We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enjoyable stay.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Forest Haven

View of the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the garden
View from the garden across the 3 acre larger garden 6 person high spec hot tub Jacuzzi with mood lighting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
View of the garden
View from the garden across the 3 acre larger garden
6 person high spec hot tub Jacuzzi with mood lighting
Open plan lounge with 65 3D TV Bluray player Xbox 360 IMac leather sofas and woodburner
Fitted Kitchen with LED mood lightning
Modern Woodburner
Open plan kitchen and dining area with French doors onto decking
hot tub with mood lighting
Dining table lounge with mood lighting decking bbq and alfresco dining outside with hot tub
Fully equipped modern ensuite luxury bathrooms with roof lights bath and showers
Shower and bath all tiled
Super king or twin beds in each room with fitted wardrobes and smart TV WiFi connected
View from open plan kitchen
Enterance drive and parking right by back door with decking platform across garden
View from the kitchen window across the gravel parking to pond bridge garden
View to open plan kitchen from lounge sofa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stuckton, Fordingbridge, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paradise7...
1 review
“Enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great pubs, good for walking and cycling. The accommodation was comfortable, well presented and as advertised.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside69...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent first impressions but some disappointing aspects.”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Forest Haven is well situated in peaceful surroundings a short drive to several to several good places to eat. The cabin was well furnished with leather sofas, comfortable beds, 3 TV sets plus other electronic extras, BUT there were several disappointing issues with the cabin.
A dish drainer would have been more appreciated than a dishwasher housed in a shed outside on the deck. As to the (invisible) washer and dryer mentioned in the TripAdvisor listing, I assume it was meant to go in the other (empty) shed.
The bedroom opening onto the deck only has French Doors.NO window. The temperature was in the high 20's when we were there - not ideal having to sleep with the French Door propped open with a chair.
We were told two days before we arrived that the garden was a mess - never a truer word! I hope the plans to rectify this have been carried out. In the hot weather it was a bit smelly at times. There was also stagnant water beneath the deck.
As requested in the T&Cs I had stated that although there were only two people in the booking we would be using both bedrooms. Three weeks before we were due to arrive I was told I had to pay an additional £21.70 to cover extra insurance costs and use of linen In the second bedroom. During the past thirty plus years I have rented two bedroom holiday homes all over the world and have NEVER been asked to pay an extra charge for two people to use both bedrooms.
I don't think the cabin is suitable for young children for several reasons.
1. A large rectangular (beautiful) glass-topped coffee table which we covered with a beach towel to prevent walking into the corners.
2. Washbasins in both bedrooms very high - not comfortable for me at 5ft 3ins.
3. Toddlers would not be safe on the deck which has a steep step down to the garden across its front edge (which should be marked).
4. The railings on both decks are badly made, providing almost no support. An accident waiting to happen.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
There is a top of the range washer and separate dryer. Of you book for 2 guests you get the price for 2 guests. If you then want 4 guests £21 is not unreasonable for the stay and less than booking on the site. We have many families stay with children who love the trampoline and 3 acres of garden. It's as they say secluded and safe. There are velux roof windows that open in both bedrooms and bathrooms so it's easy to stay cool in hot spells. The garden drainage was completed in June on the 5m patch and is now dry and like the other 3 acres.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Gamin...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely base”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Ideally located in The New Forest and only 30 mins from Bournemouth we had a lovely few days away. The added extras such as the Xbox, a smart TV, gas barbeque, rainforest showers, blackout blinds in the bedroom and a hottub made it easy with the children and fun to be back to at night. The cost of the stay was perfectly priced for us even with the additional payment for use of the hottub. The only issue was that the garden could not be used but I understand this is going to be sorted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happiness...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overflowing cesspit and noisy garden centre next door tainted our visit.”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
3
people found this review helpful

There's an old saying - "You can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear". The owners of Forest Haven have tried very hard to do this by fitting out a double "static caravan" as a luxury hotel suite. In some areas they have done well but in others there were serious shortcomings.

The lounge area has comfortable sofas, a gigantic TV and all sorts of entertainment extras. There is a kitchen with plenty of worktop and cupboards. The bedrooms have large comfortable beds. The bathrooms have good contemporary fittings and tiles. Heating and hot water work well. The property is dog-friendly, which was a big plus for us. The cabin was very clean and tidy and our hopes were high.

Instructions that were emailed to us were 67 pages long! Rather than print it all out we noted the arrival details thinking we could download the rest when we arrived. The internet didn’t throughout our stay so we had to use data roaming, at some cost, to download it to our iPad. It then turned out that a lot of the information in the document related to a different cabin and was useless.

Then, there were big issues that were not resolved satisfactorily. The biggest was that the enclosed portion of garden and the area beneath the cabin were waterlogged with foul smelling liquid that made the decking unusable unless the wind was blowing away from the cabin. We were told that there was a spring in the garden that would be drained in June but the smell was clearly NOT spring water. It turned out that they knew all along that the cesspit, adjacent to the garden, was overflowing because the soakaways were flooded by ground water and couldn’t cope with the load from the properties on site. A lorry came to empty it the day before we left. The driver looked shocked. Even when shown a photograph of the stains from the overflowing cesspit the owners claimed that it was the spring washing soil into the tank – in my experience liquid flows downhill and the garden is lower than the cesspit lid. By the next morning, as we left, the ground had dried out which confirmed that the cesspit was the source of the liquid. It will be contaminated for some time so our advice is not to stray from the decking! A team of gardeners also came on our penultimate day. They tried to strim the overgrown “lawn” but had to leave the contaminated area for fear of being splattered with effluent. The owners suggested that we could use the rest of the 3 acre site, but that was no consolation for not being able to use the outdoor dining area and barbeque. Thank goodness we hadn’t booked the jacuzzi.

Then there is the description of the property. It is not in a quiet rural lane, but immediately adjacent to a very busy garden centre with constant traffic virtually all day. They claim that this only happens in the spring season but don’t advise tenants about it. There was no washing machine or tumble drier, as advertised, though, one of the two garden huts on the decking had plumbing and wiring ready for them. It transpires that the owner didn’t even realise that they were still in a garage waiting to be installed. The second hut had a dishwasher! Who wants to carry their washing up out into the garden to clean? No-one, it would seem, as the machine hasn’t been used yet.

The caravan itself has the feel of a DIY conversion. On arrival, after a brief shower of rain, there was a pool of water from a leak around the stove flue pipe. There were water stains in the second bedroom ceiling where there has been a leak too. Skirtings and architraves are generally badly fitted and coming unstuck from the walls in several places. The hand-rail on the decking is so wobbly that it feels close to collapsing. The bi-fold doors are jamming on the cill, probably because the weight of the roof cannot be supported across the wide opening. We eventually found the remote control for the alarm system, which we were requested to set on departure, hidden on top of the fuse box in the kitchen cupboard. It turned out that the alarm didn’t have a power supply anyway! The shower heads in the bathrooms are so low that you can’t stand under them if you are more than 6 feet tall. Shaving sockets are at skirting level a long way from the bathroom mirrors. There are lots of signs of settlement in the structure with grouting and caulking falling out.

Luxury is not about expensive fittings – it’s about attention to detail. One tea towel for a week long stay is inadequate. There was a dustpan and brush and a hoover but no broom, cleaning cloth or floor mop (essential to clean up muddy footprints from the boggy garden). There were no hooks to hang a dressing gown. The computer didn’t connect with the keyboard provided so couldn’t be used. The firewood we pre-ordered for £29 turned out to be a small basket of 21 logs that would have cost £10 from the local garage. A dustbin for the rubbish only appeared on our last day after two enquiries about what we were to do with it.

Previous reviews have highlighted some of these problems, so they are ongoing, and have been met with the same sort of indignant responses and denials that we had. We even suggested that a partial refund might be appropriate under the circumstances but there was no acceptance that anything was wrong. Under the circumstances we can’t give more than one star.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2017
Same guest leaving the same 1* damaging review 3 times because they tried to extract a free holiday after staying a week. Compare to the 5 * reviews. Yes there's a small area 5mx5m flooded within the 3 acres but the new drainage goes in at the end of June so this won't be a future issue and they were told in advance. The broadband is now fibre and IMac works fine. Logs are unlimited for £29 you just have to help yourself from the log store not that you need it with full central heating and double glazing. Its a brand new purpose built lodge as per the photos and most guests love it out of over 40 Stays. And these guest wiped the router settings by fiddling making it impossible to connect to the internet because they thought they knew what they were doing. We incurred £65 getting a technical chap out to fix.The internet is free and work fine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AM54AMY
2 reviews
“Great New Forest location, with modern accomodation”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed for a long weekend at Forest Haven and having read the reviews before our arrival I had concerns. Previous reviews mention a waterlogged area in the garden, which was the case and we were notified before our stay. However, I was relieved to find that there were no unpleasant smells (as per other reviews) and the area leading from the decking to the gate was completely dry which meant we had access to a few acres.

Also the large decking area was more than big enough and has the hot tub sunk into it (which is an absolute must for any stay), so we had no complaints about access to outside space.

The property itself is a modern lodge style building and everything inside was lovely and modern. The bedrooms were both of a good size and both bathrooms had nice waterfall showers. Everything was squeaky clean and very comfortable. There isn't a fitted hob or oven but the gas BBQ looked brand new and the property is in close proximity to a couple of nice pubs and restaurants.

All in all I would say it's a cut above your standard self catering holiday letting and would definitely visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soopapee
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Garden Was Awful, The Smell Overpowering”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here with my wife, the cabin is ok and comfortable but the garden is awful, the decking was ok (if you discount the wobbly handrails!!) The garden is a stinking swamp full of flies and rubbish, all underneath the cabin is waterlogged. We were not told of this before we stayed, we wanted to eat outside but couldn't due to the stench.

The Hot Tub was set to 40 degrees which was way too hot.

The location is good, with a great restaurant very close but there is a very busy garden centre right next door which creates a lot of noise.

Some of the photos showing on this property listing are not the actual cabin or the grounds (for example, one of the photos shows a kitchen with a cooker hob - there isn't one and the garden shot is clearly taken before the cabin was erected.)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
Glad you liked the Cabin at it's facilities. Read the previous persons 5* review who stayed a few days before as a contrast. Hardly fair giving it a one star for a small area of waterlogged garden when you acknowledged the cabin itself was good. 3 or 4 stars would have been fair.

There is a 5mx5m patch of waterlogged garden in the total 3 acres which is going to have land drains put in shortly and then this small area can be turned. Apparently there's a spring which is why it's waterlogged at the moment. We did tell you in advance and explained what we were doing about it.

The hot tub temperature is easily and fully adjustable via the lcd panel on the hot tub if it's too hot for you when you arrive. Some guests prefer it to be 40 degrees because that's what they set it at.

Anyway glad you liked the Cabin overall but giving it 1 star really wasn't fair by your own review where you had to be picky about the hot tub temperature to try and justify what is clearly an unreasonable rating...3 or 4 would have been fair!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
660graham
West Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“great cabin, great location”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

nice and quiet location, garden centre close by, comfy beds and settees, great stay. two pubs close by. all though we never used them, not too far from marwell zoo, well worth the trip, not far from salisbury, lots of horses and cattle roaming around, loved it

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing