We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Voluntary Museum”

Museum of Army Flying
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are one of the UK's leading museums for British military aviation history. Boasting 40 fixed wing and rotary aircraft on site, we have fascinating exhibits and a wonderful 'Apache Cafe' looking out over the busy Middle Wallop Army Air Corps airfield.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent museum for the subject matter, although in some areas I think a complete rebuild and thought to layout is required.
The Apache Cafe offers good food and an excellent view from the balcony overlooking the airfield to see the helicopters flying.
Excellent souvenir programme available, a well stocked shop, and toilets.
The £9 entry fee is what you would expect for this type of museum.

1  Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We're so pleased you thought our museum was excellent, we really do value each review whether it's positive or negative but it is great to hear you liked it!

Thank you for commenting on the layout, you'll be pleased we have a forward strategy group who are working to systematically target areas for updating.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 272 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

I'd never been to the museum before and didn't know what to expect.As someone with little or no interest in aviation, but visiting with toddlers and a seven year old on a rainy day, it was great.
We started and finished in the cafe, which lived up to all the good reviews. The children went through the exhibits at speed , but loved the hands on stuff, especially the Scout helicopter. We could hardly prise them out of the children's activity room !
The 1940s house was admired by the whole party! the 7 year old was fascinated by the outdoor privy!
The only criticism was that the toilets left a lot to be desired. The ladies were smelly and festooned with toilet paper. They could have done with more frequent inspections.
Overall, a good day out .Especially good value in the cafe.

3  Thank scrappy399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

It is fantastic to hear that you had a great time!

The cafe is continuing to achieve its goals to deliver great service and these reviews help it work towards that. The same can be said for the entire museum and it's great to hear what the party enjoyed!

In the same vein, your feedback on toilet facilities have been taken forward and we thank you for flagging that up.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

On the plus side this is an interesting museum. The exhibits are fantastic and well laid out. The. the guides are very helpful and obliging. The café is also great and we often eat there as the food is top quality and reasonable priced. At the time of my visit the manager of the café could give me more information than the shop staff. Great viewing area across the airfield.

On the negative side. I asked a question in the shop and the elderly arrogant lady could not answer my question other than telling me what I already knew. She also was talking down to me. The café manager however did have more idea and actually answered my question.. I have on 3 occasions tried to become a friend but never received any reply to my e-mails. I also tried to have a news letter sent as advertised. Even spoke to the one of the female managers who promised to send it but never did.

My impression is that it is poorly managed and the management team should study the customer.

4  Thank 616,340,325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

All feedback is highly valued by the Museum, we thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We deeply apologize that you had an unpleasant experience in the shop and this has been taken forward. However it is great to hear our Cafe manager was so helpful and this has also been passed on.

Additionally, we must apologize for inconvenience caused to you with your attempts to become a friend. There has been a transitional period for departments, including those involved in SOFMAF and newsletters. We assure you this is being dealt with and of course if you were to call once more I will personally see that your requests are met.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Reasonably enjoyable - but a long way from the top notch museums that it's easy to think is normal !

The main display is spread over one hangar, with a few more aircraft in a 2nd hangar. The descriptions are mainly short and not always that illuminating. Other reviewer describe the place as being a bit run-down, which I would agree with. Another strange aspect - there are various games dotted around which require a pound coin to play. When the entrance fee isn't particularly cheap (£9) it just felt a bit tacky.

On the plus side - if you like your aircraft, it does have a reasonably wide selection to enjoy, and is worth a visit if you're passing by.

Thank fartoomanyusers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We are all helicopter geeks at heart!

Thank you though for taking the time to give us an honest constructive review. These do get taken forward. We're glad to hear you found the selection of aircraft enjoyable and the team is working hard on a development plan to bring us up to date along side those top notch museums!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This museum traces the history of the Army's flying activities, including dozens of aircraft, helicopters and gliders, as well as auxiliary vehicles (fire truck, control tower lorry, etc), as well as militaria. The display also includes a well-constructed replica of a 1940s house which visitors can walk through. Next to the museum is Middle Wallop airfield, and depending upon when you visit you may see Army helicopters or light training aircraft going about their duties. The entry free when we visited in April 2014 was £9 per person (adults).

Thank evo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a helpful review - feedback to us an information for others is always much appreciated. It's great to hear you found the museum interesting and liked our 1940's house.

We hope you managed to see some aircraft in training during your visit - currently there is lynx flying overhead! We hope to see you again soon thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Army Flying also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Museum of Army Flying? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing