We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grosvenor
Nearby Hotels
Peat Spade Inn(Stockbridge)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$301
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Star & Garter(Andover)(Great Value!)
US$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart(Andover)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
US$224
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
117
160
112
61
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
160
112
61
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh streetwedding receptionfood was lovelyevening meallick of paintwedding venuecountry hotelbreakfast roomenglish innsuperior roomnice staybar and restaurantlovely townnight's sleepoverlooking the gardenbed was very comfortablesunday lunch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

It was probably a very fine hotel in it's day, when it was privately owned, now it's part of a chain and you can see little things that are obviously put in to save money but to me seems very petty, for instance only 1 towel, only 2 tea bags , only one tiny bar of soap etc. the bedroom was adequate with nice comfy beds, the bathroom was tiny and old fashioned but the shower was brilliant, the best ever, just the right temperature and powerful. The hotel is managed by a very nice couple who are hands on and most of the staff are friendly and helpful especially the receptionist who was charming, the only one who probably needs retraining is the assistant manager who one day could be friendly then ignore you the next.
The only problem I found was the serving staff at breakfast didn't have a clue, someone should tell the man that runs the breakfasts that you don't serve someone their second course whilest they are still eating their first, you do not lean across a customer while he is seated and you should bring what is asked for, after all that is pretty basic. The quality wasn't much good either, which put me off eating dinner there.

Room Tip: They are all the same in the annexe, I didn't see the main house rooms
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikelevy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Had a long weekend in Stockbridge. The hotel was great, clean and comfortable with a huge bed! Spacious room with tv and tea-making facilities. Breakfast was lovely, huge choice and very tasty! Staff were always helpful. Have re-booked for August to take parents for weekend break as it's all very flat in Stockbridge itself and the hotel will be ideal for the disabled.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stockbridge feels a little like a town in an old western movie, with the main high street being the only real focus of the town. The Grosvenor is fairly central and has its own car park to the rear. Rooms are split between the old part of the building to the front and newer rooms to the rear (adjacent to the car park). Quieter rooms are at the back of the property, as you may find the traffic noise of a summer evening a little noisy if you tend to sleep with the bedroom windows open. I have stayed here on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed. Rooms are comfortable, staff friendly, breakfast and evening meals are served in the wood-panelled dining room (food was delicious). Bar snacks / meals are available in the bar also. If you don't fancy eating in the hotel, there are several pubs and cafes in town, all offering good fare. Take a stroll up and down the main street. There are lots of unique little shops selling home wares and furnishings, art galleries, boutiques, interior design goods, an Orvis hunting / shooting / fishing shop and a super little shop selling only dog related goods (everything from stationery to sculpture). Take a look in the River Itchen too, which runs through the town, and you'll see some huge Trout.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tosca1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hotel is situated in a small place which is neither town nor village...It is one main road with a handful of cafes and pubs and a few speciality shops, such as gifts, arts etc. The hotel itself is lovely, bang in the middle of the high street. Our room 25 was very spacious with a flat screen tv and 6foot bed.The only negative was the function room was directly underneath and if you wanted an early night it was hopeless as the functions had loud music on both nights of our stay. They did stop on the stroke of midnight , however,and no further noise was heard.
The breakfast offered varied choices and was served quickly and efficiently and tasted delicious.
The bar prices were a little high with a glass of wine costing £6.95.
There were other pleasant bars within a five minute stroll and a lovely indian restaurant. Just a 10 mile drive from Winchester it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetSusiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We booked the Hotel for our wedding day (8th June 2012) and are very glad that we did.
Everything was organised well by Maggie and her team and nothing was too much trouble.
The wedding breakfast was a bespoke menu following our theme for the day and the chef deseves our praise as the food was excellent - all the guests that we have spoken too also commented on how good the food was.

The day went very well we were both relaxed and stress free and enjoyed the whole event.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garethsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews