We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful White Hart”
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Hart
Ranked #1 of 9 Stockbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A last minute emergency requirement for rooms for a walking group took us to the White Hart Hotel in Stockbridge. They were welcoming, accommodating and kind. The hotel provides a mixture of rooms in the 15C part of the hotel with great character and rooms in the more modern annexe which were very comfortable and elegant.

They looked after our luggage while we were out walking, booked a local B&B for me as there were not enough rooms for one evening, provided great breakfasts and were very hospitable all round.

Thank you to the White Hart for being wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 114BarbaraH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have recently spent a lovely weekend walking the Test Way. We stayed here on our first night. It couldn't get much closer to the route. The room was clean and comfortable, with abath. They provided bath salts which I always think is thoughtful. The staff didn't seem too phased by our muddy boots.

We ate in the bar, the meals were large, but they were lacking on the vegetarian front. Same goes for the breakfast, but the breakfast I had was very nice.

I would stay here again definitely if I was to walk the test way again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiek55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived in the evening in bad weather conditions and the staff were very helpful and generous with their time. We were seated next to the fire and chose to eat from a set valentines menu. The food was fantastic especially our mains of rack of lamb. We then headed towards our room which we had pre-booked (number 1) it was well decorated and the 4 poster bed rally made it a statement. The mattress was very soft though which is not our preferred choice. We also found it odd that on a cold February night the room wasn't heated and we did feel cold. Breakfast was of great quality and had a good selection. Overall, as the person who didn't know where her surprise evening was going to be, found it very welcoming and was perfect for us both.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thetagalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

How refreshing to find a pub/restaurant like this that serves meals in small and large sizes. The dinner portions are usually large but it is possible to have a smaller portion of most of the meals - what a good idea for smaller appetites!
This was a very warm, comfortable place to have a meal on a miserable, wet January evening. The staff were friendly and helpful. The wine was good and the food the best we had on a three day trip in the area. There is a good variety of food on the menu and we would have no hesitation in recommending The White Hart to anyone.

Room Tip: We only ate here so cannot speak for the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winkword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We live only 20 minutes away in Whitchurch but decided we needed a New Year break and this was the ideal choice. Although the weather was awful e had a great time, we went to Salisbury, Romsey and Winchester. The breakfasts here are great and our room was beautiful (number 3).

We had dinner twice and enjoyed it both times. Nothing was too much trouble and locals and staff were so friendly. A great stop off point if you're on a long trip to the West Country and a great place for a special break. Thanks all.

Room Tip: The rooms in the old part are ace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdeofWhurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

7 of us had Sunday lunch here today.... we were pleased to see on the menu various roast meals and then also spotted the 'small portion'. This was a great idea so 3 of us had this and we then had room for pudding too, a bonus for people with smaller appetites. A small portion at £8 seemed really good as vegetables were put out in the middle of the table.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelling_happy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Decided to stop here for lunch and don't think we'll bother again. I had seen the game and root vegetable stew on the menu some time ago and was really looking forward to trying it. What a disappointment! Game & root vegetable stew with potato and bread - well, the bread was O.K. but for 5p off of £13.00 I expected better than a bowl of gravy with some potato on top. The potato disappeared into the gravy, the root veg was practically non excistent and whatever the game was it was unidentifiable and full of grissle and, quite dangerously, lots of tiny bones. My husband had the small cod, which at £9.00 was almost a child's portion.
The chef needs replacing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jayayres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor
The Grosvenor
#2 of 2 in Stockbridge
460 reviews
3.9 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
212 reviews
8.6 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,233 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
847 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Address: The White Hart High Street | Winchester, Stockbridge SO20 6HF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stockbridge
Price Range: £90 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart, in Stockbridge, serves up fine fresh food and drink, cosy real fires for a warm welcome and 14 charming bedrooms for a blissful country escape. Available for private parties, drinks receptions and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel Stockbridge
The White Hart Stockbridge, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing