We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”
Review of The Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grosvenor
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We arrived Friday afternoon 26th July 2013, and checked in without a problem, and the room was quite adequate. We went down to the bar for a quick drink before going for a stroll and discovered that the barman had no idea what he was doing due to the fact that he had not been trained and our quick drink took a bit longer than we had anticipated.
On Saturday we spent the day sightseeing and when we returned to the hotel we discovered that there was a wedding reception at the hotel and had trouble parking our car. After a wash and brush up we again went down to the bar but the service was even worse than we had experienced the night before, so we left and ate at another pub in the town and then enjoyed a drink at the same place without the hassle.
We mentioned this on checkout and the management tried to use the excuse that there was a wedding reception so they were busy. That did not wash with us. The problem was very poor or no training of the bar staff, as we had already experienced on Friday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keithp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Grosvenor, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments. I'm sorry that you were let down by our service but can assure you that the training of our staff is extremely important to us and we sincerely hope that this will not stop you from visiting us again in the future.
Maggie Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    150
    99
    57
    29
See reviews for
63
211
16
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

we happened on this hotel by chance when looking for somewhere affordable to eat we were served with good honest food in my opinion and the bill didn't break the bank in fact we enjoyed the experience so much we booked a table for the next evening we will be dining here on our next trip so please chef don't resign

Room Tip: we only dined here we did not stay over but may well do so next visit to the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Grosvenor, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We hope to see you again in the future.
Maggie Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canvey island
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Our stay was in hot weather and we enjoyed food at breakfast and in the evening. Room was clean and comfortable. excellent location in historic town. Good value for price we paid on late deal. Room on first floor annex was warm at night but no fault of hotel. Ideal for quiet break .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Grosvenor, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We hope to see you again in the future.
Maggie Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here for a weekend break. Had a lovely time, the room was clean and comfortable, and a fan had been placed there as it was a very warm weekend. The bed was large and comfortable, and the fact that the décor was a little old fashioned simply added to the charm. There was a nice bar and dining room, or you could eat in the very nice beer garden. The food was very good, we ate in the hotel on both nights, and the range of choices for breakfast was impressive. The meals were all very good and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The village has a good range of shops and there are several other pubs and restaurants., and was lovely to wander around. Stockbridge is a good base to explore from, with lots of places within easy driving distance. We had a great stay, finishing with coffee in the garden before we left as we didn't really want top go!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights as we were visiting gardens in the area. Was a lovely stay and will definitely go back. The rooms are a bit tired and dated, but the bed was very comfortable. Lovely white sheets and fluffy towels. We ate in the restaurant both nights and was served by Gareth on both occasions. Service and efficiency by him was fantastic. The meals were very nice. We had curry first night as was curry night. I haven't had a curry like it for years. Following night was really lovely meal. The breakfast is equally good. Fresh fruit, juices, yogurts. Full english or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. As the inspector in the Daily Mail says you can judge a hotel by its scrambled eggs and this is true of this place. The village is also quaint, with other pubs and restaurants there if you don't fancy eating here. Also a delight to walk around in the morning.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre or swimming pool here but could not delete! We had a room at the back whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie60Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

On arrival was greeted by very friendly staff. Easy parking, lots of character, and my single room had good space and a good bed. Heard a bit of noise from what seemed to be a fan downstairs but assumed it was the kitchen. Even got a nice call to ask if my room was ok, a first.

Meal, was good in the bar, and great value, so what could possibly warrant such a low score? Sound like a 5 out of 5 so far. Great staff, location, food.

Went to bed, very tired from travelling, still a noise, but it was early. Woke at 2pm, the noise was still there, but in the quiet of the night was so bad. Went downstairs to investigate, there was a locked room, and a lot of noise from what was perhaps a generator? After that I could not get back to sleep. Only slept in the first instance because I was so tired.

Looking back, I can see why I was called. It would have been good to have been asked if I was happy with the noise as it would be going all night. The call now became a negative as it wound me up that I could have said something.

I stay in a hotel to sleep. This was not good.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay in 21, also 20 and 22 likely to be bad. When booking make sure you specify that you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockbridge hotels

aylesbury bucks
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

we only stayed the 1 night on our way to Cornwall, rather dated but maybe added to the charm. Quite a nice room furnishings needed updating, but all in all a bargain for the price. We had a meal in the restaurant, very nice, rather over zealous waiter.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick44k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
203 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Andover Hotel
5.8 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Travelodge Barton Stacey
8.0 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,168 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#3 of 8 in Andover
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor

Property: The Grosvenor
Address: High Street, Stockbridge SO20 6EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grosvenor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Stockbridge
The Grosvenor Stockbridge, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing