We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and tasty food”

The Suan Thai Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 79 Restaurants in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$40
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In the heart of Romsey, the Suan Thai restaurant has been serving authentic Thai cuisine since 1997. Choose from a wide selection of original dishes, prepared by our award-winning chef and served with traditional Thai hospitality. We endeavor to make your dining experience with us one to remember, we don’t implement double sittings, you can stay and will want to all night. If you are celebrating a special occasion let us know (we have been known to embarrass the odd person celebrating a birthday). If you have any special dietary requirements please let us know at the time of booking and we will do our best to accommodate them.
Reviewed 3 July 2014

On arrival, we were greeted with enthusiastic and friendly staff. We were seated promptly and received kind table service throughout the night. The food was well presented and very delicious, always served hot, good portion size too at good price. The restaurant atmosphere was warm and buzzing, and although the were only three waitresses tonight the tables were always attended to and served well, always with a smile. Good and variable choice of food and wines on the menu. Very clean and tidy. This was a true treasure to be found, we will defiantly be going again!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShootingStar_234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suan_Thai, Owner at The Suan Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 191 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We ate here twice during our 4 night stay in May 2014. We're early eaters, so we had no problem getting a table without a booking, even on Saturday night. (Though we would recommend booking on a Saturday.) The service was excellent, very friendly & efficient. The food was tasty (loved the red curry) & well presented. Also very reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarionK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suan_Thai, Owner at The Suan Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visits to the restaurant and that the evenings met your expectations. As you mentioned at the weekends we do recommend making a reservation as we do get booked up very quickly. I will pass your compliments on to the staff and we hope to see you again the next time you visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My sister and I ate here on a Thursday evening - it wasn't busy but still a nice atmosphere. The 2 waitresses were really friendly and didn't rush us to order. We had the Suan Thai cocktail which is to be recommended - my sister doesn't normally drink cocktails and she loved it!.. Be warned the portions are huge! We had 2 starters but should have shared. Everything tasted so fresh and served on piping hot plates. Couldn't manage a dessert much to our waitresses disappointment! Very reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Powell1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suan_Thai, Owner at The Suan Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to the restaurant and that the food, service and cocktails were to your liking. I will pass the compliments onto the staff in question and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The food here is out of this world!!! I love thai food and have been to a few restaurants but this is by far the best! The food was fresh and tasted fantastic, service was fast and the waitress was presented nicley and very pleasant. can't wait to go again.

Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suan_Thai, Owner at The Suan Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your visit. We continuously try to offer the best Thai cuisine using the freshest ingredients available to us and I am glad that showed. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Very impressed with my recent visit to the Suan Thai. The food was excellent. It was tasty and well presented.. The attention to detail on everything from the menu and the decor and the servers outfits makes it a special atmosphere. They are happy to adjust dishes to add or remove heat depending on your preference. Although the restaurant was full, and there was a constant stream of take always being collected, the service was impeccable. Although I'm not a Thai food expert friends said it compared very favourably with other Thai restaurants they had eaten at.
We had two courses with wine and cocktails and it was very reasonably priced.
Chinese food has become very samey - deep fried and tasteless and this made a freshly cooked welcome change to that I am a convert.

Thank bravebimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suan_Thai, Owner at The Suan Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to the restaurant and your praise will be passed onto the staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Suan Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Romsey, Hampshire
Braishfield, Romsey
 

Been to The Suan Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing