We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grosvenor
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Peat Spade Inn(Stockbridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart(Andover)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
120
161
114
61
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
161
114
61
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh streetwedding receptionfood was lovelyevening meallick of paintwedding venuecountry hotelbreakfast roomenglish innsuperior roomnice staybar and restaurantlovely townnight's sleepoverlooking the gardenbed was very comfortablesunday lunch
Filter
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Booked three rooms here to stay overnight en route home from a family function. A bit dubious given some of the reviews but needn't have worried. Reception staff at both check-in and check-out were very friendly, rooms were good (not great) but clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was superb. Great selection, efficient waitress and timely delivery. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonraker03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

This hotel has an attractive facade in a lovely old English village famed for its fishing. In its heyday this hotel must have been the grand centrpiece hotel for those wealthy visitors from London that cam down for the fishing, and echoes of that grand past are reflected in the fishing trophies, picture and mementoes found on the walls of the hotel and also in the wooden-panlled public rooms
Unfortunately those days are in the far distant past and today the hotel is characterised by a shabby un-gentileness. Our room had not been decorated for some time, the furniture was old and poor and the hotel is used to house itinerant Polish workers working for MoD contracts in Andover and thereabouts. Whilst we were there these Polish workers had noisy room parties and gathered on the fire escape smoking and chatting.
Breakafast was quite disatrous with just one girl to look after all the guests, The waiting time before being served was unacceptably long and neighboring tables remained un cleared and dirty dishcloths and cleaning rags were to be seen here and there

We would certainly not stay at that hotel again - it spoiled an otherwise lovely week-end away

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belltewk, Manager at The Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2011

The Grosvenor Hotel is an old Georgian building that has references to fishing within the bar areas and walk ways. We do have a lovely facade and we are situated in a most beautiful village in Hampshire, this part of the listing is correct. As for the remainder, we can only think that the persons making this listing has mixed us up with another hotel they may have stayed at during their holiday. There is another hotel situated within our area that has, on occasions, had workers from MOD contracts staying at the hotel; whether they were Polish or not, we cannot say.

Our policy is that we do not allow staff nor guests to use fire escapes as smoking areas, as we have a designated smoking area within our secluded garden. Having checked our guest list for the period that this listing covers the majority of our guests over this period where families and couples..

During breakfast we regularly have both male and female staff working, and we pride ourselves on our service in the restaurant where rest assured we do not have cleaning materials out visible to our customers.

Thank you for taking the time to post comments as we take all feedback seriously

Kind Regards – The Manager Grosvenor Hotel Stockbridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We visited the Grosvenor for one of their 'murder mystery' evenings and we could not fault our stay. Friendly and welcoming staff, great entertainment and nice traditional English hotel. We'd definitely recommend it! Its only about 25 minutes from stone henge too... and our friend had a nice short drive to see that on the morning after!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I checked other reviews on this site after I made the booking and I admit to being quite worried as to what we would find. However, we were pleasantly surprised and had a really nice weekend. We stayed in the annexe. The room/en-suite was very clean, plenty of hot water, clean towels and thermostatic controls on the radiator. The bed was very comfortable. There were the usual amenities such as TV, Hairdryer, Tea & Coffee making facilities, although the iron/ironing board was missing and stuck to one of the lamps was a large 'do not use' sign. The staff were very polite and helpful. The decor was tired in places but hey, it's a period property !
The only real downside was there was a function going on into the early hours of Saturday morning, the bar was packed and the noise was very loud. This didn't really matter to us too much as we went out for drinks at 'The three cups' and 'The Greyhound' which are both only a couple of minutes walk (Beware the prices though - £8.50 for a pint and a glass of wine! Drinks were cheaper at the Grosvenor). The two waitresses really struggled at breakfast with the amount of guests and the service was quite poor..... However they more than made up for it with excellent service on the Sunday morning.
We booked through Old English Inns and we got what we paid for. We would definately stay again.
I would suggest if anyone wants a very quiet, relaxing weekend then they check with reception whether there are any functions on before they book.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smile_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed here for two nights and found the hotel to be very pleasant. Our room was modern and well furnished with good facilities. The bathroom was clean but would benefit from an update. Our room was out the back so quiet, alothough there was the odd car noise but this was minimal.

Used the bar both evenings which again would benefit from some cosmetic improvements but the service and food was excellent.

We would look to go again if in area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews