We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing Overnight Stay”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Mortimer Arms is located close to Paultons Theme Park, which attracts family visitors, and near to Romsey and the M27.
We arrived for a very late lunch on September 14th and the extensive menu was available.
Service during our stay was excellent. Our requests were met with polite efficiency. We did not have to wait for food or service. We returned to the hotel very late and were given a key for a side entrance. All worked fine.
Our room was relatively small but well equipped and comfortable.
Breakfast was very good.
We enjoyed a relaxing stay apart from the noise from bedroom doors banging shut noisely in the morning as guests headed for breakfast.
Mortimer Arms is particularly recommended for families when Paultons is open in the summer months.
Otherwise in our experience this populay hotel/inn suited our purposes very well..

Room Tip: can be noisy in summer months with family groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    110
    46
    30
    34
See reviews for
151
72
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southampton u.k.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Visited on Sunday 8th Sept. Having used the the Hotel on many occasions for evening
and lunch time meals. We were confident of receiving an excellant meal, as we have done
in the past. On arrival we were informed that the premises had recently changed hands.
There is no longer a Sunday lunch deal. So we ordered two Roast Beef Lunches.When
these arrived, a very small veg. dish came with it, with about one carrot cut up,4 small
sweet corn,and two very small slices of broccoli. We thought this was for one person,
but on commenting when we paid the final bill was informed this was for two people!!
In all a very disappointing, and very expensive lunch [Just over £26 for two main courses,
one beer and one fruit juice] The man waiter, who has been there for a number of years.
was his usual helpful and charming self. Will not be returning until Customer Care returns. !!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for a quick sandwich on route to somewhere else. It was lunchtime and we were surprised that this pub was empty other than one big group in the restaurant. The barmaid was busy doing other things when we arrived and did take a little longer than expected to serve us. We chose to have a sandwich from the menu, but it also came with fries and a salad - great value for money! Our food came out within 10minutes and was well presented. Our sandwiches were on thick 'doorstep' bread and the fillings were delicious and quantity good. A very pleasant lunch, just not sure why this place was so quiet during a lunchtime period.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CTCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stopped here on the off chance after visiting Poultons Park, needed a very well earned glass of wine !! Really liked the place and decided to stay the night if there were any rooms available. Luckily enough they had just one left which was lovely (we have a 3 year old too). The food was fantastic, staff were really helpful and they are totally child friendly. Amazing breakfast the next morning included too (scrambled egg and smoked salmon was lovely). Really would recommend and will def be returning back when we are down in the New Forest. Thank you all for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherylSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Great location for paultons, staff very friendly, food lovely and service great. Everyone comes out off paultons when it closes and hits the restaurant so between 5 and 6.30 it's very busy. Staff do their best to cope with this but you need a little patience. Lyds (teapot) a natural with the kids.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiggerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

A very rude man on reception, who ignored you at every opportunity he could, and pulled inconvient faces if you asked him a question, like can I book a table for dinner? and can I please have some milk for tea as we have run out. (really hard requests!)

The whole hotel is quite grand, and our room was nice but if you start looking around it needs a lot of TLC.

There was one waitress during dinner dealing with all the diners, she was superb, but service was slow as she was run of her feet, whilst the other staff ignored you. The food is too expensive for ok food. My daughters chicken gourjons meal was very pitiful and we had to share our dinner with her, she was only given two gourjons and about 5 chips.

Same at breakfast only one lady running check out and breakfast service. It was a nice breakfast, but a few too many flies to enjoy the buffet (no sure I can blame them for that.)

Should have gone for the 2 for £10 menu at the vine inn down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_C476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Romsey hotels

Surrey, England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We ate dinner here after a busy day at Paultons. The outside says 'home cooked food, children welcome' seeing traffic ahead we chose to stay here and eat before heading to our hotel. Went to order 2 pies, out of stock, as was steak- it was 5.45 pm! 50% of tables were 'reserved' we took the last free table. Staff member asked the nice lady serving with blonde hair why they were reserved and she said they could only serve half a restaurant... They then started seating people here. Were advised food would be 30 mins, quite a wait so early in the evening. Asked for children's cutlery, small man with dark hair very rude- we don't have anything smaller- how can you offer a children's menu and no cutlery to eat it with? So my 20 month old son had to eat meatballs and pasta with a sharp fork and a giant spoon. He chose his fingers!
A lot of flies causing a nuisance right throughout.
Young children make noise, and you are not made to feel welcome when they are waiting 30 mins for dinner.
Haddock and pesto mash really nice, as was burger. £3 for a pint of Coke, £4 pint of shandy and £2 for a fruit shoot. Kids meal £6.50 (no extras like drinks or ice cream or even colouring in)- £52 for a pub dinner for 2 adults and 2 children with just 1 drink each. Nice but too stuffy and too expensive for us to return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Ferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
2.7 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
835 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
#18 of 24 in Southampton
283 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortimer Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortimer Arms Hotel

Property: Mortimer Arms Hotel
Address: Romsey Road, Romsey SO51 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mortimer Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mortimer Arms Hotel - This Victorian building has been refurbished combining a unique blend of old world charm and modern sophistication. After a long day, sink into the comfort of one of our en-suite rooms. We provide the perfect location for a weekend in the country with the New Forest National Park on our door step and a short distance from Southampton and Bournemouth. Our excellent Restaurant and Bar boasts tasty traditional home-produced fayre and daily specials to weet the appetite. The relaxed atmosphere is conducive to business lunches and intimate dinners alike. The extensive menu is complimented by a comprehensive wine list and many fine ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Mortimer Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortimer Arms Hotel Romsey, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing