We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“massively overrated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Three Lions

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Three Lions
Ranked #1 of 1 Stuckton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“massively overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Friendly staff and a nice setting - the part we stayed in is a modern single storey extension with french doors onto the garden. The room was a decent size but decor was pretty chintzy and old fashioned and the bathroom was very tired - a cheap and knackered freestanding aluminium towel rail, fairly old and thin towels. We'd booked a double and the 'double bed' was two normal singles pushed together - not even one of those special beds which zips together. NOT what you'd expect for the price, and very uncomfortable. We thought the accommodation was seriously overpriced.
When we called to book we were told that the room was 'accessible' because my partner is a wheelchair user. It is not accessible. It is simply on the ground floor. The bathroom had a shower over a bath - not sure how the owners think wheelchair users are supposed to clamber into a bath. There were no grab rails in the bathroom. The doors were also quite narrow. Anyone running a hotel should know that accessible means way more than simply a ground floor room.
We ate in the restaurant one night, which was a big mistake. Again, SERIOUSLY overpriced and overrated. 1980s food with overly sweetened creamy sauces. Hugely disappointing for a place which seems to like to think of itself as a 'restaurant with rooms'.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
micky321, Owner at The Three Lions, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Totally UNTRUE.
The beds are zip & link Vi Spring with new duck down toppers.
The towel rails are chromed steel,the towels are top quality & recently replaced.
All the rooms to which you refer,have been redecorated & brand new shower units fitted this spring
All the doors are bespoke & especially widened to allow easy wheelchair access for ground floor rooms.You are correct that we do not have stand alone showers but we always point this out at the time of the booking
We do not do creamy sauces but complex reductions using fine vinigers,wine & natural stocks.
Finally we can not recollect any wheelchair users,using the garden rooms this year.If we had we would have recommended the Oak room next to the conservatory & car park which is fitted with all the necessary grab rails needed for a wheelchair user.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    23
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
55
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Turnhout
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Professionally correct reception. The rooms are very clean and well equiped.. Marvellous garden. Breakfast was OK. Only one small point: to bite the toasts you must have a good set of teeth. Perhaps we were a little bit late (at 9.00 am) at the table. Perfect start for a tour through the New Forrest.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gibke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW France
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here over Christmas and it really suited the situation perfectly. The room was large , comfy bed and all facilities were top notch. Breakfast was good, wholesome stuff and suited us well. We treated the rest of the family to a great lunch here which included 2 small kids and they were accommodated in style .
The food is well presented and has that certain quality that it was cooked and put together with care - quite a rare thing these days.
The weather was appalling with the roads flooding but Jayne helped us with good directions as to the best routing between various points , she was extremely helpful throughout our brief stay.
I am sure we will be back when in the region again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesSWFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We had our christmas dinner here on Christmas Day, it was simply fantastic. We were shown to our table Straight away, there were 5 of us but we were put on a table with plenty of space around us didn't feel crowded at all. We started with canopes that were delightful. The whole meal was perfectly timed and at no point did we feel rushed to get it done and out of the way. The staff were attentive but not pestering. It was one of those meals that you did not want to end, every course was fantastic. Thank you Mike Jane & Team.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on the way to a family gathering. The welcome was great despite arriving slightly later then expected ( just after closing time ). The room was great, with plenty of space for the 3 of us, good facilities and very comfy beds.

The location and gardens were lovely and our 5 year old was particulary impressed with the giant fruit statue in the garden.

Breakfast was particularly good, definitely one of the better b&b breakfasts we have had, and definitely worth going for the 'full english' ( nicely cooked fresh mushrooms and the fried eggs were excellent ).

We thought that the price was a little on the high side, especially compared to other locations, but it seems to be normal for the area.

It was a great start to our weekend and we would happily stay here again when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stay with Mike, Jane and crew regularly when visiting an elderly Aunt locally. The welcome from Jane is always so warm and the rooms are always perfect. We prefer to stay in the larger rooms outside, Maple is our favourite and always dine in. The food and wine are superb and the range of choice is mind blowing. We always look forward to staying in this quiet gem and in the Summer sit outside listening to the birds. Have not made a rating for the children activities and swimming pool as they all live away from home!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_MChook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Three Lions with our son last week. We absolutely loved our time there. The room, location and staff are all individually faultless. And the food ....... Amazing!! Jane, who runs the Three Lions with her husband, was particularly welcoming. Looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuckton
0.0 mi away
Eastclose Hotel
Eastclose Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
0.0 mi away
Augustus John
Augustus John
#2 of 14 in Fordingbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Lions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Lions

Property: The Three Lions
Address: Stuckton, New Forest, Fordingbridge SP6 2HF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Fordingbridge > Stuckton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stuckton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Lions 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Three Lions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Lions Hotel Stuckton
The 3 Lions
The Three Lions Stuckton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing