We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I was looking for somewhere to stay while taking the children to Paultons Park and was a bit surprised at how far away the hotels that could be booked through Paultons actually were so booked Mortimer Arms purely on location. When we arrived I was amazed at how close it actually was (basically at the entrance, but not within earshot!) and then even more surprised by the fantastic service, generous room (we had a family room which had a double bed, double sofa bed and lots of space between) and the outstanding service. We decided to have dinner there and was a tiny bit disappointed that the dinner service didn't start a little bit earlier given that it was such an excellent hotel to stay at with children but I wouldn't hold it against them. The food was very good pub food and the children loved it. Breakfast was just as good. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Purpletigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcatrazPromotions, Public Relations Manager at Mortimer Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to review us here at the Mortimer Arms.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your visit to Paultons Park.

We will hopefully see you again soon, should you be in the area, Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    110
    46
    30
    34
See reviews for
151
72
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We booked The Mortimer Arms for the night before the Great South Run, as it was ideally located just off the M27. On arrival the staff were very helpful asking us if we wanted to book a table & if so we might want to wait until after 7pm as they usually get quite full as they are next door to Paultons Theme Park.

The room was clean, tidy and quite suitable for our needs, even though we were right on the main road there was no noise from the road at all. The food was delicious & there was a wide variety.

The next morning the staff were happy to open breakfast early for us at 730am as we'd explained the night before that we had an early start & they were fine with this.

If you want to stay here for a romantic get away or you don't have children I wouldn't recommend The Mortimer Arms. The restaurant was very busy with children & there aren't that many rooms so when the kids are running up & down the corridors it can be quite noisy! But then again what do you expect when you are right next door to a theme park & Peppa Pig World.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemmyjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We have just celebrated our daughters birthday, 2 days in Paultons park (Peppa Pig world) and one night stay at this hotel. It couldnt have been in a better location for us!.I have to say we were very surprised and impressed with our room. The lounge area was made up for our children, and the main room, which was big had a very nice four post bed. We enjoyed a very high standard meal. Compliments to the chef. The service was also very good. Polite friendly staff. Breakfast which was included in our price was impressive too. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone and if your lucky enough to find availability when visting Paulton Park, it is perfect.Overall a very enjoyable stay by all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Essexfamilysept2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We have just celebrated our Golden Wedding Anniversary with a lunch for 37 friends and family in the Orchid Suite and the whole occasion was fantastic. The food and wine was very good and the service was superb. From the time that we made our booking with the manager John Marsh, when he paid so much attention to the detail of our needs and advised us on many things, to the time that we left the event we have been extremely pleased.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews but welcome was very friendly and staff couldn't have been nicer.

Enjoyed a very good dinner in the bar / restaurant as did my dinner companion who liven in Southampton. A bit close to Peppa Pig world for my liking but fortunately not too many children present.

Breakfast was very good, albeit that I had to rush it; waitress seemed to be taken by surprise that someone wanted breakfast at 6:45 but food was excellent and fresh.

Overall a good experience

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We had our wedding at the Mortimer Arms in July and a 60th Birthday Party in August.
I could recommend this as a venue for both a superb wedding and family party.

The Food is superb and presented beautifully. The Staff were so helpful and attentive. John and Jon were a terrific support and attention to detail made a very special day.

At our party Andy was, again, a great help in every request we had. The buffet was really good and catered well for everyone.

We stayed overnight on both occasions and the rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was a great start to the day for anyone's appetite.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed for my Aunts wedding. We were very impressed with our room, more than enough space with a comfy sofa in the corner. the bed was also extremely comfortable and the surrounding area was very quiet at night which made for a good nights rest. All the staff were very friendly and approachable and nothing seemed to be an issue. They were very accommodating for all guests with or without children. The wedding venue was a good size and easily decorated. The food was fantastic, catering for all needs as I am a vegetarian, again the staff were very courteous in making sure I was happy. I would definitely recommend The Mortimer Arms to friends and family!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
2.7 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
835 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
#18 of 24 in Southampton
283 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortimer Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortimer Arms Hotel

Property: Mortimer Arms Hotel
Address: Romsey Road, Romsey SO51 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mortimer Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mortimer Arms Hotel - This Victorian building has been refurbished combining a unique blend of old world charm and modern sophistication. After a long day, sink into the comfort of one of our en-suite rooms. We provide the perfect location for a weekend in the country with the New Forest National Park on our door step and a short distance from Southampton and Bournemouth. Our excellent Restaurant and Bar boasts tasty traditional home-produced fayre and daily specials to weet the appetite. The relaxed atmosphere is conducive to business lunches and intimate dinners alike. The extensive menu is complimented by a comprehensive wine list and many fine ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mortimer Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortimer Arms Hotel Romsey, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing