We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highfield Country Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Peat Spade Inn(Stockbridge)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Hart(Stockbridge)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grosvenor(Stockbridge)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Three Cups Inn(Stockbridge)
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Andover Hotel(Andover)(Great Value!)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Star & Garter(Andover)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart(Andover)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The George Inn(Stockbridge)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
81
20
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
20
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea and biscuitsenglish countrysidelovely roomperfect staybeautiful housecomfortable bedlovely placetrouttest valleysitting roomfantastic breakfastbath and showerenjoyed our stayquiet locationlocal pubyogurtoverlooking the garden
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I can get to the point of this review straightaway!!..Warm,friendly welcome from Cathy and John and service over breakfast-superb decor in the River room ( as in hallway)- and superlative breakfasts( with incredible variety of choices)!! I would not hesitate recommending 'Highfield'!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights for a wedding that we had at Horsebridge Station. I booked over the phone for the Rose Room for Friday and Saturday. On arrival, Cathy greeted us and showed us to our room. She then prepared a cooling drink for us both which we enjoyed whilst sitting in the grounds of the house. Buster (the dog) was very friendly and placid. He did not jump up at us or bark and after a few minutes of playing fetch with him, he was content to sit in the shade.

The Rose room is fairly small as most people have stated on trip advisor, the whole house has a family home feel to it. Two big green armchairs in our room could perhaps be moved as they took up a lot of space and were not really necessary. Bottled water/hairdryer/tea/coffee facilities/towels and shower gel were all included. The bed was very comfortable and due to the location it was very quiet at night.From our window we could see horses in the fields behind the house. The shower did not drain properly but when I mentioned this to Cathy she told me she is aware of it and is in the process of having it looked at.

Cathy directed us to the path through fields into the village of Stockbridge. It's down a steep hill, so be warned for the walk back up! We spent an hour walking the high street and looked at several restaurants. We decided to head into Romsey (20mile round trip) for dinner on the Friday night. This is more of a small town than a village and therefore more choice for eating/drinking. We came across The Olive Tree which I have reviewed separately and would highly recommend.

Breakfast at Highfield was delicious on both mornings, freshly cooked using eggs from Cathy's chickens. Overall we enjoyed our stay here. I would say that the price for the Rose Room was quite high, but I imagine that this is the norm for a weekend in August!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed in the pretty Rose Room for 2 nights. The Tripadvisor reviews were excellent and fully justified. The house is set in beautiful gardens, which guests are welcome to use. Cathy and John were friendly and welcoming - as was their lovely dog. Attractively decorated and furnished, all the rooms are very nice. The Celtic Room was enormous and would be worthy of a boutique hotel. They even have a drawing room for use by guests - very unusual in a B&B these days. Breakfast was delicious and it was a real treat to have options other than the ubiquitous Full English. We had spiced fruit compote with honey and natural yoghurt, followed by smoked local trout with scrambled egg and wilted spinach. We would definitely stay here again when holidaying in this area.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HartleyMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Once upon a time the unprepossessing town of Stockbridge in Hampshire was on the main road from London to Salisbury. On a bank holiday Monday the twenty mile traffic jams stretched from Salisbury through to Stockbridge and out the other side again. There were three petrol stations and a couple of greasy spoon transport cafes and nowhere to stay except a seedy little hotel.
How the town has changed since the fifties! It's no more a farmer's town than it ever was, but now the place is an adornment in the crown of the 'British' automative industry; a jewel which has, apparently, a nil parking plan policy and an active police station. The casual visitor passing through dodges around black Range Rovers and funereal hued Jaguars driven by those who no doubt would conjecture that SCATS is a deadly form of Spaniel derived rabies instead of Southern Counties Agricultural Services.
High above the sprawling settlement of Stockbridge stands Steepleton Hill, on the road to King's Somborne, haunt of John of Gaunt and full of historical anomalies of an insane variety. Turning left into Steepleton Hill, if driving from Stockbridge, one arrives at the Highfield Country Guest House, where we have now stayed some four times. Here you will surely find a warm and convivial welcome from your hosts for whom nothing seems to be too much trouble. A quiet oasis of tranquillity awaits the overnight visitor with a delightful garden, congenial sitting room and excellent bedrooms and furnishings. Breakfasts are reported to be excellent and you may have more or less anything you wish, save only one thing on some rare and particular days, which I shall leave for the visitor to find out for himself, save only in turn to say that the Gnome King of Mr Baum's imagination was not overly fond of them.
It is an excellent house of genuine warmth and hospitality which represents good value for the moolah, an achievement which, in the midst of this pseudo centre of middle England, is no small attainment. You will be well looked after by your hosts for whom nothing yet for us has yet been too much trouble.

Room Tip: There are two bedrooms that share a bathroom in the hall. That is ideal for a family. The other two each have their own bathrooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poisonwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our family (grown up children and grandchildren) needed to stay in Stockbridge for a wedding so we rented the whole guest house for the weekend and it was like staying in our own home. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are fine and clean, the beds comfortable, toilets and showers clean. We were allowed to use the gardens, played with the dog, sat on the lawn and had a picnic and generally treated the house as our own for the weekend. Lovely.

Room Tip: Some rooms are en suite but the owners tell you when you book. All quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C154eR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews