We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Excellent place just to get away!”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Barns in the heart of the Test Valley Luxurious large double ended roll top bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
39 reviews
The Old Barns in the heart of the Test Valley
Luxurious large double ended roll top bath
Triple aspect views from the vaulted and beamed open plan lounge/kitchen/diner.
Alfresco dining on the south facing balcony or watch the sunset with a glass of wine.
The french doors into the bedroom of Damson Cottage
Rustic styling on the solid oak doors
The Old Barns courtyard.
Sunset at The Old Barns
Local walks - in the early winter sun.
Local walks - accross the rape fields.
Lillies on our pond.
Fly fishing on the River Test.
Horsebridge - 1 mile along the Test Way (The John O'Gaunt pub can be found here)
The River Test at compton's fly fishing.
The Old Barns in the snow.
The River Test at Houghton.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stockbridge, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michael S
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place just to get away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The Barn was perfect and catered to our every need! The apartment is very clean with lots of space and light. The bathtub was amazing and I had one of the best baths in my entire life! The barn is a little hard to find if you go by Satnav in the dark. However the owners were perfect and helped us find our way in seconds. The fresh eggs left were very tasty and a lovely touch.

The owners were perfect and welcoming even fitting to our arrival needs due to work commitments. They were so friendly and on site. However I must add that they are close enough should you need them. But far enough away to give you your own space.

One of the bet getaways we have ever had! Thank you for having us!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The bathtub!
Liked least: Not having enough time to stay there!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalieis...
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Gem in a gorgeous location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I stayed at The Old Barns at the end of October with my mum and we were very impressed with the accomodation. We stayed in Cottage 1 which was the bigger of the cottages available. It was spacious and homely and the decor was to a high standard. Especially loved the bed and the bath was amazing! The views from the cottage were lovely and nice to wake up to every morning. We came with our 11 year old Golden Retriever and there were plenty of walks nearby for us to take him on along the Test Way as well as plenty of dog friendly pubs which was a massive bonus. Would recommend The Three Cups Inn in Stockbridge for food, a bit pricey but definitely worth every penny. The Owners were very welcoming and we even enjoyed a night with them cooking on their pizza oven which was fab! Will think of you guys when we are next staying in the area.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It is lovely to hear such positive feedback and hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince B
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

You know when you find somewhere perfect and cannot wait to return, well this is it. Great hosts with the time to welcome you properly and they have made the cottages very stylish and comfortable.

We would like to keep it a secret from the rest of you but Sarah and Rob deserve commendation for the time they have spent making the cottages ideal to take a well earned respite.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Lounge,Bedroom,Kitchen and balcony.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It is so lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Even if other people hear about us I hope that your stay will always feel special. Hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutandAbo...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay with so much on the doorstep to enjoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We made a last minute booking and were fortunate they had had a cancellation. On arrival we were made very welcome and were shown to our barn. The accommodation was spotless and had a lovely balcony over the courtyard where we enjoyed a glass of wine before heading out for a walk. Unfortunately, the place we were heading to did not serve food that evening so we had a long walk back.

Only downside on arrival back from our walk was that the balcony had no privacy and we ended up with the neighbours on one side trying to join our evening.

The honesty box for essentials is a lovely touch as were the eggs.

It was just a shame our stay was not long enough!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location, welcome by owners, cleanliness
Liked least: Balcony area can be accessed by neighbour - not ideal if not part of your group.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The balcony areas are normally quiet and people normally keep to themselves, but we are currently working on alternative outdoor seating areas, so hopefully you will always be able to find a private area to yourselves. Hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thyme138
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding Accommodation in the Test Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were welcomed warmly by the owners, nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to help us with any requirements we had during our stay. Great kitchen facilities, spacious lounge and dining area and the balcony is great when the weather is good. Lovely walks nearby. Very quiet and peaceful. Thoroughly recommend The Old Barns for anyone wanting a relaxing break in the country.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The sun on the balcony !
Liked least: The rain !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your lovely review.
We hope to see you again soon. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cees H
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great little cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

What a lovely place this is! A nice place to stay in the country, but not too far away from Winchester, Salisbury and the New Forest. The owners Rob and Sara are really very concerned with your wellbeing, providing milk and eggs on arrival and offering advice on what to do. Again, if you`re looking for peace and quiet, this is it!

3 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
2 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: laid back atmosphere
Liked least: the bed and mattress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. As you mention we are located less than 30 minutes from Winchester, Salisbury and the New Forest, so lots to see and do. Hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smantha
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely rural location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My parents and I stayed here for a month due to moving house. The owners are very friendly as I their dog. The cottage its self has all the equipment you need from a washing machine, dishwasher, washing tablets, tv and stereo. The only problem we found was that as we were staying in the heat wave the upstairs was unbearably hot. The bedroom is downstairs with a bathroom then upstairs in an open plan kitchen/lounge with balcony. I love the honesty box idea although we never used it, you could get fresh eggs, milk and wine. When you first arrive fresh eggs and milk are given for free which I thought was a nice touch.
The area itself has lovely walks along the river or to the pub and local villages.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and hope that you have settled into your new house. I am sorry the upstairs was so hot during your stay, but it was an exceptionally hot summer and the French door onto the balcony face south. The heat is not normally a problem, but we will look to see if there is anything we can do to improve this, should we have another hot summer. Hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing