We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Richmond Lane Guest House(Romsey)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lee Manor(Romsey)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Southampton North Hotel(Nursling)(Great Value!)
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ha'penny Acre B&B(Sherfield English)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
142
119
54
36
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
119
54
36
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaultons parksteak and guinness piepremier innroast potatoesfamily mealfantastic foodsunday roastthe vinepeppa piglovely pubevening mealold buildingnew forestwell worth a visitgood nights sleepfull englishsalmon
Filter
Updating list...
305 - 310 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were very disappointed with the children's meals that we ordered. They are right next door to Paulton's Park, so you would expect them to cater for that market, but they didn't seem to. Firstly, the kids meals cost £7.50, which is the most expensive kids meal we have ever bought. Secondly, the meals when they came were really not kids meals at all but a smaller size adult meal The kids pizza was made on a baguette, loaded up with thick chunks of ham and the salad actually had rocket leaves in it and was smothered in salad dressing - i personally don't know any child that would eat that. Needless to say the £7.50 meals went untouched in our family nad we went away with 2 hungry children.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinjohnPackard, General Manager at Mortimer Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your review and may l am sorry your visit back in October was not a happy one.
I was appointed the new General Manager on 6th January 2014 and we also now have a new head chef.

We are in close proximity to Paulton's Park although we have chosen to offer a healthier children's option than the food on offer at the surrounding restaurants. We are aware this may not be to everybody's taste but we do now make this apparent on advertising before people enter our car park.

All of the food at The Mortimer Arms is home cooked with fresh ingredients, we even do a lot of our own butchery and even make our own gravy over a number of days. The children's meals are no exception to this and are aimed at 8-12 year olds. For this we think they are great value for money. They are still £7.50 but we now have a new "chip free" selection available as well as an Early Bird Menu for adults with 25% off until the end of Mach 2014.

We would welcome you to visit us again where by l am certain your children will not go away hungry.

I would invite you to make yourselves known to me on your arrival. I am looking forward to giving you a warm welcome.

Kind Regards, Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

My partner and I booked a table for Sunday roasts, glad we did. We had a fantastic lunch. My partner had roast pork, yum, and I ordered roast beef. The waitress brought out our food and was blown away by the size of my Yorkshire Pud. Amazing. The staff are very friendly, the restaurant is very clean and comfortable and perfectly priced. We definitely advise a visit. We will be back for sure.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Mortimer Arms is located close to Paultons Theme Park, which attracts family visitors, and near to Romsey and the M27.
We arrived for a very late lunch on September 14th and the extensive menu was available.
Service during our stay was excellent. Our requests were met with polite efficiency. We did not have to wait for food or service. We returned to the hotel very late and were given a key for a side entrance. All worked fine.
Our room was relatively small but well equipped and comfortable.
Breakfast was very good.
We enjoyed a relaxing stay apart from the noise from bedroom doors banging shut noisely in the morning as guests headed for breakfast.
Mortimer Arms is particularly recommended for families when Paultons is open in the summer months.
Otherwise in our experience this populay hotel/inn suited our purposes very well..

Room Tip: can be noisy in summer months with family groups
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Visited on Sunday 8th Sept. Having used the the Hotel on many occasions for evening
and lunch time meals. We were confident of receiving an excellant meal, as we have done
in the past. On arrival we were informed that the premises had recently changed hands.
There is no longer a Sunday lunch deal. So we ordered two Roast Beef Lunches.When
these arrived, a very small veg. dish came with it, with about one carrot cut up,4 small
sweet corn,and two very small slices of broccoli. We thought this was for one person,
but on commenting when we paid the final bill was informed this was for two people!!
In all a very disappointing, and very expensive lunch [Just over £26 for two main courses,
one beer and one fruit juice] The man waiter, who has been there for a number of years.
was his usual helpful and charming self. Will not be returning until Customer Care returns. !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for a quick sandwich on route to somewhere else. It was lunchtime and we were surprised that this pub was empty other than one big group in the restaurant. The barmaid was busy doing other things when we arrived and did take a little longer than expected to serve us. We chose to have a sandwich from the menu, but it also came with fries and a salad - great value for money! Our food came out within 10minutes and was well presented. Our sandwiches were on thick 'doorstep' bread and the fillings were delicious and quantity good. A very pleasant lunch, just not sure why this place was so quiet during a lunchtime period.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CTCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews