We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice pub indeed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A traditional country pub with an attractive garden outside and a welcoming inglenook fireplace indoors, serving classic British dishes, coffee, good wine and real ale. Theme evenings. Free WiFi. Dog friendly
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very nice pub indeed”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have been into this pub several times in recent months, as we visit Stockbridge and then go on up to Mottesfont Abbey (National Trust) as the dog likes paddling in the river (he's a little spoilt, is our Buster).....

Our first visit, we were simply amazed at the very warm welcome we received - not only from the landlady but also the pair of locals in the bar next to our seats. We only had a baguette and chips to share as we don't eat a large lunch but that - and the couple of pints/glasses of wine - were excellent and just right for a "snack."

Returned here since - and were amazed to be greeted like long-lost friends! - again, same sort of lunch, same sort of response - it is so, so nice to visit a pub which FEELS like a pub, not a marketing exercise or a chainstore.

Went to return a fortnight ago - to find the place shut due to flooding - our hearts go out to them and we hope they are back up and running soon...and when they are, do yourself a favour and pop in to see them; you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jazzbo100, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your visits to our pub and thank you for your concern. Things are beginning to dry out and we are hoping to be open again in early June. The pub will look like new! We hope you will back to see us in the summer. We look forward to seeing you - and Buster!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    33
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The full package”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My husband and I called into "The Crown Inn" on a Sunday following a morning visit to Mottisfont Abbey to see the snowdrops. A very lucky find! We had a superb roast dinner. The lamb was top notch both in its quality and it's cooking. We had all the trimmings which included an assortment of five veg. To follow we enjoyed a very tasty apple crumble with ice cream, and lastly a coffee which came with an after dinner mint. A touch much appreciated. From the moment we stepped through the door, we were greeted warmly and the service continued in this vein. As we were in the area for two days we returned on the Monday evening and the experience was just as enjoyable. It was an early visit and shortly after our arrival three, as it turned out, locals plus dog arrived and immediately greeted us most warmly. We will definitely return as we live within a thirty five mile radius and it will be worth the trip to revisit this old thatched and very traditional pub where the whole package is to be found. A rarity in these modern times. Well done to all involved.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jazzbo100, General Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the trouble to write a review of the Crown. We are delighted you enjoyed your visits and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Re-visitng a splendid Eatery!”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We have visited this pub before for lunch, and were so pleased the first time that we decided to go back for lunch with family today.
The Landlady, Jude is probably one of the friendliest, and most accommodating landladies I have ever come across. Nothing is too much trouble. I have very specific requirements for my meal, no fat, no mayo, etc, and she was quite happy to adapt a starter and main to my specific needs. No fuss, and the food was EXACTLY how I wanted it..........indeed the lunch for all of us was given a big thumbs up. Excellent quality, great service, and very reasonably priced too.
We will definitely return again and again to this unassuming, but superb pub in a quiet Hampshire village.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickigirl1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jazzbo100, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is so important for us and all our staff to know how we are doing so thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely to see you again and we look forward to seeing you again in February. Seasons Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good food and service on a Saturday afternoon”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We arrived at 2pm which can be the end of food in some pubs. We were made very welcome, and a table quickly laid. Great local beers, excellent service. Food cooked freshly and the home-made lasagne was fabulous, with crisp fresh salad. Really nice to find exactly what we needed after cold winter walk. We left refreshed and well fed. Thank you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jazzbo100, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of The Crown. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope you will visit us again next time you are in the area - the walking is good all year round and we would be pleased to advise on routes and places to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We would have eaten but....”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We dropped in and were "going" to eat, until we saw the two Alsatian type dogs roaming around in and out of the kitchen area. Settled for a drink only. Your missing opportunities here. We like dogs but not in food preparation areas

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dilbert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jazzbo100, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your review. The dogs are normally kept out of the food preparation area at all times. I am sorry their presence put you off eating at the pub. We will review and tighten our procedures to ensure that they cannot get into this area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

Houghton, Stockbridge
Chilbolton, Stockbridge
 
Stockbridge, Hampshire
Stockbridge, Hampshire
 
Stockbridge, Hampshire
Stockbridge, Hampshire
 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing