We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit worn around the edges”
Review of The Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grosvenor
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A bit worn around the edges”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Nice hotel in the middle of Stockbridge. But it really, really needs doing up. I like that it's old style, with beams and open fires, etc. But the rooms haven't been decorated in years. The carpets need replacing. The bathrooms need updating. Staff were lovely (except the woman that owns / manages the place, who was a bit cold to say the least - eg, she'd be sitting behind reception and when you walked in through the front door she would peer at you over her glasses and turn away, rather than say hello). A shame because all the other staff - duty managers, bar staff, housekeeping - were all fantastic.
Food was good - breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Don't get a room over the entrance or function room, it's very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Grosvenor, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
May we thank you for taking the time and trouble to contact us, as it is only by receipt of such constructive comments that we are able to improve our standards and quality of our Service and standards.

We can assure you that your experience certainly does not reflect the normal high standards and quality of our service in Old English Estate that we pride ourselves upon. Please be assured that the issues raised are being addressed.

Finally can I apologise that the quality of the service you received did not live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    148
    98
    57
    29
See reviews for
63
209
16
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
KIngs Lynn Norfolk England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The welcome was warm and effecient. The room was sited in the separate accomodation wing linked by a very pretty conservatory. It was clean and of reasonable space but very warm! The bar staff were good humoured. Breakfast was good with a nice selection and the staff were again effecient with little waiting. The hotel is well sited for local amenities and the High Street offers an ecletic mix of shops.
One thing to improve better quality toilet paper.

Room Tip: Top floor in the annexe has a nice view over garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carpecarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We had a ball, literally, at the Grosvenor Hotel in Stockbridge on Friday 15th July 2011. Fiftyone guests at £20 a head, including welcome drink, 3 course meal, wine on the table and a really good disco, whose DJ played just the right music for us. From the moment we made our first enquiry, right up to the evening of the event, we received helpful and friendly service from all the staff, especially the manager, Maggie Evans. who was our main contact for planning this event. We utilised the "grand occasion" package, which is similar to the "Wedding for £999" package, and I would absolutely recommend these deals. The food was well cooked, with fresh vegetables and good size portions, beautifully presented and efficiently served.

We will be back !!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbobh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Grosvenor, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton, england
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The room was fine - a nice, big comfy bed - but there were a couple of damp patches on the wall and the bathroom was really shabby (REALLY shabby). I was advised by reception that the rooms are due to be refurbished at the end of October so hopefully that will resolve the problem.
There was a function taking place on one of the nights we stayed but we couldn't really hear it from our room - and the corridor we were on was lovely and quiet.
Food and service at breakfast were good.
We ate dinner there on our first night and were disappointed. It doesn't quite match up to the prices charged.
So, all in all, our stay was fine but we wouldn't go back there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineBHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We found this hotel to be a charming place to stay that catered for all our needs perfectly.
I was a little apprehensive having read the other reviews however on arrival the staff were friendly the hotel was clean and the food was fantastic.
We met the Managers Owen and Maggie and we found out that they had only been there since May 2010 and that they were working hard to turn around the reputation of the hotel from a previous poor management team so thankfully none of the bad reviews listed here turned out to be true during our stay.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area and I hope that the new Managers succeed in reviving this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to meet the managers if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xTinkxEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Grosvenor, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grosvenor Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I have read the last review and we were also guests at that wedding. I would like to say that our stay was nothing less than terrific. The staff coulnt do enough for you and the food was terrific. I do know what happened with the people on the last review who also attended the wedding but everyone we spoke to after reading that review said that they had a great stay and found the food to be very good. The wedding was well organised and the staff went out their way to please. A great hotel and we would recommend it to anyone and have indeed recommended it to our friends.

Room Tip: Book into the restaurant early as they get bookedp
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oggy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Grosvenor, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grosvenor Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We attended the Grosvenor as part of a wedding party.
Having passes the hotel many times it looks so grand from the outside but inside it's a total let down
it's very shabby / dirty and has lost the grandness it once had.
The thing that annoyed me the most was the big poster as you entered the foyer advertising the price our host's had paid for their wedding reception.
The service was poor, staff dress was scruffy, food boring and bland (although hot)
On our table we had dirty glasses and side plates.
The time between courses where very long, especially between desert and coffees (45 mins)

I felt very let down as I really looked forward to be treated to a lovely stay.
So if your planning a wedding I really advise you double check every thing because it's your big day and having a poor reception is a big factor.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gorwydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockbridge hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
200 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Andover Hotel
5.8 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#3 of 8 in Andover
240 reviews
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
#13 of 13 in Winchester
45 reviews
8.0 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor

Property: The Grosvenor
Address: High Street, Stockbridge SO20 6EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grosvenor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Stockbridge
The Grosvenor Stockbridge, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing