We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the negative reviews”
Review of The Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grosvenor
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't believe the negative reviews”
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Booked three rooms here to stay overnight en route home from a family function. A bit dubious given some of the reviews but needn't have worried. Reception staff at both check-in and check-out were very friendly, rooms were good (not great) but clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was superb. Great selection, efficient waitress and timely delivery. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonraker03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    148
    98
    57
    29
See reviews for
63
209
16
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

This hotel has an attractive facade in a lovely old English village famed for its fishing. In its heyday this hotel must have been the grand centrpiece hotel for those wealthy visitors from London that cam down for the fishing, and echoes of that grand past are reflected in the fishing trophies, picture and mementoes found on the walls of the hotel and also in the wooden-panlled public rooms
Unfortunately those days are in the far distant past and today the hotel is characterised by a shabby un-gentileness. Our room had not been decorated for some time, the furniture was old and poor and the hotel is used to house itinerant Polish workers working for MoD contracts in Andover and thereabouts. Whilst we were there these Polish workers had noisy room parties and gathered on the fire escape smoking and chatting.
Breakafast was quite disatrous with just one girl to look after all the guests, The waiting time before being served was unacceptably long and neighboring tables remained un cleared and dirty dishcloths and cleaning rags were to be seen here and there

We would certainly not stay at that hotel again - it spoiled an otherwise lovely week-end away

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nay_missus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belltewk, Manager at The Grosvenor, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
The Grosvenor Hotel is an old Georgian building that has references to fishing within the bar areas and walk ways. We do have a lovely facade and we are situated in a most beautiful village in Hampshire, this part of the listing is correct. As for the remainder, we can only think that the persons making this listing has mixed us up with another hotel they may have stayed at during their holiday. There is another hotel situated within our area that has, on occasions, had workers from MOD contracts staying at the hotel; whether they were Polish or not, we cannot say.

Our policy is that we do not allow staff nor guests to use fire escapes as smoking areas, as we have a designated smoking area within our secluded garden. Having checked our guest list for the period that this listing covers the majority of our guests over this period where families and couples..

During breakfast we regularly have both male and female staff working, and we pride ourselves on our service in the restaurant where rest assured we do not have cleaning materials out visible to our customers.

Thank you for taking the time to post comments as we take all feedback seriously

Kind Regards – The Manager Grosvenor Hotel Stockbridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockbridge hotels

Eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We visited the Grosvenor for one of their 'murder mystery' evenings and we could not fault our stay. Friendly and welcoming staff, great entertainment and nice traditional English hotel. We'd definitely recommend it! Its only about 25 minutes from stone henge too... and our friend had a nice short drive to see that on the morning after!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I checked other reviews on this site after I made the booking and I admit to being quite worried as to what we would find. However, we were pleasantly surprised and had a really nice weekend. We stayed in the annexe. The room/en-suite was very clean, plenty of hot water, clean towels and thermostatic controls on the radiator. The bed was very comfortable. There were the usual amenities such as TV, Hairdryer, Tea & Coffee making facilities, although the iron/ironing board was missing and stuck to one of the lamps was a large 'do not use' sign. The staff were very polite and helpful. The decor was tired in places but hey, it's a period property !
The only real downside was there was a function going on into the early hours of Saturday morning, the bar was packed and the noise was very loud. This didn't really matter to us too much as we went out for drinks at 'The three cups' and 'The Greyhound' which are both only a couple of minutes walk (Beware the prices though - £8.50 for a pint and a glass of wine! Drinks were cheaper at the Grosvenor). The two waitresses really struggled at breakfast with the amount of guests and the service was quite poor..... However they more than made up for it with excellent service on the Sunday morning.
We booked through Old English Inns and we got what we paid for. We would definately stay again.
I would suggest if anyone wants a very quiet, relaxing weekend then they check with reception whether there are any functions on before they book.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smile_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed here for two nights and found the hotel to be very pleasant. Our room was modern and well furnished with good facilities. The bathroom was clean but would benefit from an update. Our room was out the back so quiet, alothough there was the odd car noise but this was minimal.

Used the bar both evenings which again would benefit from some cosmetic improvements but the service and food was excellent.

We would look to go again if in area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The good points, the food was very good (breakfast and a light lunch) and the staff were polite and friendly.

The bad points.......the room smell incredibly musty and was in need of updating. Also, the room was so hot and when we tried to open the windows only a few of them worked! On our first nights stay, we were kept awake until 2am in the morning due to other guests coming and going and you could hear EVERYTHING! Doors slamming, people up and down the stairs, toilets flushing and TV's. It was not very relaxing!

The second nights stay was slightly quieter but the beds were not comfortable and I have returned home with both a sore back and neck as the mattress and the pillows were hard and lumpy.

Stockbridge is a very pretty place but if I even return, I will not stay at the Grosvenor. We had friends staying at the Three Cups and the WHite Hart which looked much better accomodation wise and they assured us that they had perfectly good nights sleep as the hotels were so quiet.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pounda10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This hotel has recently changed management in the last two months. We met the new managers at reception who introduced us th 'Bailey' their 13 yr old dog. The hotel was very clean, the rooms were lovely with a large comfortable bed. We stayed for two days and met most of the staff who were v ery pleasant and tried their best to please. We ate in both the bar and the restaurant. Both were very good especially the restaurant. Our french waiter '(Gabby') was very helpful and always at hand. Altogether, it was a great two days with great food. Look forward to going back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitby001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
199 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Andover Hotel
6.4 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#2 of 8 in Andover
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
#13 of 13 in Winchester
45 reviews
8.9 mi away
Days Inn Sutton Scotney South
Days Inn Sutton Scotney South
#11 of 13 in Winchester
13 reviews
8.0 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor

Property: The Grosvenor
Address: High Street, Stockbridge SO20 6EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grosvenor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Stockbridge
The Grosvenor Stockbridge, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing