We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Lodge Hotel(Woodlands)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
136
118
53
35
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
118
53
35
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaultons parksteak and guinness piepremier innroast potatoesfamily mealfantastic foodsunday roastthe vinepeppa piglovely pubevening mealold buildingnew forestwell worth a visitgood nights sleepfull englishsalmon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
349 - 354 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We had our wedding at the Mortimer Arms in July and a 60th Birthday Party in August.
I could recommend this as a venue for both a superb wedding and family party.

The Food is superb and presented beautifully. The Staff were so helpful and attentive. John and Jon were a terrific support and attention to detail made a very special day.

At our party Andy was, again, a great help in every request we had. The buffet was really good and catered well for everyone.

We stayed overnight on both occasions and the rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was a great start to the day for anyone's appetite.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed for my Aunts wedding. We were very impressed with our room, more than enough space with a comfy sofa in the corner. the bed was also extremely comfortable and the surrounding area was very quiet at night which made for a good nights rest. All the staff were very friendly and approachable and nothing seemed to be an issue. They were very accommodating for all guests with or without children. The wedding venue was a good size and easily decorated. The food was fantastic, catering for all needs as I am a vegetarian, again the staff were very courteous in making sure I was happy. I would definitely recommend The Mortimer Arms to friends and family!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Well, this was a slight let down, compared with our expectations. For starters, the room wasn't safe for our two young children to sleep in - we were on 1st floor and the big windows were easily reachable by our 4 and 3 year olds, the big windows could be opened fully. The staff tried keys to lock them but couldn't. With no other alternatives, we changed the sleeping arrangements so that an adult slept in front of the window to 'guard' it just in case one of the kids fancied escaping in the night. The room was ok, but decoration was poor there were bits falling off the ceilings and generally the furniture was very dated.
The next let down was the restaurant - while the food was of excellent quality, we had to wait over an hour for it and it wasn't even busy. The staff seemed surprised when after 10 mins of being say down we asked for the menus. They also tidied away our knives and forks before we had even eaten!!!! There were no colouring packs available for the children.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisals1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The Mortimer Arms and its management team offers excellent service for a couple looking for a great venue without wanting to scrimp on quality.

We've just returned from honeymoon having had a perfect wedding reception at The Mortimer Arms. The manager John Marsh and his team couldn't have been more helpful and organised. They ensured our day ran smoothly without us having to worry about any part of the 'behind the scenes,' enabling us to relax and enjoy our day.

The Orchid Suite function room comfortably held all of our 75 day guests, with additional 15 evening guests and a 5-piece band and DJ. As the weather was so good we also had sole use of the courtyard and fountain area.

My husband and I met with John Marsh on numerous occasions to discuss the wedding preparations prior to the day - John was willing to give us as much time as we needed to make important decisions and was on hand to offer practical advice and creative ideas we hadn't considered. John provided us with a personalised spreadsheet which broke down all costings and timings, so we knew exactly how to budget and were absolutely clear about how the day would run.

On our wedding day John and his team made us feel so special. He acted as an MC and liaised with us about changes to timings, offering us the flexibility to have our drinks and desert served outside if we wanted, as the weather was so sunny. The wedding breakfast food was delicious and again, John gave us the flexibility to design our own menu which made us feel our wedding was personalised exactly as we wanted.

Some of our guests have already commented on their rooms. Our bridal suite was immaculate and we were delighted to find some thoughtful touches such as flowers and champagne in the room which made us feel really special.

Overall we couldn't have wished for a better wedding day, largely because of John Marsh's expertise, competence and friendly professionalism. Thank you so much John and the team, from Helen and Al Fitzjohn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

After walking out of the vine inn just up the road, the mortimer arms was the first place i came too. Very welcoming and was looked after very very well, myself and my wife had an excellent meal and were served by very friendly staff, all in all a very good experience and i would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews