We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Purbani Restaurant

Purbani Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 73 Restaurants in Romsey
Price range: US$22 - US$29
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Purbani, The Romsey Tandoori At the Romsey Purbani we have been serving our customers for over 27 years. This award-winning Indian restaurant on Bell Street, in the heart of the ancient and Indian Food in Romsey prosperous market town of Romsey, continues to be an icon of Indian cuisine and excellent dinning in the town and throughout the county. Excellent Indian Cuisine in Romsey Our head chef and his team provide a classic combination of expert knowledge, unique culinary experience and traditional values that combine to provide the best of Indian and Bangladeshi cuisine. The Romsey Purbani offers an excellent dining experience with effortlessly charming staff, friendly service and tantalising food that few can compete with. Ths is the combination that has ensured our clientele have returned to us again and again.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Family Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Great service, friendly, good advice, explanation of dishes. Food well presented and delicious.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pino9011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    30
    19
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An established restaurant with a high standard of Indian cuisine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Consistently good food with lots of choice of dishes served by staff who care about their customers.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sjr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

I have been to the purbani romsey on two occasions now and both times were excellent. The food is superb , the staff are very friendly and helpful and make you feel very welcome. Make sure you book .

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Asian food in Hampshire.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

You will not get better Asian food in Hampshire. I have traveled around with my brother in law
trying out the numerous Restaurants. The selection is good and the food well cooked , with
tender meats. The staff are friendly and kind. can't say enough to do the place justice.
Best thing is to try it out, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Reasonable food but let themselves down with a cheat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Solo visit during a business trip , 8 March 2012.
Some inital reluctance to give up a table to a single person, and tried to offer a take away instead.
Smaller than usual vegetarian menu, but adequate. Food was average to above average for UK indian. BUT ordered a chapati, which arrived several minutes after the rest of the food, and turned out to be nothing more than a supermarket-type wrap or tortilla - and barely warm, never mind cooked.
This was sent back and a naan ordered in place, the waiter had the grace to look shame faced when I asked if chef made hisown chapatis and he admitted not.
When the bill arrived, the chapati cost was deleted but the naan charged for.
I pointed out that it would have been gracious to provide the naan for free and the (different) waiter told me that 'In my country this is a chapati'. he too looked shame faced when I said I made my own and home and we both knew that this was not a chapati.
The bill was snatched away and the cost for naan scrubbed out, with little courtesy and when I left the restaurant none fo the four staff members said goodbye or even showed me to the door.
Overall - good-ish food but poor manners. Don't get cross if you get caught out in a cheap cheat!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SchleebyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purbani Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Purbani Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing