We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Exhibits”

Museum of Army Flying
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are one of the UK's leading museums for British military aviation history. Boasting 40 fixed wing and rotary aircraft on site, we have fascinating exhibits and a wonderful 'Apache Cafe' looking out over the busy Middle Wallop Army Air Corps airfield.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Baby buggy parking
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Interesting Exhibits”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Museum shows the history of flying in the army (as per the name), some very interesting items and aircraft. Well worth a visit, probably a couple of hours is enough for most.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peters101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us - It's great to hear you found the museum interesting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    99
    26
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Typical Voluntary Museum”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent museum for the subject matter, although in some areas I think a complete rebuild and thought to layout is required.
The Apache Cafe offers good food and an excellent view from the balcony overlooking the airfield to see the helicopters flying.
Excellent souvenir programme available, a well stocked shop, and toilets.
The £9 entry fee is what you would expect for this type of museum.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We're so pleased you thought our museum was excellent, we really do value each review whether it's positive or negative but it is great to hear you liked it!

Thank you for commenting on the layout, you'll be pleased we have a forward strategy group who are working to systematically target areas for updating.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rainy day visit”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I'd never been to the museum before and didn't know what to expect.As someone with little or no interest in aviation, but visiting with toddlers and a seven year old on a rainy day, it was great.
We started and finished in the cafe, which lived up to all the good reviews. The children went through the exhibits at speed , but loved the hands on stuff, especially the Scout helicopter. We could hardly prise them out of the children's activity room !
The 1940s house was admired by the whole party! the 7 year old was fascinated by the outdoor privy!
The only criticism was that the toilets left a lot to be desired. The ladies were smelly and festooned with toilet paper. They could have done with more frequent inspections.
Overall, a good day out .Especially good value in the cafe.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank scrappy399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
It is fantastic to hear that you had a great time!

The cafe is continuing to achieve its goals to deliver great service and these reviews help it work towards that. The same can be said for the entire museum and it's great to hear what the party enjoyed!

In the same vein, your feedback on toilet facilities have been taken forward and we thank you for flagging that up.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bad Management”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

On the plus side this is an interesting museum. The exhibits are fantastic and well laid out. The. the guides are very helpful and obliging. The café is also great and we often eat there as the food is top quality and reasonable priced. At the time of my visit the manager of the café could give me more information than the shop staff. Great viewing area across the airfield.

On the negative side. I asked a question in the shop and the elderly arrogant lady could not answer my question other than telling me what I already knew. She also was talking down to me. The café manager however did have more idea and actually answered my question.. I have on 3 occasions tried to become a friend but never received any reply to my e-mails. I also tried to have a news letter sent as advertised. Even spoke to the one of the female managers who promised to send it but never did.

My impression is that it is poorly managed and the management team should study the customer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 616340325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
All feedback is highly valued by the Museum, we thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We deeply apologize that you had an unpleasant experience in the shop and this has been taken forward. However it is great to hear our Cafe manager was so helpful and this has also been passed on.

Additionally, we must apologize for inconvenience caused to you with your attempts to become a friend. There has been a transitional period for departments, including those involved in SOFMAF and newsletters. We assure you this is being dealt with and of course if you were to call once more I will personally see that your requests are met.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Mainly for geeks”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Reasonably enjoyable - but a long way from the top notch museums that it's easy to think is normal !

The main display is spread over one hangar, with a few more aircraft in a 2nd hangar. The descriptions are mainly short and not always that illuminating. Other reviewer describe the place as being a bit run-down, which I would agree with. Another strange aspect - there are various games dotted around which require a pound coin to play. When the entrance fee isn't particularly cheap (£9) it just felt a bit tacky.

On the plus side - if you like your aircraft, it does have a reasonably wide selection to enjoy, and is worth a visit if you're passing by.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fartoomanyusers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We are all helicopter geeks at heart!

Thank you though for taking the time to give us an honest constructive review. These do get taken forward. We're glad to hear you found the selection of aircraft enjoyable and the team is working hard on a development plan to bring us up to date along side those top notch museums!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Army Flying also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Army Flying? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing