We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not the best!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mortimer Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Uckfield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not the best!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We recently stayed for one night in Room 4 (March) this is quite a small room with a small
en-suite (no bath). When we looked in the shower there was what looked like back flow from the waste (blown back up from the waste / drain trap. the smell was not pleasant!!!
We washed this away by running the shower for a few minutes and all was ok.
We don't normally watch TV in hotels (would rather read) but we did turn the TV on only to find the signal from the aerial was so bad the TV wasn't watchable.
The quality of the food for the evening meal was very good although there was limited meat free choices.
Cooked breakfast was ok if you were happy with 1 tomato, 1 half of a mushroom, 1 sliced of toast ..........you get the idea.
One thing we did think was a bit strange was the coffee was served in a tea pot!
May be we were unlucky with the room, the menu, and possibly there was a shortage of breakfast food and crockery. unfortunately we will never know as we will not be returning.
The good thing is there is a lot of choice in the new forest area!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid room 4, Other rooms may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinjohnPackard, Manager at Mortimer Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review of our hotel. We are sorry the stay didn't meet your expectations.
We have rooms of many different shapes and sizes and our reception will always help match guests with a room of their liking.
We have a plumber coming to check the situation with the shower waste so thank you for bringing this to our attention. The tv has been checked and retuned and there was no obvious problem so we have a tv aerial service engineer coming today to see if we need to alter our aerial or need more amplification.
We are sorry you felt there was limiting choice for vegetarians and this is something we will bear in mind for our new menu coming soon. In the meantime l will see our head chef about putting a vegetarian option on our specials boards.
Anyone wanting more for breakfast is very welcome. We always want people to leave full and ready for a busy day.
I know you have said you will not be coming back but we would very much like you to. I would request that you contact the hotel directly and ask to speak to myself, Martin to arrange your stay.
I would look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    94
    45
    28
    33
See reviews for
140
63
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

My friend's and I were visiting an art exhibition in neighbouring Lee and needed to find a place to enjoy Sunday lunch. Google maps provided us with the Mortimer Arms.
I do not wish to go into any lengthy diatribe about the meal that was served up but to say that all four of us almost licked our plates clean. No wonder the place was jammed by locals. I would have no hesitation recommending this pub to anyone. Beef and Pork was super. The puds were to die for. Can't say what the accommodation is like. I will be going again despite the 60 mile journey.

Room Tip: Did not use the accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeepeeSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O'Groats, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel on Business this year 2014 there is a number of things that a paying guest should NOT have to deal with! I must say the staff were quite friendly ,here goes
1)Cold water in my first room no hot water this was not resolved (I stayed in three rooms
2)no remote controls for televisions
3) The Rooms beds made, but no hovering or clean Bedding.(dusting needed in Rooms)
4)Being asked about other peoples bills (tabs) peoples bar bills food etc ,after paying for room
5)Dirty cups forks, at breakfast, always asking for a knives or forks or glasses
6)Long wait for take out Breakfast on occasions

On the Plus side for the Hotel the rooms were very warm

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farm h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinjohnPackard, General Manager at Mortimer Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for you recent stay with us and thank you for your review of our Bed and Breakfast service.

We take negative feedback and criticism very seriously and let me promise you that all of your comments are in the process of being rectified. I will respond to each of your comments by the same number they were made.

1. We are aware that a number of rooms are serviced by hot water tanks and not "on demand boilers". This is more of an issue during the week where by guests are using the water at the same time. It is something we are now actively getting quotes to rectify as soon as possible.

2. There seems to have been a spate of these going missing. Due to different TV makes in different rooms we are now purchasing universal remote controls which can be programmed for any TV.

3. The bedding is changed after two nights stay although the room should have been vacuumed and freshly dusted. Daily checks are carried our by one of our managers without fail. This has been brought up in our managers meeting to maintain what is expected.

4. Our room tab system has been rectified, this will not be an issue again.

5. We are now employing an extra person to help during busy breakfasts so this will no longer be an issue.

6. Again an extra waiter/ress to help out at breakfast should stop this from being an issue.

Thank you again for taking the time to review your unfortunate but uncharacteristic stay at The Mortimer Arms. We hope you choose to stay with us again upon which l am sure you will find many improvements and a very warm welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Romsey hotels

Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
648 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for supper after a day at Paultons Park, the food was generally good although the kids menu was expensive at £7.50. They do offer an early bird special menu. Judging by the number of reserved tables this is a popular haunt. Service was efficient.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerseybean26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinjohnPackard, General Manager at Mortimer Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent visit to us.

Our children's meals are made to the same home cooked quality as our adults meals and the portion sizes are aimed at 8-12 year olds.

We do get very busy during the closing time of Paulton's and highly recommend booking. Our Early Bird Menu is working well maintaining the speed of service and quality of the food.

We would welcome some more specific comments on our food and gladly welcome any criticism.

We also welcome you to visit us again and look forward to the opportunity to score higher on your review next time.

Kind Regards, Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
199 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had lunch at this pub, having been many moons ago, and not rated it well! It's been taken over and has had a smart makeover and has a nicer, more varied menu.
We chose scotch egg and salmon tortellini for our starters and crispy duck salad and Moroccan lamb for main courses. The food was nicely presented and very tasty.
Service was efficient and friendly and there was a varied and interesting wine list.
A nice warm spot on an otherwise dank and miserable day!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skipper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here last night. Gorgeous restaurant and a large menu. All gluten free options clearly marked which was great. Food was lovely & reasonably priced. Would recommend the Cajun chicken breast.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinjohnPackard, General Manager at Mortimer Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. Myself and the Head Chef have only been in situ for a few weeks and we are working hard to make The Mortimer Arms reach it's potential. We hope to have a few fives on you next visit. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We came here for Sunday lunch and very good it was too. We didn't have a starter as we have been here before and I knew the main course was large. Main course was good quality beef with a very large Yorkshire pudding, roast potatoes and plenty of vegetables. Small dessert menu but all nice. It's a pretty good price given the quality of the food. It doesn't have too much 'atmosphere' but the service is friendly.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RMWSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinjohnPackard, General Manager at Mortimer Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review and for visiting us. My name is Martin and was appointed the new General Manager on 6th January 2014. We now also have a new Head Chef who has worked wonders on the whole menu but especially the Sunday Roasts. We are now serving over 80 roasted every Sunday and are planning a monthly Jazz Sunday Lunch in our function room. Plenty of atmosphere and buzz now we're busier and we look forward to welcoming you back anytime. I sure you will be impressed. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
3.4 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
2.6 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
5.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortimer Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortimer Arms Hotel

Property: Mortimer Arms Hotel
Address: 2 Mortimers Cottage Romsey Road, Romsey SO51 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mortimer Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mortimer Arms Hotel - This Victorian building has been refurbished combining a unique blend of old world charm and modern sophistication. After a long day, sink into the comfort of one of our en-suite rooms. We provide the perfect location for a weekend in the country with the New Forest National Park on our door step and a short distance from Southampton and Bournemouth. Our excellent Restaurant and Bar boasts tasty traditional home-produced fayre and daily specials to weet the appetite. The relaxed atmosphere is conducive to business lunches and intimate dinners alike. The extensive menu is complimented by a comprehensive wine list and many fine ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mortimer Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortimer Arms Hotel Romsey, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing