We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value For Money”
Review of The Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grosvenor
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Husband's Birthday beautiful location, we had drinks, food from main menu, and desserts. Husband had steak, and trimmings, I had a beautiful ploughman's, 2 guests had the steak and ale pie with trimmings. I asked our wonderful waitress whether the ploughman's would be served on a wooden board or a plate, she said wooden board. I asked her whether the ploughman's could be served on a plate, she very kindly said that would not be a problem. Although our waitress Rebecca was rushed of her feet you would not have known it she smiled, and was very obliging to our needs. Also had time to ask whether everything was ok with our meal, and was there anything else we needed. Excellent waitress service, and we really enjoyed the lovely sunshine coming through the windows. Definately will recommend this place to eat, as it was also good value for money.

Room Tip: Unable to review as not stayed in the rooms, only had meal in restaurant, as visiting for the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 64smiler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

thank you very much for taking the time once again to post your feedback , thank you for your nice comments and we look forward to seeing you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel is well located in the centre of town with ample parking, a small cosy bar. I dined in the restaurant and found the food to be first rate.
The room was dated but comfortable and represented good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 461TonyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Not much to say . Its one off the bad ones. Terrible. Service bad. Dirty. Not friendly. This was a very good place back in the 70s 80s but the place has gone downhill sadly. But there is other places in Stockbridge which are very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyBillyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed for a walking weekend with our dog, and enjoyed the Grosvenor so much that we stayed put for drinks and dinner on each day. Fabulous value for money and attentive staff. Recommended! We intend to plan a longer break around staying there next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickieBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Had a family meal here on a very busy Friday night.
Staff are wonderful helpful and very happy.
They had a full scale wedding going on but still found time for us.
Food is very good here well cooked and season.
Will be going back text time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

In our journey south from Milton Keyes to Lymington via "the less travelled and more interesting" byways through England's verdant countryside, by chance we chose the Grosvenor Hotel as our target for accommodation and dinner. We were very pleased with the result of both selections! We were assigned Room 12 which featured a full king sized ultra comfortable bed (with a very thick duvet), 2 chairs, a large desk, lots of electrical outlets and free, continuously dependable in-room wi-fi connectivity. The ensuite bathroom included bigger-than-normal shelf space, a full size bathtub plus a strong full-flow shower head with never any lack of hot water. Although we left all windows open, we enjoyed a quiet night as Rooms 1 - 12 are separated from street sounds by the Hotel's primary building plus an open, generously sized grass courtyard. If anyone is looking for a high quality "best value for your money" place near Andover, Salisbury, Eastleigh or Winchester etc, I highly recommend the Grosvenor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room numbered 1 - 12 overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConstantTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Could hardly fault anything from start to finish. Maggie, the manager came to the rescue with the wedding music when our disc was corrupted. Banquet hall was set out to our exact requirements, the wedding meal was hot, plentiful and delicious and the staff friendly and attentive.
The bedrooms, we had 5 in total, were very good. A couple were showing little signs of age although this is to be expected in a building of this era and actually add to its charm. Some have recently been refurbished to a high standard. The hotel has a car park at the back and some nice gardens and a bar and restaurant. A typical English Inn.
Breakfast was very good with an extensive " A la Carte" section.
Overall a delightful weekend, lovely building, lots of character and good value too. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a room with garden views away from the main road as these afford better views and are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul6543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
219 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,156 reviews
10.7 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Best Western Andover Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,915 reviews
8.5 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor

Address: High Street, Stockbridge SO20 6EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range: £55 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grosvenor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Stockbridge
The Grosvenor Stockbridge, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing