We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again. Still trying to get over the unwelcome!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Yew Tree Barn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stockbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yew Tree Barn B&B
Ranked #7 of 9 Stockbridge B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never again. Still trying to get over the unwelcome!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Walking with friends from Salisbury to Winchester we stayed at Yew Tree Barn, a good halfway point along the beautiful Clarendon Way.

This is a beautifully appointed barn, newly built to the highest specification with every mod con in the bedrooms, but frankly, I admire anybody who could relax amongst the endless list of instructions detailing what one must or must not do, just to incur the approval of the somewhat unwelcoming, dictator of a hostess. Not satisfied with instructing us what we could and couldn't do in the barn, she then set to on instructing us exactly how, where and when our dog would be accommodated - which frankly was completely unsatisfactory and not the compromise we had previously agreed upon with her. She had originally said that he could stay in a cage in the barn, but clearly had no intention of allowing him to do so. Not surprisingly, our utterly faithful dog let the whole neighbourhood know of his woes and eventually he was ushered through to be with us by a clearly very unhappy and angry hostess! Had she listened to us in the first place, we could all have enjoyed a good night's sleep. Furthermore, it would have been far better if she had categorically said "no" to dogs, and we would have happily looked elsewhere for accommodation (and probably had a better time). Presumably, the sniff of two bedrooms occupied overnight at their extortionate rates, was the over-riding reason for saying yes.

The bedrooms are luxurious, beds extremely comfortable, and decor modern and sleek. However, It was an interesting experience sitting on the loo, in full view of my husband who lay in bed trying to avert his gaze! We have shared many things in our blissful 20 years together, but frankly, there are times when a girl just needs to be alone.

Downstairs consists of luxurious sofas, a large dining table, and a snug type area with a TV - but no comfortable chairs to relax and watch it. The kitchen is only for making tea and coffee which was very welcome after our 14 mile walk from Salisbury. However, don't even think about eating your own food in there. I assume breathing was allowed - I couldn't see the notice telling me not to do so.

Breakfast has to be ordered the night before - not sure why - (possibly to get things out of the freezer), but we followed our instructions. By the morning, Madam by this time was clearly still ruffled. She spat out a good morning to me, and was perfectly pleasant to anybody else who wasn't me (or the dog). She kindly asked my fellow friends how they would like their eggs, brown or white toast etc. - the question never came anywhere near me and I received a breakfast which wasn't to my liking - half of which I embarrassingly had to leave. At this point, I overwhelmingly felt that I wanted to get out of the place, and so quietly slunk away with my faithful friend who had really had enough of trying to get comfortable in the cage which he was forced to stay in. I left the favoured few in my party to finish their breakfast. Not surprisingly, I didn't sign the visitors book!

It is now Thursday, our stay was on Saturday night and we still feel niggled and upset by what happened. It is such a shame, as without this horrible experience, the stay would have been perfect and worth every penny. The surroundings are beautiful, idyllic, and the pub next door served really decent food. We won't be going within sniffing distance of this place ever again and sadly, we feel we really can't recommend it to anybody who is looking for the traditional welcome you come to expect from a B & B,.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bee66186390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yewtreebarn, Owner at Yew Tree Barn B&B, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Firstly we are really sorry this person did not enjoy her stay, however we would like to clarify a few things in order to give a balanced veiw for prospective clients.
On enquiry we did explain that the we do not allow dogs into the barn, however she assured us that her dog was well behaved & would not be a problem, on this understanding we took the booking in good faith advising that her dog could be accommodated in a cage in the utlity room of the cottage & NOT in the barn as she suggests, which she fully accepted at the time.
We have two working cocker spaniels ourselves & they are not allowed in the barn
On arrival it was obvious that she thought we would reconsider the agreement and was disappointed when we did not.
Not a good start & without doubt coloured her judgement.
The dog was clearly very distressed & not used to staying away, we did try our best to settle it down & within an hour we compromised & took it, with the cage through to the barn, understandably very uneasy with the situation
A contibuting factor to the barn being special & well presented is that dogs are not allowed in.
With regard to value & the "sniff" of the oportunity, the barn is in great demand & we work on a first come principle and honour our ageements, we did turn away later enquiries for both rooms for that weekend.
With regard to other comments,
Our house guide is to ensure that guests get the full benefit of there stay.
Our breakfast are extensive & freshly prepared it is helpfull for all, if we have an idea in advance, what guests would prefer & a desired time
We offer excellent quality Bed & Breakfast, not self catering.
We do take on board constuctive critism & have now installed privacy screens for the toilets
It is a shame that as stated without the dog, the stay would have been "PERFECT".
Andrew & Christine (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    2
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
23
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

The favorable reviews on trip advisor for this property were not supported on our recent visit to this property. We were greeted by the owner with a litany of things not to do rather than the traditional B & B welcome of tea and often home baked cakes. It was clearly evident that the owner was not prepared for our visit. Our party was made up of two couples (this booking had been confirmed and fully paid some months earlier) we were asked if we were the only two. This B &B does not meet the luxury standards advertised. We had to request a replacement towel as one provided was of very poor quality. The decor of the barn conversion is well designed as are the fixtures and fittings. However, the luxury bathroom fittings are impractical. The toilet and bidet are separated by the shower area, neither have any privacy screens. The shower water is not contained within the wet area due to a design fault, as a result the surrounding area floods unless restrained by mats placed on the floor.
The advertised privacy in the idyllic location was not evident. Despite advising the owner that we intended to have an afternoon nap we were unable to rest. The owner and her son undertook what appeared to be maintenance of chainsaws on the table directly outside our window. Whilst the saws were not switched on there was constant low level noise.

Moreover, later in the afternoon we were interrupted by the owner showing a prospective client through the house - without any prior consultation.

If a B & B advertises luxury and privacy surely it is not unrealistic to expect some basics. Good quality towels, flowers in clean water, fresh milk (Not a half used container).

A note for future clients, there are no TVs in the rooms. There is however, one TV in a 'shared' area which could be difficult in some circumstances.

The overall shortcoming with this B & B is a lack of consistency. It has clearly had good reviews in the past but we are unable to draw any positive experience from our two days other than it is in a beautiful location. The hosts need to decide whether they want to run a B & B or self catering establishment. They could also visit the websites of 'The Grove' in Norwich and 'The Library House' in iron bridge both of which have genuine five star ratings. These are well deserved due to the wonderful proprietors. We will return to both. We will not return to the Yew Tree Barn, nor will we recommend it to our friends and family. A very disappointing end to a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sullyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yewtreebarn, Director of Sales at Yew Tree Barn B&B, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
It is very difficult to respond to such a condeming report & we are very sorry that the person who wrote this did not enjoy her stay.
However, we would like to comment on her observations in order to give a balanced veiw for prospective visitors.
The Barn is very special & we offer what we beleive to be excellent bed & breakfast accommodation, it is contemporary in design & is set in a wonderful location, however it is part of our home and some people seem to forget this or assume it is a self catering facility, as it is private & tranquil.
With regard to specific comments regarding the chain saw incident, my son did sharpen his saw next door to the barn, however this was not noisy & as the person mentioned, the saw was never started, as a note a member of her party was extremely interested in his activity & spent time discussing and learning the process, their chat was fare noisier than tha operation of sharpening the saw, the time was around 4pm & was less than 30 minutes.
As to showing other prospective clients the property, it was early evening and we did not disturb the guests, we only showed them the lounge areas, fortunately they liked it & booked for a later date, again it is part of our home & we do need to carry out daily activities as with any accommodation.
Towels are of the finest quality & other comments regarding milk, flower water & welcome are just ridiculous, this person was on a mission from the time of her arrival.
On the possitive side we accept constructive comments and each of the rooms now have TV's
It is a pitty that this person never discussed any of her dislikes at the time and left without saying anything about the experience, only then to use this forum as a platform to try & damage our business, fortunately we have many guest who beleive what we offer is quite unique.
Andrew & Christine (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

My wife and I stayed for 1 night for our wedding anniversary. It was beautiful. Christine was an excellent host - even provided us with a card - nice touch. Room was immaculate with a very high standard of finish. Full English the following morning was the icing on the cake ....

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hodskeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

I thought I'd treat my husband to a long birthday weekend away where he could do some fly fishing... Hampshire seemed the perfect place and knowing Stockbridge relatively well I searched for a B&B close by and came across Yew Tree Barn.

Seriously gorgeous, I am loathe to spread the word for fear of it becoming hard to get in to!! For the price, the rooms are mind blowing for a B&B and are more like the rooms you'd get in a seriously lovely boutique hotel with open plan bath/bed. Spacious/beautifully designed and spotless, both overlooking the garden and the Test at the bottom.

3 nights wasn't enough and we are already planning on returning next month....

(oh, and great fly fishing 8 miles away on Holbury Lakes as the Test was either shut or fully booked!!).....

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliboff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Fabulous B&B with very welcoming hosts. The two bedrooms are both superbly furnished, spotlessly clean, with a lovely, well cooked breakfast. We could not have been made to feel more welcome. The garden backs onto the River Test and we were lucky enough to have hot weather, so could take a book and read by the river - so relaxing! We even borrowed their bikes one day. If only we could find a B&B like this in every area of the country we want to visit - it ticks all the boxes and can not recommend highly enough. We will certainly go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenW2299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Best place to stay that I have found in the vicinity of Stockbridge

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Utahmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

Set in a sleepy village next to a pub, the barn is absolutely stunning and has been decorated and furnished to an exceptionally high standard. The location is stunning with the garden going down to the River Test. We were very lucky in that we had the property to ourselves for the 4 days we were there. By the time we left we were very relaxed.
Andrew & Christine, the owners of the property, were a pleasure to meet and Andrew's breakfasts each morning were absolutely delicious. The dogs, Grommet and Sedge, were great fun too!
My husband is a fly fisherman so he was in his element watching the fish in the river each day (he wasn't able to fish as he'd just had a shoulder operation - much to his annoyance!!).
We loved it so much we have booked to go again in July with some friends. Hope they enjoy it too!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz&Marty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
0.3 mi away
The Grosvenor
The Grosvenor
#2 of 2 in Stockbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
4.0 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
6.0 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
0.6 mi away
Highfield Country Guest House
Highfield Country Guest House
#2 of 9 in Stockbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#1 of 9 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yew Tree Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree Barn B&B

Property: Yew Tree Barn B&B
Address: Yew Tree Cottage, Houghton, Stockbridge SO20 6LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stockbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stockbridge
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Yew Tree Barn B&B Stockbridge, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing