We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded getaway”
Review of The Onion Store

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Romsey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Onion Store
Ranked #14 of 19 Romsey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We stayed at The Onion Store (in the Onion Store) for 2 nights. It is very secluded and private. The 3 little 'barns' are in the grounds of the owners house. Our store had a seating area and the open-plan bathroom downstairs, with the bedroom and another sitting area upstairs in the rafters.
The room was beautifully presented and everything had been thought of. The breakfast was served in the pool/conservatory area and was delicious.
The only thing I would suggest as an improvement to the room we were in, would be the addition of a settee - there was a beautiful seat made out of twisted wood and a cane sofa with cushions - but neither were made for relaxing on for long!
Overall, a lovely 2 days, in a lovely part of the country.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SophieTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed at the Apple Store - complete with hot-tub and outside sleeping/relaxing area.

This is a place for a romantic getaway only (although from reading the guest book and from personal experience the place seems to fire far more the physical apsects of being romantic!). You have to visit the place to appreciate the quirkiness and unique nature of the rooms.

If you don't get on with your spouse then I don't recommend this place - there is no TV. radio, DVD or bar and don't expect to meet the other guests! Everything is designed for romantic seclusion. Just plently of opportunity to relax and be ignite (or re-ignite) that passion!

PS We found the staff amazingly helpful
PPS rooms now have fridges!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

we saw this boutique bed and breakfast in the mr and mrs smith book... it's since been delisted (we think because it's so small). We spent two nights here for the beginning of our honeymoon. An amazing two nights. We choose the apple store; complete with private garden, daybed and hot tub. Pure indulgance. The b&b is about 5 miles outside of romsey, really the middle of english countryside. if you really want to get away from it all here is the place. The breakfast is amazing, situated around the pool (which is avaliable for candlelit swims :)) A wonderful experience but be warned... go with the best company... no tv, radio or phone network. yet this is surely the best way! x

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taram_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

This is the first time I have ever posted a review on Trip Advisor, but I felt compelled to, having read the appalling and misguided review posted by a previous visitor - who in my view has completely missed the point of staying there!

My wife and I have just returned today from a two-night stay at this delightful little property. The Onion Store is one of three tiny cottages in close proximity to the owners house, set within eight acres of land.

We travel frequently and usually stay in 4* or 5* hotels wherever we go - so we are used to the finer things you experience in such establishments.

However, we did not visit The Onion Store to be pampered in opulent luxury - and you shouldn't stay there if that's what you want. This place is a step back in time and gives you simplicity, privacy and beauty in your own stylish tiny cottage - with some lovely personal touches. There are no mod-cons at all apart from a kettle, although there are enough sockets if you want to bring your own. Again, I would say that defeats the object of this place: my wife and I spent two days talking, reading, swimming in the wonderful tropical indoor heated pool (completely alone both times), playing games (there are board games provided) - appreciating each other without any distractions at all. We really loved it!

There was no Vodafone signal so we couldn't use our mobiles and I left my laptop, Blackberry and all gadgets behind...

To deal with the comments made by a previous reviewer:

I agree it is not well signposted but we managed to find it first time. It would be especially hard to find at night (we arrived in time for earliest check-in at 4:30pm whilst it was still light).

We found the bed very comfortable; quite firm, but certainly not "hard as a rock".

The simple settee upstairs was adequately comfortable - the downstairs 2-man bench seat with cushions was uncomfortable. We sat on the floor on cushions.

Re: the outside fridge, there are thermos flasks provided to keep milk cold overnight - or you could make the 15ft trek to the fridge for milk...

The place was very clean and we did not hear any rodents - we did hear owls hooting.

I find it very hard to believe the comment re: "foul sewerage smell from the loo and sink" - the cottage smelt fresh and was immaculately clean.

The radiators were more than adequate - we had to keep turning them down, despite the cold weather outside.

Breakfast was excellent - and we have eaten a lot of mediocre ones! Tropical fresh fruit platter, cooked English breakfast, toast, cereal, juice, coffee tea etc.

You do need to eat out as meals are not allowed in the cottages - although we did have some snacks and drinks with us for when we got hungry!

We read the visitors books (there are a number going back years) and couldn't find any negative comments - pretty much all comments were glowing / very positive.

The proof of the pudding is in the fact that The Onion Store and other cottages have been fully booked every single year for years, with many repeat visitors and forward bookings right through to next year.

If you want to go you need to book well in advance.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TPCAMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

We first discovered this romantic getaway 10 years ago and have returned every summer for our anniversary driving the four hour trip from Lancashire.
The Onion Store is for recharging your batteries with your loved one.
Hidden in the middle of the country lanes of Romsey you will enter the fairytale of these 3 little stores.
The apple store is the smallest but most romantic with its own private enclosed garden and hot tub.
The bed of twigs make believes you are sleeping in the forest.
At night when you are out to dinner the fairy comes and prepares your room for your return , turning back the bed and leaving wild flowers on your pillow.
You can enjoy a candle lit midnight swim in the pool in the conservatory this is also where breakfast is served on your own individual table.
The grain store is equally as scrumpcious, four poster canopied bed small seating area and own willow screened patio.
There is no hum drum of normal life just peace and quiet,no Tv no mobile phones just candles bath salts and books and games (but that's why you go - to escape it all )
Alison is more than helpful and has always readily phoned taxis recommended eating out places / day trips and prepared the delicious breakfasts.
The New Forest , Bournemouth and Isle of Wight are all within easy driving distances.
Yes you do share a fridge with the 2 other stores but its no more than a couple of yards from your room.
Do not be put off by previous reviews
Surely the fact this little gem is nearly always fully booked speaks for itself

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank trademark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2007

Oh Dear, what a dissapointment. Having waited 2 years to stay here it was just not up to it at all.

We stayed in the Onion store, very quaint little place i admit but comfortable it was not!

Pros

Quaint!

Cons

directions to place - appalling and when we rang we spoke to a lady who was actually quite rude, gave very vague directions and said, i'm off now - hope you find it!!

Bed, as hard as a rock and as creeky as you like.

No comfortable furniture to sit on - all rock hard! impossible to relax on!

No fridge! having to used a shared fridge in the main farmhouse just not on, especially when you want a hot drink in the am and have to get dressed and go out to get a drop of milk - ridiculous!

Resident rodents in the roof space, who were very busy at night ensuring we had no sleep!

No mobile signal and unable to get a taxi when we wanted one to take us out to dinner, no option to eat in and miles from the nearest shop!

Foul sewerage smell from loo and sink!

Cold, only 2 small radiators downstairs, nothing at all in the bedroom!

Cushions for garden furniture hung up outside and dripping wet!

the list goes on and on, breakfast was "ok", but felt as if we were being eaten by the plants in there, some nice white table linen would not go amiss!

This place needs some sorting out before I would ever consider giving it a good word.

Some nice squashy sofas, a new bed! or matress at at least
and a TV - it would be nice to have the option for those who want it. And why is there a log burner if no logs and you cannot use it?

Having waited so long for this much needed break we were gutted and would have come home early had we not paid 2 thirds of the bill in deposits!! - again not on!

We could not wait to get home, to a warm house, hot shower and comfy bed, we were knackered! and should have stayed home instead! A real shame.
This is a completely honest review and I know we all have different expectations but if you are tempted to go, just remember that at £140 a night it could be a costly mistake.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank themidlandsbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2007

My Wife and I recently returned from a weekend at The Onion Store. Having read the previous review I was slightly apprehensive about our visit. Fortunately my apprehension was quickly dispelled when we arrived, albeit 3 hours later in pitch darkness then we were supposed to. Our 'little house' was beautifully prepared for our arrival, some of the 'romantic' lights were on and it was incredibly cosy. At breakfast we were greeted very courteously by the lady (I didn't actually notice what she was wearing...) and we sat down for a wonderful breakfast.

Delighted to say that during the course of our stay standards did not decline and we had a thoroughly wonderful time at The onion Store. Before leaving we made sure that we booked up for next year and are now looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JojoBunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Romsey hotels
1.7 mi away
Woodpeckers B&B
Woodpeckers B&B
#5 of 19 in Romsey
66 reviews
3.7 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
1.4 mi away
Ha'penny Acre B&B
Ha'penny Acre B&B
#1 of 1 in Sherfield English
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
362 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Cromwell Arms
The Cromwell Arms
#1 of 19 in Romsey
319 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Palmerston Rooms
The Palmerston Rooms
#2 of 19 in Romsey
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Onion Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Onion Store

Address: Onion Store Wellow Drove, Romsey SO51 6DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Romsey
Price Range: £135 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Onion Store Hotel Romsey
The Onion Store Romsey, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing