We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish Wives pre-season dinner”
Review of Peat Spade Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peat Spade Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Brockenhurst
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fish Wives pre-season dinner”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Fish Wives for ladies who do and those who would like to ... go fly fishing held their pre season dinner on Monday 24th March 2014 at the Peat Spade Inn at Longstock nr Stockbridge Hampshire

The Peat Spade is full of sporting photographs of the rich and famous shooting and fishing. The bar is candle lit in the evenings which creates a nice atmosphere. The staff are very welcoming so it is a good place to get together with friends.

After a drink at the bar we moved up to the dining room which is well furnished and decorated. With specimen salmon looking down from their glass cases on the walls we settled into our seats for an evening of good food and good conversation, liberally embellished with fishing stories. The service was relaxed and the attention to detail was good. We were well looked after throughout the evening.

Food was well cooked and well presented. My steak was cooked to perfection. The salted caramel ice cream with honeycomb was really good. Altogether a great evening. Lunch is great too and you get to enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blacksmithshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    41
    20
    18
    15
See reviews for
32
91
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I never write reviews, but after a super overnighter on Saturday with my husband and 2 friends and their dog at this stunning gastro Inn, I had to leave my comments. GO! Beautiful setting, lovely decor, great menu and excellent quality food, very friendly staff making you feel most welcome, super comfy bedrooms, with luxury bedding and toilettries. We enjoyed it so much, we booked again at check out!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benson40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Have had Sunday lunch and now stayed a night. Rooms very comfortable and clean. Ample car parking. Staff very attentive and friendly. Had dinner in the restaurant when we stayed overnight and the food was excellent. Breakfast in the morning was equally good in fact it was delicious. Nice village and as such we would without doubt visit the pub again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Four ladies went for lunch and had a happy time with delicious food and very friendly service. I was disappointed to read so many reviews criticising the service as this was certainly not what we found. Two waiters served us and were chatty and friendly. We tried butternut squash ravioli, lemon sole and pulled pork between us followed by a delicious rhubarb panna cotta and a lemon tasting plate all followed by coffee. The sun shone too which made the room look beautiful.
No complaints here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have just had two nights B&B over new year. We booked two double rooms and the special New Year's Eve tasting menu. It was a lovely place, very comfortable, cosy and the food was excellent. We also took our dog and she was warmly welcomed! The staff were very friendly and helpful and worked hard to provide guests with a good new year's eve experience.
The weather was awful, so it might have been nice to have had a sitting room area, but it is a pub more than a hotel after all.
We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineMendham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

For our annual pre-Christmas lunch we decided to try a change of venue (from the Plough at Sparsholt) and go to the Peat Spade. I emailed them to make a reservation for the Christmas lunch (specifying which menu) and this was confirmed by email.

On arrival we were given the usual lunch menu. When saying we had come for the Christmas menu we were told (on 19th of December) that this was not available yet! The waiter was sent off to check and then said we could have the Christmas menu. We were left to share the flyer detailing the menu which is presumably sent out when you book (although we never received this).

The starter and main course were lovely. When ordering pudding we were again given the normal menu and had to ask for the Christmas menu (the waiter initally insisting the puddings are the same, which they are not). We decided at that point that we would not waste any more money and just have the bill. The bill then arrived charging us for three courses.

Someone who I assume was the manager asked us on the way out if we had enjoyed our meal We explained the food was good but the service something else. He said we should have prebooked the Christmas meal (i.e the implication being the rubbish service is your fault). I explained that we had and he just shrugged.

Give this place a miss. Its a real shame as a lovely spot and interior and we have had great meals in the past but certainly would not rush back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louljh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We booked three rooms and dinner for eight of us for one night in October. Staff were very friendly and could not have been more helpful. Not sure whether they might have changed since two previous reviewers thought they were poor - unlikely I suspect. The rooms were comfortable with good facilities and good value with excellent breakfast and a good evening meal.
We would go back again quite happily.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
The Grosvenor
The Grosvenor
#2 of 2 in Stockbridge
437 reviews
6.0 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,057 reviews
4.8 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Esseborne Manor
Esseborne Manor
#1 of 1 in Hurstbourne Tarrant
635 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#2 of 8 in Andover
240 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Barton Stacey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peat Spade Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peat Spade Inn

Property: Peat Spade Inn
Address: Peat Spade Village St | Longstock, Stockbridge SO20 6DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Peat Spade Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peat Spade Inn sits in a picture postcard setting in the beautiful village of Longstock in the heart of Hampshire. Located in the Test Valley, less than a mile from Stockbridge - the fly fishing capital of the world - the rivers and downs surrounding the inn are home to some of the best fishing and shooting opportunities in the world making The Peat Spade Inn an inviting refuge for country sport enthusiasts. After a long day enjoying the outdoors, head back to the inn to rest your feet, sit back and relax with a freshly poured pint of Upham real ale. With the Test Way passing close by, The Peat Spade is a popular retreat for walkers to stop by en route to refuel with some fabulous pub food. It's a great stopover too for those visiting the nearby historic cities of Winchester and Salisbury. This charming country pub is just an hour's drive away from London and the New Forest and provides the perfect place for a spot of lunch, a delicious dinner,a drink or two in the idyllic Hampshire countryside or somewhere to stay the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Peat Spade Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peat Spade Hotel Stockbridge
Peat Spade Inn Stockbridge, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing