We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sandy's great breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mortimer Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Sandy's great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay here made all the better by Sandy who made breakfast faces for our youngest which encouraged her to eat up.. no easy task. Great staff, great ales, great food but could do with a child play area

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    99
    46
    28
    33
See reviews for
141
65
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Peppa pig fan?... this is the place to stay in. Really friendly staff, helpful and genuine. Bit of a mix up with our room nevertheless they sorted it out with no fuss! Oh by the way, the restaurant was fab, the best T bone steak I had and the girlfriend really enjoyed their lamb rump and as a bonus, our daughter enjoyed running around the garden! Highly recommend!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Staff were friendly and welcoming, room was clean with good quality toiletries in the bathroom. The food was excellent and good value for money with a reasonably priced wine list. The only downside was that it could get very chaotic in the early evening when Peppa Pig World, immediately next door, closes. Children are not allowed in the main restaurant after 7.30, so advisable to eat after that if you want peace and quiet. If you do have young children, they are very child friendly, staff will warm baby food if asked. I'd recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms directly overlooking the garden are noisy in the early evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scargyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saronno, Italy
Level Contributor
133 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Standard rooms are a bit Little but comfortable and clean. Bed is standard and comfortable. The toilette are ensuite, Little without Windows. Common spaces area very pretty and typical of an english pub. Good food.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I cannot drive a car, but Icould take my daughter to Peppa Pig World because of this hotel. The hotel is located just next to the bus stop (X7), and it takes only 10 minutes from the hotel to this theme park. Their bedrooms and restaurant are the value for money.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have a bathtub, so you had better request in advance If you prefer it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mer1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The room was clean, comfortable and homely. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food food was excellent. The only problem - and sadly it was a major problem - was the noise. We were in the 'March' room at the rear of the property. The intermittent noise started at 11:00 pm and continued until 6:30 am. It sounded like a refrigeration plant or perhaps the air conditioning in the kitchen. It kept us awake all night not what you expect in a hotel! If a member of staff had asked if we slept well or if we had enjoyed our stay I would have mentioned the noise and not left a negative review - but no-one asked.

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have stayed here 3 times now whilst away on business & enjoyed every stay. I like real ale & there is usually 3/4 (very well kept) to choose from aprox £3.80/pint.
There is a good selection of food (on the menu & specials board) - which I usually eat in the bar, reasonably priced (good for the quality & quantity, plenty to choose from for £10 - £15)
Rooms are clean & comfortable & the couple I have stayed in were quite small, but big enough for my needs.
Cooked breakfast is very good, and the staff are always very helpful (happy to make me a coffee "to go" in my thermal mug!)
Wifi is free & works well throughout the building.
No TV in the bar means no sports to watch - this could be good or bad depending on your viewpoint, but theres usually a few friendly locals in the bar to talk to!
Checkout is quick & easy too.
Car park is large & the the hotel is in a quiet area, just a couple of minutes off the M27.
All in all one of my favourite places to stay.

Room Tip: Room 4 was comfortable but an aircon unit (or something like it) somewhere below it was a little noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
3.4 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
2.6 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortimer Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortimer Arms Hotel

Property: Mortimer Arms Hotel
Address: 2 Mortimers Cottage Romsey Road, Romsey SO51 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mortimer Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mortimer Arms Hotel - This Victorian building has been refurbished combining a unique blend of old world charm and modern sophistication. After a long day, sink into the comfort of one of our en-suite rooms. We provide the perfect location for a weekend in the country with the New Forest National Park on our door step and a short distance from Southampton and Bournemouth. Our excellent Restaurant and Bar boasts tasty traditional home-produced fayre and daily specials to weet the appetite. The relaxed atmosphere is conducive to business lunches and intimate dinners alike. The extensive menu is complimented by a comprehensive wine list and many fine ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mortimer Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortimer Arms Hotel Romsey, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing