We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.”
Review of Solent Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiteley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We booked this as part of the Peppa Pig package. I wasn't expecting it to be so lovely. Staff were great, lovely touches in the room for the kids - cookies, choc and milk. Fab to be able to use the spa and pool too. Very good breakfast, and having the pub (The Parson's Nose) on site was terrific as we could take the family there for dinner. Each room had bathrobes (although they ran out of the kids' ones and my friends didn't have any - but that's a very minor thing), and the quality of the rooms was very high. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Stephen Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for your review following your stay with us whilst visiting Peppa Pig World. Here at Shire Hotels we strive ourselves on delivering those ‘small details’ for our guests during their stay, and fresh milk and cookies I am pleased you appreciated this.

I have passed on your kind comments to the team here at the Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Woodrow - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

Needed to attend to a number of business matters in Fareham and stayed here now three times. This trip I had a bit more time and glad I did. The food was superb, the service was great and the accommodations were terrific. Each and every staff member I met was on the spot, always with a smile and glad to help how every they could.

If you are in the area. Stay here. I know I will.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPattersonInCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Stephen Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am delighted to read your kind and praising comments and I will make that all staff are aware.
I do hope when you return again, you will have the opportunity to sample the fantastic ESPA treatment range we offer within our Spa.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Woodrow - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed on a package with entry to Poultons Park & Peppa Pig World. I requested a room move after finding a huge urine stain on the mattress, no quibbles came and helped me move rooms as husband had popped out to find a bottle of wine.
We had a family room and the bunk beds were extremely squeaky. So much so that we were kept awake all night. The milk and cookies for the children was a nice touch, but the broken fridge door wasnt. Plenty of tea & coffee & biscuits.
Resturant is expensive and portions are small but food is nice.
Pool is nice size and added bonus of steam jacuzzi and sauna.

Room Tip: check the bunks for excessive squeakyness before accepting your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiona d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very good customer service. Helpful.
We stayed ( with our 2 children aged 10,8 ) for long weekend. We booked the family room with bunk beds. This is/are clearly double rooms with the bunk beds added on as an after thought. So the room is tight/small - just enough to swing a cat. So you would not want to do anything more than to sleep/bath int there.
The restaurant and Spa are very good. The pool especially as the kids are allowed all day ( apart form 1hr each side of the opening/closing ).
Breakfast can take long and is some what limited. So if your not into English Breakfast there is limited choice. We only had it once. Try Halladay's Tea Room - excellent.
Its quite a drive into Southampton, so if you prefer not to drive for around 20mins each way look fro something closer.
Overall, I would say a short stay here would be acceptable.
Would I stay here again - probably not. So many other options and does not score high enough to recommend a return stay.

Room Tip: Room 307 over looks roof - avoid it is possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5starholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Stephen Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for your recent review, and I am pleased to learn you found our guest care very good and enjoyed our Spa facilities and restaurant experience also.

I am disappointed you sign off by saying you would not return, despite a positive review. I do hope you will reconsider this and we can welcome you and your family back again to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Stephen Woodrow - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We recently attended a family wedding here and although we did not stay at this hotel we were very impressed with the décor of the whole hotel. The wedding was held in the Osborne Suite and was really lovely. The entrance hall and stairs up to the beautiful glass-walled balcony are very welcoming and the beautiful, huge chandelier is extremely impressive. The food at the wedding breakfast too was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeysucklerosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Stephen Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for your recent comments after you attended a wedding at the Hotel recently. I am pleased you had an enjoyable day and the Hotel surpassed your expectations. I shall ensure your kind feedback is passed onto all staff for their information.

Kind Regards
Stephen Woodrow - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed for two nights and combined a trip to Peppa Pig World. Our children are 3.5 & 18mths and they loved the bunk bed & milk & cookies left for them in our room. The pool was lovely & the food was really good. The pub on site was also good. A very pleasant stay & recommended to families.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Rjdarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Stephen Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review after your recent stay with us, I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed Peppa Pig World!

At Shire Hotels we pride ourselves on adding those ‘small details’ such as cookies & milk into the bedrooms for our little vip’s. We have recently refurbished our very own on site pub - the Parson’s Collar, so I am pleased you found time to visit. I hope to see you back at the Solent Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stephen Woodrow - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I visited the Solent Hotel recently to see if they could arrange a small private post-funeral reception in one of their function rooms. The girl at the front desk could provide no help or information and told me that the member of staff responsible for this was not available until the following Monday. Once of her colleagues did try to interupt and seemed more keen to help, but the first girl stuck to her guns and did her best to persuade me (a potential customer) to go elsewhere. At the very least they could have shown me round some example function rooms and given me a copy of buffet menus etc, but this was not to be.

The whole place just seemed very "corporate" and impersonal with staff who are seemingly unable to use much initiative. Astonishingly, this hotel brags on its website that "you will not find a warmer reception anywhere on the South Coast". Based on my personal experience, I beg to differ.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Stephen Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent visit to the Solent Hotel. I am sorry to learn about your experience and I have spoken to all of my Reception team to discuss your review.

We have an extremely dedicated events team here at the Hotel and I am sorry to read your request for a show round was poorly managed on this occasion. I do hope and despite this experience you will consider using the Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Stephen Woodrow - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whiteley
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
3.4 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,177 reviews
3.6 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,436 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solent Hotel & Spa

Address: Rookery Avenue, Whiteley, Fareham PO15 7AJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham > Whiteley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiteley
Price Range: £96 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solent Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the AA Hotel Group Of The Year 2016/2017, Thwaites Hotel's luxurious 4 star Solent Hotel and Spa nestles in acres of glorious Hampshire woodland and provides a haven of peace and tranquillity for both business and leisure guests. Located just minutes from Junction 9 of the M27 motorway, the Hotel is midway between Southampton and Portsmouth, and less than thirty minutes from the New Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Solent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solent Hotel And Spa
Solent Hotel Whiteley
Solent Hotel & Spa Whiteley, Fareham, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing