We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the usual.....”
Review of The Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grosvenor
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was fishing in the area so this was the obvious choice to stay....and it did the business. It is rather like stepping back in time so if you want a 'corporate' package, with boring uniform standards go elsewhere. It is clearly at the centre of the Stockbridge community with a good sprinkling of locals in the bar and restaurant. The staff I suspect are the sons and daughters of the local gentry on their gap years but are busy, kindly and effective. All in all It is a pleasant relief to the usual faceless hospitality of the chains. I shall be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitbag49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor. It is important to us that we receive feedback from our guests. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
There are newer reviews for The Grosvenor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Grosvenor Hotel has a number of attractive features. It has some fine public rooms, a lovely secluded garden, good parking facilities and helpful staff. The bedrooms are just Ok and are quiet in the extension at the rear--not sure about those on the High St. frontage. It is one of the Old English Hotel Group of hotels I think, and It needs a bit of TLC in places and generally an upgrade .
We liked the Grosvenor and enjoyed our stay, as it's right in the middle of Stockbridge .Recommend the Greyhound on the Test pub (further up the High St) if you want something a bit more adventurous than the Hotel menu.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the Hotel if you want a quiet room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a one night stay on 27th July.Check in friendly and quick.
Our room on the front overlooking street was ok .Yes it's old and worn but clean although there was a hole in the sheet.It was a hot night and thankfully there was a fan in the room.It was a noisy night with traffic though.
We had a meal in the evening.Starters were fine but the fish and chips were not.For £9 49p the fish batter was rubbery and small(when the menu says large).
For £50 the stay was good value .If you don't like noise a room at the rear would be better.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed one night as we were going to a party nearby. The town itself is really pretty and the hotel is right in the middle. Check in was easy and our room was on the ground floor overlooking the garden. Although the hotel could do with a bit of TLC everything we wanted was there. The huge bed was lovely and comfortable, room was quiet and breakfast was very good. Nice little bar, in fact perfect for what we wanted. All the staff were friendly and there was plenty of parking. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Booked on line and went for a superior room B&B. Got the Mayfly suite - result!
Huge room, comfy sofa and bed, big TV, tea & coffee, massive bathroom.
The minus points - the windows didn't open enough, four poster beds aren't very long.
The second visit was a superior as well, kingsize double and a big bathroom and all the usual accompaniments. Again, couldn't open the windows wide enough and the bathroom heater was stuck on (on one of the hottest evenings of the year).
Breakfast was lovely and the evening meal was pretty good too.
Staff were very pleasant and professional.
I'd go back, again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank tomroyce74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

stayed 26]27 july 2014
this hotel needs a major update
food was ok
room was ok but don't remove magazine behind tv or it will fall off wall (ROOM 10)
staff nice
its a pity when a old hotel is left to down hill as this one is
come on bosses this could be a flagship for you
will call again when in area to see whats being done

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ihavebeenthere002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

One of the friendliest hotels I have stayed in . The hotel had a lot of olde worlde charm and the food was of a high quality. The staff did everything to make your stay welcoming and comfortable . The decor could do with a little TLC in places without needing to spoil the character. Lovely gardens out the back. reasonable wine list with prices from £13 to £25. Good menu selection with starters such as potted mackerel, baked camembert, caesar salad. Mains included salmon fillet, pork belly hunters chicken and an extensive grill list (the ribeye at £17.39 was really tender) 6 different roasts available on a Sunday.
The hotel has plenty of parking and situated in the village of Stockbridge has to be one of the friendliest picturesque villages in the area. Plenty to see and dine out out in nearby pubs and bistros.

Room Tip: We had rooms 24 and 25 which overlooked the high street which wasnt noisy. In the height of summer t...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
206 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Andover Hotel
8.0 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,092 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#2 of 8 in Andover
250 reviews
6.8 mi away
Travelodge Barton Stacey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor

Address: High Street, Stockbridge SO20 6EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range: £52 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grosvenor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Stockbridge
The Grosvenor Stockbridge, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing