We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect country pub”
Review of Peat Spade Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peat Spade Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
england
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect country pub”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst fishing. The manageress was nothing but fantastic. Polite, helpful and incredibly efficient. Amazing food, service and extremely comfortable rooms. I can highly recommend this pub.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    43
    21
    18
    15
See reviews for
34
93
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We live locally and are blessed with a number of good pubs in the area and the Peat Spade is consistently right up there at the top. My wife and I have eaten here on several occasions this year and both meal and service was consistently really good. Good menu and wine list, Food delicious, cosy atmosphere,and staff attentive without being intrusive. Have also had couple of family dos here and upstairs function room ideal for these, with excellent buffet. Don't take my word for it go try yourself you wont be disappointed.
Jeremy K

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed over the weekend of a friend's wedding. Aesthetically, the pub and rooms were lovely, and supper on the first night was excellent. Full breakfast was cooked to order, fresh and filling, though a little more in the way of cereal or even porridge would have been appreciated. Even more so, even a single piece of fruit either in the room or with breakfast would have been thoughtful. Sandwiches ordered the following day were fairly basic and I was perhaps not unreasonably surprised to be charged £10 for two small egg mayonnaise portions stretching just shy of two slices of bread!
Generally, the stay was fine, but the staff were on several occasions less than helpful; the first night, enquiries about another of our party whose flight into the country had been delayed were met with unyielding adhesion to a set locking up time beyond which one of us would have to stay up to deliver her room key. Only one of the five or six bedrooms occupied by our party were serviced on the second day, meaning that we returned late after the wedding reception to wet towels and unwashed cups, and the explanation that we were at fault for not leaving our keys (despite our aiming to save the staff waiting up for us, and our not receiving any instruction about leaving them) was at best tenuous.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SW2013-84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Two of us drove out to this beuatiful village for lunch. We had a superb lunch. Everything was excellent... Food, drink, service, ambience. It is a mystery to us how so many negative reviews have crept into this listing.
Do not listen to them. Just go, and judging from our experience, you willl not be disappointed.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Throughly enjoyable Sunday lunch - superb food and catered well for children. The only part that dulled the whole experience was the waitress upon taking our pudding order. Upon one of our party asking for 1 scoop of ice-cream to accompany her sticky toffee pudding, the waitress replied, 'You can't have that on a Sunday'. It was quite unbelievable. As most people would probably agree, sticky toffee pudding is fine on its own, although the majority of people would prefer it with a little bit of ice-cream, or clotted cream. To be told, 'You can't have that on a Sunday' was extremely rude I thought.

My husband, not having heard the previous conversation, then also asked for ice-cream and received the reply, 'Mmm, I suppose you could have it, but it will cost you an extra £2.50'. At least he got a scoop, our friend still didn't, and of course we were charged the extra £2.50 for one small scoop of ice-cream.

It's a small point, but I do think that when customers are paying £100+ for lunch for 4, then it would be pleasant to at least get a small scoop of ice-cream to accompany the sticky toffee pudding.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BunnyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The last time we came here was just over twenty years ago when it was run by a lady almost single handedly. The pub was a bit tatty then but the food was excellent, particularly memorable was a plate of local cheeses washed down with a lovely dessert wine to end our meal. So..... twenty years on we were expecting a change, after all we are seasoned travellers and enjoy our dining adventures.We feel that one of the most important things when dining out is that you get a warm welcome, we certainly did not get that. We were away for a weekend and were looking for somewhere to return the next day for lunch. The place was half full, we went to the bar and the girl behind it gave us a suly look of distain, there was no hello, she seemed impatient as we ordered a wine and a beer. The conversation from her was basically, 'what do you want?', 'that's £8.10' ,
'change'. The last comment was done as she almost threw my change on to the bar, we saw two more staff who avoided eye contact and conversation. They showed concern as wemsatnatna table, as if this was some great inconvenience. We were not shown a menu, it was about 1 in the afternoon, a customer walked up to the bar with his plate of food, looking unhappy but perhaps not with such unhappiness as two of the female staff displayed on their faces. We drank our drinks and left, needless to say no one said goodbye or thanked us for our custom. Unbelievable. A pub in a beautiful village that should be delightful, if you read our other reviews you will see that we went to many places this weekend and we are fair with our reviews. This place was disgrace, we may return in another twenty years.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Had a fabulous mid-week escape to this small but beautifully formed pub in Hampshire on the River Test. Our bedroom was very comfortable, although on the small side (what do you expect in a village pub?). Bathroom was well-equipped with a big shower. Food was fabulous-all produce supplied from the John Lewis Estate farms (Lechfield?), on which the pub is located. This is not any old pub menu. Well-executed food ensembles. Wine list was disappointingly limited, but nothing lacking in selection-just not an interesting list. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Location excellent. Looking forward to returning. Would point out that I think this place would be very hard to book in fishing season-for understandable reasons!

Room Tip: Separate barn area room is quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesD662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
The Grosvenor
The Grosvenor
#2 of 2 in Stockbridge
439 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,071 reviews
4.8 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Esseborne Manor
Esseborne Manor
#1 of 1 in Hurstbourne Tarrant
649 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#3 of 8 in Andover
242 reviews
3.9 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#1 of 9 in Stockbridge
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peat Spade Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peat Spade Inn

Property: Peat Spade Inn
Address: Peat Spade Village St | Longstock, Stockbridge SO20 6DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Peat Spade Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peat Spade Inn sits in a picture postcard setting in the beautiful village of Longstock in the heart of Hampshire. Located in the Test Valley, less than a mile from Stockbridge - the fly fishing capital of the world - the rivers and downs surrounding the inn are home to some of the best fishing and shooting opportunities in the world making The Peat Spade Inn an inviting refuge for country sport enthusiasts. After a long day enjoying the outdoors, head back to the inn to rest your feet, sit back and relax with a freshly poured pint of Upham real ale. With the Test Way passing close by, The Peat Spade is a popular retreat for walkers to stop by en route to refuel with some fabulous pub food. It's a great stopover too for those visiting the nearby historic cities of Winchester and Salisbury. This charming country pub is just an hour's drive away from London and the New Forest and provides the perfect place for a spot of lunch, a delicious dinner,a drink or two in the idyllic Hampshire countryside or somewhere to stay the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Peat Spade Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peat Spade Hotel Stockbridge
Peat Spade Inn Stockbridge, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing