We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Army Aviation museum - Hampshire”

Museum of Army Flying
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are one of the UK's leading museums for British military aviation history. Boasting 40 fixed wing and rotary aircraft on site, we have fascinating exhibits and a wonderful 'Apache Cafe' looking out over the busy Middle Wallop Army Air Corps airfield.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Army Air Corps museum reflecting the early days of the Army Air Corps operations. Good access off the A343 and ample free parking and picnic areas overlooking the active airfield. Regretfully the exhibitions are dated, tired and do not reflect many aspects of the extensive AAC operations over the last 20/30 years. Nice refreshment area. Worth a visit if your passing by but not particularly satisfying.

Thank gjkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Hi there, thanks for the review! It's great that you took the time to do so. We're glad you noticed the great picnic areas - now the sun is shining and the apache's and Lynx are often out doing their acrobatics it makes for a great afternoon in the sun!

Thank you for your feedback regarding our exhibitions, we are continuously trying to take in feedback and work to update the museum. Work is currently in progress on a new glider exhibition which will open this summer.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"planes and helicopters"
in 11 reviews
"all day breakfast"
in 5 reviews
"gift aided"
in 5 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 10 reviews
"cafe upstairs"
in 5 reviews
"armed forces"
in 4 reviews
"play area"
in 11 reviews
"cafe on site"
in 4 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 12 reviews
"on display"
in 11 reviews
"few hours"
in 11 reviews
"hot food"
in 4 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 5 reviews
"great for kids"
in 4 reviews
"half term"
in 5 reviews
"glider pilot"
in 5 reviews
"family ticket"
in 5 reviews
Filter

284 - 288 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Fairly standard modern day museum fayre. Walk through history, room size reconstructs with dummies, about 20 different planes and (mainly) helicopters. Cafe with view over the airfield. Good audiovisual exhibit explaining the D-day glider landings in Normandy.

Thank LisMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the audiovisual D-Day glider exhibit.

We're sorry if you thought the ticket was expensive. As a registered charity we must charge entrance to keep our museum going. Hopefully you found enjoyable and we hope to see again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Some interesting aircraft and artefacts to view. Some of the exhibits are rather dated and could benefit from updating.

Welcoming staff and the cafe has a good menu.

Represents ok value (£9-00 per adult) for a likely 2-3 hours walk around the exhibits- slower if you read everything, much quicker if you're with children!

Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

We are very pleased to hear you found the Museum interesting and you enjoyed the cafe. Thank you for your feedback regarding updating exhibits, we are constantly taking in this feedback and working to keep the museum interesting and up to date - work is currently commencing on a large new Glider Pilot Regiment exhibit which is exciting.

We hope to see you and your children again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Spent a Saturday here with the family.
Arrived in time for lunch and went to Apache Cafe. Wow, huge menu for little cafe but all the food was great. All day breakfast for 6 pounds was good. Also a selection of Thai curries available! Cafe is accessible separate to museum if you want to just stop for cafe, well worth it and fab views.
Museum itself very good. Yes, 9 pounds for adult is pricey, but the museum gets little support from MOD so needs to be self funding.
Great selection of things to see, with great area for little kids and cool 1940s style house.
Well worth a visit with kids, young or old.
Shame the simulations (tank shooting, rifle shooting, landing glider) were all a pound each.

Thank ukDesiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself. Our Apache Cafe works hard to offer customers a great range of choices and your kind words have been passed on.

We strive to keep our museum entertaining and informative for all ages and it is always great to hear the whole family enjoyed themselves. The Museum is a registered charity and your one pound for the simulators provides important ongoing support, for which we are very grateful.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Very interesting museum about the history of people and aircraft since the days of men who went up in kites. Well displayed aircraft and other artefacts help you understand what flying in combat was like. All British conflicts are covered, but war is not glorified, and the personal stories are moving. Good for all ages. There are flight simulators and the cafe is cheap and has a great view of flying aircraft.

Thank Markgardner87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Army Flying also viewed

 
 

Been to Museum of Army Flying? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing