We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grosvenor
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Devon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Excellent hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Very nice food. Great for exploring Hampshire.

Stayed here 3 times now and will certainly stay here again.

Location is ideal for Winchester and Salisbury.

Very nice shops to look around in the high street.

We stayed for 2 nights.

Looking forward to staying here for the Winchester Christmas market.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    146
    85
    51
    27
See reviews for
59
195
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Very accommodating in bar on a busy Saturday and welcomed our dog. Good selection of drinks and fair value food promptly served. Have stayed there before on a fishing trip and can also recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RFryEastGrinstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenham
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

It's been a while since we've had the opportunity to stop at this hotel for a lunch break while driving to the West Country but we had such a chance a few days ago. We've never actually stayed at this hotel (always a 'next time' idea) so my comments are restricted to meals in the bar area.

On our recent visit I tried the 'Buffalo Chicken Wings' (I had been at Buffalo's Anchor Bar recently - home of the 'wings') and they were very good as was the other food we had. The welcome was warm and service very attentive from all the staff. So, if you're headed east or west on the A30, stop in at least for lunch!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimboLenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We looked around for value and location before deciding on the Grosvenor. We were not disappointed. We stayed for 2 nights, had 3 planning meetings prior to the occasion and it ran like a well oiled machine. We knew what we wanted, we got what we asked for, and more. From recommendations on flower and room decoration providers, to what needed to be done when. The staff went about their business in a discreet and professional manner, where nothing was an imposition. The whole day went without a hitch, food, function room, DJ, all very impressive. We gave them the tools, they did the job! Thanks to all for a perfect day. Wholeheartedly recommended!!

Room Tip: Try room 16 (suite) for the big wooden 4 poster!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We only spent one night at this hotel and that was enough. We had a superior double and being called this they should be done for trades description. the double bed was two singles pushed together, the room was very tired and dated, room furnishings that must have been 20 years old, bits missing, handles hanging off and more knocks than a banger car! and for this privilege it cost £94. Breakfast took 30 mins to turn up from the time of ordering and the excuse for this was "The wedding party all came for breakfast at the same time and we only have one chef on this morning" I am no hotel manager but even I would have thought that we need staff to cover a wedding party. This hotel really needs to spend time and money updating its rooms and then it could have a 3 star rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gazski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockbridge hotels

Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We held our Wedding ceremony, breakfast and evening reception at the Grosvenor in Stockbridge Hampshire. The hotel offers 3 different tier packages with the option to host a Civil ceremony if you want to do it "all under one roof". We opted for the Gold package which included a 4 course meal hire of a function room and an evening Disco.

The staff were friendly flexible and helpful in the months leading up to our event in getting the venue and various suppliers organised. They also provided us with a rooming list for our family guests and were on hand via email and phone to answer any queries or questions.

The wedding breakfast was delicious and well priced. The Bar had 3 real ales as well as the normal lager and stout offerings.

Not only were we impressed but our guests who stayed for the breakfast and overnight commented on how smooth everything went. One of the advantages of doing everything all under one roof!

The rooms are good and what you would expect for a 3 star hotel, I thought the beds were on the soft side, however we both got a good nights sleep after a busy day!

Breakfast the next morning was great, a full English was included in the price - including coffee and tea refills.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA U.S.A.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I just spent 5 nights in the Grosvenor House J.W. Marriott. We are extremely pleased will all aspects of our stay at this wonderful hotel bordering on Hyde Park, London. Every aspect of our stay was handled by hotel staff with precision, accuracy and polish. Our executive room was large, spotless, quiet and perfectly situated on the floor housing the Executive Lounge which we used frequently. The Executive Lounge staff was as good as I've experienced in using Marriott's worldwide over a 45 year period. The service was so good in the Executive Lounge as well as everywhere else in the hotel that I was prompted to write directly to the Hotel Manager to tell him so and to ask him to thank his staff for us.
We ate in the hotel's J.W. Marriott Steak House and were extremely pleased with the food and service. Before bed after being at the theatre we usually stopped at the lobby bar for a drink and dessert. Again, service and food were of a very high standard.
Without question we will stay at this excellent hotel whenever our travels brings us back to London.

Room Tip: This hotel had only good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FRIARTUCK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
8.0 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#2 of 8 in Andover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#1 of 9 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor

Property: The Grosvenor
Address: High Street, Stockbridge SO20 6EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grosvenor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Stockbridge
The Grosvenor Stockbridge, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing