We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and over rated”
Review of Solent Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiteley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel looked quite good on the internet but was disappointed on arrival. Stayed in executive family suite (family of four). Pros: Staff were friendly. Food in restaurant was good but a bit overpriced. Must try: sticky toffee pudding and ice cream - delicious. Nice gifts for children on arrival - cookie and chocolates - a nice surprise. Swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi were clean. Cons: Room was a bit dated. Pull out bed - mattress was too small for frame. No extractor fan in bathroom. Tiles missing and cracked in bathroom. Signs of mildew around bath tub. Unhygienic and mouldy shower curtain. Asked for soya milk - the staff put 2 uncovered glasses in the fridge - would have rathered a carton or covered glass. Last booking in restaurant for families with kids under 12 is 7pm and you need to be gone by 8pm. You can eat in the bar instead (which has the same menu and is quiet) but not the same. Would not call this a great 4 star hotel - average... yes - great... no!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reah1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I was disappointed to read that you found the hotel to be over priced and over rated, we certainly strive to provide the best level of product and service at the very best price. I was pleased to read that you appreciated the 'little touches' we provide for our younger guests and that you enjoyed dinner in the restaurant, particularly the sticky toffee pudding (it is good!)

I am sorry that the standards in the bedroom were not as they should have been, I will investigate this with our Head Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager and ensure we rectify this.

I do hope that you will consider returning to the Solent Hotel so that we can showcase our normally high standards.

Kind regards,


Steve Woodrow - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Myself, partner and 2 children stayed for two nights. We received a warm welcome, the extra effort to make the little ones feel special was brilliant. They loved wearing bathrobes to the spa area. The staff couldn't have been more helpful especially the reception staff who really went above and beyond to make our stay stress free!
Breakfast service was frustrating but our evening meals were fantastic and very reasonable prices.
Our little vip's can not wait to visit the solent hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parsonsgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. At Shire Hotels we understand it is the small details that make a big difference and I am glad you appreciated the little touches we like to provide for our younger guests, we believe they are 'little v.i.p's' too!

I will ensure I pass you kind comments onto the team, particularly reception as I am happy they were able to assist with a stress free stay.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,


Steve Woodrow - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Lovely hotel, ideal for a stopover for the cruise port at Southampton, which is what we booked it for. Really nice touches for the kids with cookies (with their names on them), drinks and chocolates waiting for them in the room. Good quality spa, good pub on site for evening meals, quality breakfasts and a good sized, well equipped room with fresh milk for teas & coffees, need I say more. Oh and good value too. Very happy start to our holiday and Thank you Solent Hotel & Spa.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank GlynnWillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am really pleased that we were able to get your holiday off to a great start. It is the little touches that make all the difference and I am glad your children enjoyed the little 'treats' we like to provide.

I do hope that you can plan a return visit to us again soon.

Kind regards,


Steve Woodrow - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I've stayed here several times before with work. It's a very nice hotel with reasonably good sized rooms and my preferred hotel. Beds are comfortable, room and bathroom very clean. Breakfast is very good a acceptable value for the price. This is ideally located for me with a few minute drive to the office. There's a pub situated on the edge of the car park which is ok as an alternative to eating and drinking in the hotel.

Room Tip: There's supposed to be free wifi but I couldn't access it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that you find our location and facilities ideal and that we are your preferred hotel in the area!

I note you had difficulty trying to connect our complimentary Wi-Fi, should you have difficulties in the future please contact reception where we will be more than happy to help you get online.

We looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,


Steve Woodrow - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Overall, my five friends and I had a nice experience at this spa, however we did encounter some trouble throughout the day. Firstly, when we arrived the staff seemed baffled by our booking as the person who took it hadn't booked us in properly. After waiting in reception for twenty minutes it was sorted and we were taken in to a waiting room where two members of our party were told they couldn't be given robes as they weren't having treatments and because of the initial confusion. We were also booked in for afternoon tea at 2:15pm. When we sat down in the restaurant at this time, nobody came to serve us or clear our table for a good 20 minutes until I got up to ask the receptionist if he could send somebody. Our food then came out before our drinks. A few of the girls also ordered chips which didn't come out for another 40 minutes because the waiter admitted he had forgotten to put them on the order.

Overall the treatments were lovely and the spa and its location is a perfect retreat. However I did feel that the service was a bit slow and unorganised due to perhaps lacking of management?

On the other hand I would return here again in the hope that I would have a more relaxing and smooth experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your spa day with us was not as it should have been, I will review this with the team and I would like to apologise for the confusion and delay in service.

I am pleased to read that you would consider returning to us again, should you decide to book then please do let me know so that I can ensure your experience is a lot smoother second time round.

Kind regards,


Steve Woodrow - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Delightful hotel with all the quality and facilities we expect from Shire Hotels. Just spent one night here but everything you needed was to hand and we had time to use the pool and sauna.

Had a great night's sleep and a lovely breakfast outside on the terrace. Found it strange that the breakfast was essentially a buffet but every item was served by a member of staff. I would have thought it better for both sides if the customer were allowed to serve themselves directly.

There did seem to be insufficient staff for Monday breakfast but maybe a lot of people arrived at the same time.

Would certainly recommend this hotel and will visit again when next in the area.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, at Shire Hotels we believe that it is the small details that make a big difference and I am glad you found this to be the case here at the Solent Hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,


Steve Woodrow - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have used this hotel on and off for 10 years or more. The rooms are quiet and comfortable (great beds!) and the aircon works well, even in the current heatwave. The staff generally continue to perform their roles in a friendly and professional manner. The breakfast is invariably good and the chaps who serve the food are delightful. If the female breakfast staff smiled and made it seem that they enjoyed their job, the place would be perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazdoc999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your review. As a loyal guest of over ten years it is pleasing to read that over that period you have found that our product and service to be consistently good. It is always a pleasure to welcome familiar faces back to the hotel and we very much hope you continue to enjoy the hotel facilities for a further ten years and more!

I will be sure to share you comments with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,


Steve Woodrow - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whiteley
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
3.4 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,174 reviews
3.6 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,434 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solent Hotel & Spa

Address: Rookery Avenue, Whiteley, Fareham PO15 7AJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham > Whiteley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiteley
Price Range: £95 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solent Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the AA Hotel Group Of The Year 2016/2017, Thwaites Hotel's luxurious 4 star Solent Hotel and Spa nestles in acres of glorious Hampshire woodland and provides a haven of peace and tranquillity for both business and leisure guests. Located just minutes from Junction 9 of the M27 motorway, the Hotel is midway between Southampton and Portsmouth, and less than thirty minutes from the New Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solent Hotel And Spa
Solent Hotel Whiteley
Solent Hotel & Spa Whiteley, Fareham, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing