We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grosvenor
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Really Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed for just one night on a Saturday and found it a nice place to stay, it's one of those slightly faded hotels that could probably do with a refurb, but I quite like that.

Our 'superior' room was a good size and over looked the garden, a bit tired in places but everything worked. Service was good and the ( very busy ) staff were all pleasant and friendly, we ate in the restaurant and the food was OK, but nothing special, good value for a hotel though.

Overall a comfortable and characterful hotel, but if you're used to ultra modern or boutique type places, look elsewhere. We'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Try and stay in main (old ) building, rather than modern annexe at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordonrgs37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    146
    88
    55
    29
See reviews for
60
201
16
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We went to Stockbridge for a Sunday outing and thought we would try this hotel for lunch. The potatoes were from frozen, the beef was a little tough and the veg was a bit soggy. Veg is so cheap to buy and why restaurants don't ever give you enough is beyond me.! The horseradish was also bland.

We arrived at 12.15 so you would have thought that this would have given them time to vacuum the floor from the night before. There were coins on the floor by the edge of the bar, a broken glass and beer stains. My first impression should have told me that the food would not have been that great. Even dirty cups and saucers were left on the table.

Would not recommend or go back !

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank SammersSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockbridge hotels

Bungay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

A lovely comfortable hotel set in picturesque Stockbridge. Made to feel at home as soon as we arrived, staff very friendly and helpful. Food was very tasty. Had the best nights sleep for a long time in crisp white sheets. Wonderfully hot shower. No airs or graces just felt perfectly comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilla Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Brieuc, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel overnight in late February 2014. We were very pleased with both the location and the friendly welcome. All staff seem very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the décor was modern - although I admit that an update would be welcomed. Very comfortable large bed with lovely bed-linen. Unfortunately we arrived too late to dine in the restaurant but the food smelt excellent! Breakfast could only be given 10/10! A selection of dishes including Wild smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, omelettes and of course, the full English!
We attempted to rebook for our return journey but unfortunately for us, they were fully booked due to a wedding taking place in the hotel. But, we shall return without hesitation on our next UK visit through Portsmouth!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, Devon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Given recent postings, we left for our two day (very cheap) break at the Grosvenor with some trepidation as to what we would find. Perhaps the low expectations helped, but overall we were very happy with our experience. We were in the newer extension (room 8) between the beer garden and the car park, so we can appreciate that noise could be problem in summer. Also the bedroom walls are very thin, but we had good neighbours, others may not be so favoured. The bathroom was tired, but fully functional. Our room was quite small, but we have had smaller. The bed was very comfortable and there was an easy chair. The food (breakfast and dinner) was to a good, though not gourmet, standard, but did not expect that for the very reasonable prices. All of the staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. The bar lacked atmosphere, but the ambiance in the dining room was relaxed and congenial. All in all a good average for Mr and Mrs Average.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Lovely little town up against the floods when I stayed. Really good value 3 course dinner made this a very good although the room would be judged as average. Staff were friendly and the room was comfortable enough for a business stopover - would stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the extension out back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

What can I say. The hotel was in much need of a complete refurbishment. The room itself was windy and as the sash windows let all of the wind through, someone came up with the idea of putting sliding doors on the inside of the room to stop this. Oh how wrong they were!!! They didn't even stay shut so spent the whole night awake by the wind knocking everything in the room!!

After lack of sleep and a missing window in the bathroom, we also found out that the emergency exit escape door was open, the whole night as wouldn't actually stay shut because of the wind. You could hear everyone's conversations word for word as the walls were so thin and to top it off, the shower has only scalding hot or freezing cold water!!

Think twice before booking here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cordierrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
8.0 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#2 of 8 in Andover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
8.5 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
8.6 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor

Property: The Grosvenor
Address: High Street, Stockbridge SO20 6EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grosvenor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Stockbridge
The Grosvenor Stockbridge, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing