We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best you can get!”
Review of Purbani Restaurant

Purbani Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 77 Restaurants in Romsey
Price range: US$23 - US$29
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Purbani, The Romsey Tandoori At the Romsey Purbani we have been serving our customers for over 27 years. This award-winning Indian restaurant on Bell Street, in the heart of the ancient and Indian Food in Romsey prosperous market town of Romsey, continues to be an icon of Indian cuisine and excellent dinning in the town and throughout the county. Excellent Indian Cuisine in Romsey Our head chef and his team provide a classic combination of expert knowledge, unique culinary experience and traditional values that combine to provide the best of Indian and Bangladeshi cuisine. The Romsey Purbani offers an excellent dining experience with effortlessly charming staff, friendly service and tantalising food that few can compete with. Ths is the combination that has ensured our clientele have returned to us again and again.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best you can get!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Another lovely meal, brilliant service. Couldn't ask for more :) loving the new layout and look! Such a great restaurant

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie_lou7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    31
    20
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Survived the test of time”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Been using the Romsey Purbani for many years.
Keep trying other similar restaurants in the area but they never live up to the range/quality/and service we get at the Purbani.
Consistently excellent...can't see why we would want to try anywhere else in future !!
Bangladeshi not Indian but superb food nevertheless.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reece h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always Return”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I, with my Daughter and Son visited the Purbani on April 11th. We were celebrating the fact that our Father was recovering well from an operation.
We each had a different meal. My son, who is vegetarian, ordered a particular dish which was supposed to be mild, but turned out to be quite hot. This was not a problem for the very friendly staff who brought him a replacement and apologized profusely. We had a little plate of 4 small onion bhajis, so kept one for our Dad to take to hospital the next day. We asked for a box to put it in. Upon arriving home we found that the chef had put 4 fresh ones in the box.
Our Dad enjoyed one the next day. He didn't have much of an appetite, but ate that!
We were very impressed at how kind and friendly the staff were.Thank you to them.
Will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank romababy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I live in southampton and normally only go to the local indian or bangladeshi restaurants. One of my friend recently recommended me to try Purbani Romsey. I went with my family and we all really loved it. The atmosphere was great, staff was very friendly and polite. The food was excellent and particularly being from an indian background it reminded me of back home. It was a true taste of india. I highly recommend this place to anyone from any background. Will definitely go back there again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deepak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“simply the best”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Myself and my family have been using this restaurant for more than 20 years , the standard has never fallen , and is always superb . The staff and service are second to none and quite simply the best .
I can thoroughly recommend a visit to Purbanis , everything that is good about Indian cuisine can be found there .

Eating in or take away , it really is the best Indian in the area without doubt.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purbani Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Purbani Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing