We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing stay”
Review of Solent Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiteley
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, relaxing stay”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed at the solent hotel with a friend for the ultimate girls night in package, had an absolutely lovely time! We both had the taster facials and indian head massage treatments, the staff were friendly and we were so relaxed. Our room was great, we had ordered a box of chocs on our arrival which werent in the room - called down to reception the lady was very apologetic amd within minutes we had the chocolates delivered free of charge. would absolutely reccomend visiting the private hot tob, it was absolute bliss! After this we recieved our sharing platter of food, going on to ice cream popcorn and strawberries which was all really nice. we settled down to watch dvds provided by reception and relax. Upon leaving we had a full english breakfast and toast (again included in the package) breakfast was tasted and just right before the trip home.. This truly was well worth the money, we didnt want to leave!! I couldnt reccomend this package enough!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmC88399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for your recent reveiw. I am delighted you had an enjoyable 'girls night in' break, and I have passed on your kind comments to the team.

Our outdoor hot tub is a fantastic facility and is proving extremely popular, so I am pleased you managed to book this and enjoyed your session.

I look forward to seeing you back at the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Steve Woodrow - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    296
    111
    43
    27
See reviews for
294
268
25
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Just returned from taking my sister in law out for her birthday. Shown to a table in the bar for a drink before dinner. They weren't able to take our coats (not what you would expect from a hotel.) We ordered our drinks; the wine waiter dumped the wine and glasses on the table not asking if we would like to try the wine (again not what you would expect from this standard of hotel). The meal was extremely average, the service was below average although pleasant, but top and bottom of it all I wouldn't recommend eating here again. Shame as we're moving into the area and we were looking for somewhere special to eat on a regular basis.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peaofsweetness1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

I am sorry to learn that service within our bar and restaurant were not up to the standards you expected, and I have discussed your feedback with my team.

I do hope, and as you are local and new to the area, you will allow us a second opportunity to show you this was not a true reflection of the service and hospitaly that I know we deliver to our guests on a regular basis.

Kind regards
Steve Woodrow - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Wow - we have just got home from a lovely night stay at the Solent. We had the most wonderful wedding day just over a year a go and would highly recommend.

We arrived to be greeted by the duty manager, our room was lovely and we had a bottle of champagne in our room.

We had a wonderful spa treatment each - life saving back massage, in the double treatment room and afterwards we spent an hour in a hot tub - drinking wine. Which was just brilliant. It was freezing outside, raining but the hot tub was lovely and warm. Great experience. We were fully relaxed.

We had a 3 course meal included in our stay, everything was just perfect. The restaurant manager was welcoming, friending and gave us a complimentary drink.

Breakfast was great too.

Wish we could have stayed longer

Thank you to all. X Lauren and ross barrett

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lozPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your very kind review.

We are always pleased to welcome back our bride and grooms, and I am pleased you had relaxing and enjoyable return stay with us, enjoying our facilites - the hot tub really is great!

I will be sure to pass on your kind coments to my team.

Kind regards
Steve Woodrow - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

having previously taken my daughter on the girls night packages I decided to treat myself and mum to the escape package which includes one treatment,breakfast and evening meal. absolutely fantastic food and service. pool is lush and the spa ladies are so nice. 10 out of 10! only thing that did spoil it a little was the selfish neighbours we had,7 am and banging doors,screeching and shouting,really unnecessary so cheers for that whoever you were on the 3rd floor last night,18th jan

Room Tip: check theres no large all girl/ladies groups next to your room,if there are ask to be moved
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for you recent review.

I am pleased to read you have returned to our Hotel, and enjoyed your escape package with your Mother. I will pass on your kind feedback to the team.

I am sorry to learn there were noise disturbances, and I appreciate you for bringing this to our attention.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Steve Woodrow - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Fantastic hotel, friendly staff brilliant spa treatment. Dinner was amazing. Booked the spa escape package which was fantastic value for money would definitely recommend. Will definitely be coming again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for your reveiw on tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your escape package, and that you will be returning again soon.

I will pass on to all my team your very praising comments regarding food quality, service and the treatments in the spa you enjoyed.

Kind regards
Steve Woodrow - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Arrived on the Monday before Christmas, 23rd. The great British Weather was in full swing and a tree brought a power line down cutting of power to the hotel until 11:30 that night. Not their fault and they did offer a transfer to another hotel, which we declined, you don't need lights to sleep.

The whole Christmas break was good, looked after well, great breakfast ( the smoked salmon and Scrambled egg was great !). All the food served was really good and the staff were pleasant.

Rooms were good, clean and well appointed with plenty of space. Only thing to spoil an otherwise great hotel, no chain on the sink plug !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelfcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for your recent reveiw.

It was great to meet you over the festive period, and I am pleased you had an enjoyable and relaxing Christmas break with us.

Thank you also for your understanding with the power failure the Hotel and local area had on the night of the 23rd.

I look forward to seeing you back at the Solent again soon.

Kind regards
Steve Woodrow - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I attended the James Bond themed New Years Eve party with my wife and a couple of friends. We were greeted with a complementary glass of Kir Royale. We were seated at at table for 8 sharing with another two couples who were celebrating together. The whole evening was well-organised and the food was of a good quality. The staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. The entertainment consisted of a piper who piped in the haggis and then gave us the benefit of his repertoire of well-known traditional and contemporary Scottish-themed tunes. Not really my thing but enjoyed by most. This was followed by a good selection of party music played by a DJ. From what I saw my fellow party guests enjoyed the evening as much as we did. Testament to the fun was the fact that the evening seemed to pass very quickly. The only negative part of the evening was that one of our friends has specific dietary restrictions (that had been declared prior to the party to the hotel) and the staff struggled to grasp this and did try to serve her food that she couldn't eat. This happened a couple of times but was sorted by the supervisor quite quickly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review.
I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable New Year at the Hotel and I will ensure your kind comments, and feedback are passed onto my team.
I do hope we can welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Steve Woodrow - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whiteley
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
3.4 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,361 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,026 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solent Hotel & Spa

Property: Solent Hotel & Spa
Address: Rookery Avenue, Whiteley, Fareham PO15 7AJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham > Whiteley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiteley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Solent Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the AA Hotel Group Of The Year 2016/2017, Thwaites Hotel's luxurious 4 star Solent Hotel and Spa nestles in acres of glorious Hampshire woodland and provides a haven of peace and tranquillity for both business and leisure guests. Located just minutes from Junction 9 of the M27 motorway, the Hotel is midway between Southampton and Portsmouth, and less than thirty minutes from the New Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Solent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solent Hotel And Spa
Solent Hotel Whiteley
Solent Hotel & Spa Whiteley, Fareham, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing