We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly wonderful”
Review of Dukes head

Dukes head
Ranked #15 of 78 Restaurants in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfectly wonderful”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Friendly welcome, lovely building, food was fantastic, excellent quality (Trio of smoked fish was perfect).

So so much better than under previous management, well done.

As locals we are over the moon to have such a lovely pub back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaun g, Owner at Dukes head, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    38
    7
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Took family for lunch last Sunday,excellent food with a fairly wide choice on menu not the often usual' Sunday Roast' only menu.
Had griiled sardines with new pots and salad-fantastic,my wife had an excellent roast whilst 86 year old father-in-law had his favourite ham egg and chips.
Beer excellent (Doombar and Ringwood best) only downside they are no longer serving Flacks and the choice of draught ciders was poor being limited to one
Will definitely visit again and it is worth noting that Monday to Friday lunchtime they do a limited menu for a fiver provided you buy any drink

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank les f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaun g, Owner at Dukes head, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect.”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

As a contractor I am well aware of food & hospitality standards nationwide. My occupation forces me to eat out 4 nights a week, every week of the year. Believe me, I know a good eating place when I find one. The Dukes Head is one of them finds.
Staff are spot on, beer is exactly what it is supposed to be, the food is just awesome & at a fair price. Just to top it all off you have the log stove setting the scene for a great end to a hard working day. Just perfect.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hungwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaun g, Owner at Dukes head, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A dissapointment”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We first came to this pub 18 months ago. The missus chose the fish soup, which she said was authentic French style. I had faggots and gravy. The gravy alone blew me away. From that point on we visited the pub every couple of months. Everything on the menu was fresh, homemade and cheap.

So, unaware of the management change (discussed in previous comments) we went for supper tonight.

Let start by saying that the service was good. We got a nice smile from the manageress behind the bar when we entered. We immediately felt welcome. Next up, the ale was wonderful, clear as a bell. This pub knows how to look after beer.

Unfortunately that's about as good as it gets.

First up we had soup, and shared a chopped up ciabatta with olive oil and olives. The bread was stale but warm, the olives were delicious. The soup was very average, chicken and potato, was quite thick and lacked flavour, and was served with oldish (but not stale) sliced brown bread.
For main course we ordered chips and gravy (remember the gravy?) and I ordered whitebait.

The gravy was from a packet, as were the chips and the whitebait. What a disappointment. I actually recognise the brand of whitebait from Costco. £9.75 for a handful of costco whitebait and some chips and garnish.

The whole menu is from the early nineties. Everything apart from the steaks is Freezer-to-fryer, but at chef-prepared prices. Even the "Specials" menu is from Costco freezer dept such as duck gyozo, salt-and-pepper squid etc etc. Very disappointing. Very lazy.

We won't be going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yellowtractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaun g, Owner at Dukes head, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Firstly I am pleased you have left a review here on tripadvisor all be it a bad one, as it gives me a chance to reply to you, as you left a completed comment card on the table on the night but did not fill in your name, address or email to be contacted.
I would like to say the gravy was made fresh that evening using fresh beef stock made from the forerib of beef bones that was prepared for the shoot party dinner in the main restaurant. All were very happy with their meals & booked in for the following Friday!!
Yes there are some freezer to fryer foods on the menu including WHITEBAIT , the reason for this is that the menu is quite large & only one chef to do everything, however there are also lots of fresh dishes on the menu including local trout, lemon sole, fresh mussels, pan cooked king scallops etc etc.
All fresh & frozen fish products are supplied from Premier Fish Ltd & Cooper Foods Ltd not costco including the whitebait.
However you are correct about the duck gyozo dumplings , there were purchased at costco to try & have gone down very well with the customers that have tried them.
So therefore I find your review quite damaging from someone that orders CHIPS & GRAVY for a Friday night dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Called in on Saturday evening and had a most enjoyable meal. My steak was cooked to perfection. Friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere. Will be returning to one of the theme nights.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dukes head also viewed

 
Romsey, Hampshire
Sherfield English, Romsey
 

Been to Dukes head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing