We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grosvenor
Nearby Hotels
Peat Spade Inn(Stockbridge)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Andover Hotel(Andover)(Great Value!)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Star & Garter(Andover)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart(Andover)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Barton Stacey(Andover)(Great Value!)
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Sutton Scotney South(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
120
161
114
61
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
161
114
61
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh streetwedding receptionfood was lovelyevening meallick of paintwedding venuecountry hotelbreakfast roomenglish innsuperior roomnice staybar and restaurantlovely townnight's sleepoverlooking the gardenbed was very comfortablesunday lunch
Filter
Updating list...
349 - 354 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Just a quick stay on our way further west.

It's not glamorous & could be updated a bit but is great value. Our room was small but spotless & very comfortable bed & nice bed linen. Would have liked a slightly larger pillow. The bathroom was slightly dated but no real problem with that - appreciated that there were lots of towels. TV & tea making facilities. Free wifi in the hotel which we didn't try.

For £65 including breakfast it's an absolute bargain. Nice bar in the hotel & outside courtyard area. Lots of choice for hot breakfast but could've been some slight improvements - obviously produced en masse so toast cold when we got it & originally very good bacon a bit ruined by the way it had been cooked.

But for a quick break or if you're fishing around & about, it is ideal & is a very reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarristerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We booked this last minute because we wanted to explore the area around the River Test. Stockbridge is a pleasant and lovely village on that river. The hotel is part of the Old English Inn chain, and was delightful. There was a wonderful garden in which we enjoyed our evening cocktails. The evening menu has a nice and affordable menu. After dinner a stroll around the village and a pint before bedtime made for a wonderful stay. We needed to find our next hotel and the staff (all 3 of them) stood on their heads to help us find the right accommodations- super impressive service. I will not hesitate to stay again at one of their hotels. Definitely not a cookie- cutter chain of hotels.

Room Tip: The room at the front of the hotel can be noisy since they face the road. We had a very quiet room in the annex connected to the hotel and facing the back.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank red7557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Part of the Old English Inn chain, this establishment certainly doesn't let the side down. Very friendly staff though a bit fraught and rushed when coping with a wedding. Been/being refurbished in places and with huge comfy beds it was a very pleasant stay. The garden at the rear is a lovely sun trap in which to enjoy a quiet drink (other peoples kids apart).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THATFOODIEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Very helpful reception, advised on free WiFi and rear of hotel car parking. Overall friendly and obliging staff. Price includes bed and breakfast which is very reasonable. Food portions are large for the biggest of appetites. Entertainment is held at certain times of the year so check their timetables. The rooms are average size with en suite facilities and the beds are very comfortable. If there is a downside it would be squeaky floorboards which cannot be helped in older properties and the room was dusty, could have done with better housekeeping. Would loved to have stayed longer and explored the village a bit more which is very quaint. If you are disabled you must ask for a ground floor room as I did not see any lifts. There is disabled parking and access to the hotel, bar and dinning room is easily accessible. Part of the Greene King Group.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stopped here late afternoon for lunch. The two ladies behind the bar were high calibre very helpful, let us run a tab without taking security etc. Had very nice late lunch (cashew veggie paella). Not sure there is too much left to say, only that would certainly come again. i see they have New Orleans jazz Sunday lunch which looks fun.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebbcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We hope to see you again in the future.
Maggie Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews