys 3.10 and 13), with numerous games, washing machine, separate bath and walk-in shower, plus ability to use the shower in the pool room. Outside there is a large garden with giant trampoline.

Fantastic location: 20 minutes from Peppa Pig World, and on the border of the New Forest.

The owners are the best hosts you can possibly imagine, providing complimentary eggs from their chickens, always on hand to give help and advice.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Heated Pool
Liked least: No wardrobes, either hang clothes in the 1 coatcupboard in the lounge or use the drawers.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelMatt F
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful home and area”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Txoko is a beautiful house with everything you need. It is very spacious which has been great for our two daughters(4 yr old and 10 month old). Having a pool with an outdoor shower/drying room is great. The trampoline is huge hit with our daughter.
The owners are lovely and were here to greet us on arrival. Many lovely touches to make our stay welcoming - we especially loved the fresh farm eggs;) They went out of their way to make sure we had a bbq we would like. There are many things to do and see in the area.
We would love to stay again and highly recommend it to everyone.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHill2015
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A beautiful, well-maintained cottage with friendly and welcoming owners! The cottage is clean and well-equipped with everything you need, even our bedrooms were arranged to suit our group. I would recommend this property!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie C
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect spot to enjoy beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A wonderful cottage in beautiful surroundings! Fantastic hosts and a wonderful welcome. Exactly as described - could not have wished for better. We hope to go back!

Date of stay: October 2014
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Homely and spacious”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Great accommodation, everything you needed home from home. very comfy cottage with plenty indoor and outdoor space. the owners were very helpful and welcoming. Most definitely looking forward to our next stay.

Date of stay: September 2014
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WitBabla
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautiful”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from an Easter bank holiday weekend stay here. The cottage was well equipped and spacious, had gorgeous leather sofas, big, comfortable beds and beautiful oak furniture. The view through the full length windows/ french doors in the lounge was breath taking. I was a bit worried before we went that only one bathroom was advertised (one toilet between 6 of us!) but there is actually another toilet in the cottage and also a wet room and toilet which are just next door.

Watched the sun rise and set from the rear patio. We also had a barbecue out there. Unfortunately it was too cold to use the pool but we did go on the trampoline! We made full use of the wood burning stove during the cool evenings. The wi-fi was great as was the sky TV and books and games at the cottage.

The location was great. There are beautiful walks near the cottage. We walked through the bluebell woods just up the hill and also up a track which led to amazing views over the Test Valley. There is the King's Arms pub at the bottom of the lane where we got some fabulous food on the night we arrived. There is a village shop for daily essentials on the village green just a 10 minute walk away and Kimbridge Farm Shop (with a restaurant/ tea rooms) just a 10 minute drive away where we got some really tasty, good quality burgers and sausages for our barbecue. Romsey is also only about a 10 minute drive away. It has a few supermarkets, a pretty Abbey and a number of high street shops, cafes and restaurants. Plenty of tourist attractions are within easy reach if you want to go to them. We took a 30 minute drive to Salisbury (close to Stone Henge) on a rainy day before heading on to Salisbury Plain for a bit of off roading in our Land Rover.

The owners of the cottage, Tim and Helen (and their lovely little dog, Inca) live on site and were happy to be contacted throughout our stay. They couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. All in all one of the best self-catered stays we've had. Can't wait to go back!

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Traditional feel with all the modern conveniences
Liked least: The spider in the toilet - but I didn't have the heart to put it outside!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa G
Romsey, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what a lovely place to stay perfect in everyway”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Tim and Helen are perfect hosts, the cottage has fantastic views and has every amenity you would need for a weekend break or an extended stay. the kids loved the pool and the open spaces.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.