We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why bad reviews!”
Review of The Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grosvenor
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here last weekend, four of us ate at the restaurant on Friday, food and service was excellent, prices good as well. Breakfast was excellent, fruit juices, fruit, cereals and then cooked breakfast. Room was large and clean, bathroom was fine.
Trish on reception was lovely, only stayed one night but knew our name and room number.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ed2848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just a short stay while visiting relatives/ Sightseeing in the area prior to going further west so we were just looking for a relaxing evening and comfortable bed to sleep in we found both. Met by friendly reception staff who couldn't do enough for us. In the evening we had a meal and a drink in the bar, we where met by very helpful staff. We had the 3 course special, came as good value for money and good portion size didn't over face me. Room was clean comfortable and the addition of the fan in the room was a godsend in the heat of the weekend. Breakfast was presented well with plenty of choice and staff were very attentive. I thought it was a great place to stay for a reasonable price, and would certainly consider re visiting the Hotel in the future

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winston c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We attended a wedding this weekend and found the place good value for money in terms of physical product, but the staff members in the majority were incompetent and sullen to the point of rudeness.

- Long waiting times at the bar with incorrect drinks being served and in some cases the staff would assure you that things on the menu did not exist, until you physically pointed to them.
- The restaurant serving staff were rude and incompetent, with one dropping dirty cutlery over one of our party and not even bothering to apologise and another failing to bring an order at all.
- More often than not a perfectly normal request was greeted with an exasperated sigh.
- Broken shower in the room sprayed water all over the bathroom.
- Broken TV bracket held together with a magazine wedged in it.
- Broken facings on the dresser.

- The reception staff were exceptional and the manager (I think called Maggie), was excellent. Housekeeping staff were also excellent, polite and friendly.

Sadly this is enough to ensure we do not return again, despite the lovely setting of the Test valley. I would, however, say that the event room was reasonable in setting and the event food was good, again probably because this was overseen by the Manager. So if you're looking for a cheap, nice event room, it's worth considering, just ignore the hotel part.

Room Tip: Stay in the old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Very friendly reception, slight mix-up with booking (made through LateRooms) but soon sorted. Travelled there with a friend after spending the day at Champney's in Liphook so we just needed a relaxing evening and a bed to sleep in. We certainly found both! After a short stroll round the town, we decided to have a drink in the bar and something to eat, we chose to share a plate of small burgers - delicious and more than enough for us and had a glass of wine with this. Staff slightly harassed, they were very busy with a wedding the next day but nevertheless, were friendly and professional. Our room was clean, very comfortable (even a fan was put in the wardrobe) en-suite bathroom adequate and the breakfast the next morning was lovely. All in all, a great place for a very reasonable price, would stay longer next time, possibly with family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Just a quick stay on our way further west.

It's not glamorous & could be updated a bit but is great value. Our room was small but spotless & very comfortable bed & nice bed linen. Would have liked a slightly larger pillow. The bathroom was slightly dated but no real problem with that - appreciated that there were lots of towels. TV & tea making facilities. Free wifi in the hotel which we didn't try.

For £65 including breakfast it's an absolute bargain. Nice bar in the hotel & outside courtyard area. Lots of choice for hot breakfast but could've been some slight improvements - obviously produced en masse so toast cold when we got it & originally very good bacon a bit ruined by the way it had been cooked.

But for a quick break or if you're fishing around & about, it is ideal & is a very reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarristerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We booked this last minute because we wanted to explore the area around the River Test. Stockbridge is a pleasant and lovely village on that river. The hotel is part of the Old English Inn chain, and was delightful. There was a wonderful garden in which we enjoyed our evening cocktails. The evening menu has a nice and affordable menu. After dinner a stroll around the village and a pint before bedtime made for a wonderful stay. We needed to find our next hotel and the staff (all 3 of them) stood on their heads to help us find the right accommodations- super impressive service. I will not hesitate to stay again at one of their hotels. Definitely not a cookie- cutter chain of hotels.

Room Tip: The room at the front of the hotel can be noisy since they face the road. We had a very quiet room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank red7557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Part of the Old English Inn chain, this establishment certainly doesn't let the side down. Very friendly staff though a bit fraught and rushed when coping with a wedding. Been/being refurbished in places and with huge comfy beds it was a very pleasant stay. The garden at the rear is a lovely sun trap in which to enjoy a quiet drink (other peoples kids apart).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THATFOODIEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
216 reviews
10.7 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
8 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,133 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Andover Hotel
8.5 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor

Address: High Street, Stockbridge SO20 6EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range: £50 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grosvenor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Stockbridge
The Grosvenor Stockbridge, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing