We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Solent Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiteley
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

After having an amazing wedding reception here 2 years ago. We decided to stay here each anniversary.
We had a massage each and I still feel relaxed 2 days later. We enjoyed the gym and the pool too.

The room was clean and well equipped.
The hotel exudes class but still has a level of homeliness which is partly due to the well trained and friendly staff who can't be faulted for anything.

The breakfast was varied and very tasty.

Well be back ASAP.

Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for your very kind review.

We were delighted to welcome you back again two years after having your wedding with us, and I am pleased to read you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

I have passed on your review to all my team, who are as delighted as I am with this level of praise.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Kind regards
Steve Woodrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    305
    117
    44
    30
See reviews for
304
282
25
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed here for one night after visiting Peppa Pig world at paultons park with our 2 and 4 year old and it takes about 20 mins to drive from the park. I was a little worried about choosing a spa hotel with children but couldn't have been more wrong. Staff went out of their way to accommodate us, there were cookies, milk and snacks in the room for the children which they loved! Breakfast was wonderful great selection and all really nice. Rooms were lovely and clean with great air conditioning. We were given a ground floor family room with a double bed and sofa bed. The sofa bed wasn't that comfortable but the kids found it ok, the double bed was really comfortable. Swimming pool was really warm with a separate toddler pool. Wish we could have stayed longer, would totally recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay with us whilst visiting Peppa Pig World, and your little one's were pleased with the warm milk, cookies and snacks that are standard for all families when staying at Shire Hotels.

I shall pass on your positive feedback to all my team.

I do hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Steve Woodrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Lovely,clean room with very comfortable bed. The restaurant has a great menu and beautiful food with lots of gluten free choices. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating. We didn't use the spa but the facilities looked amazing. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizparkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank your for your kind review.

I am very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and our facilities, service provided and food enjoyed ensured you had relaxing break.

I am sorry you did not have time to use the Spa on this occasion, so I trust you will when you stay with us again!

Kind regards
Steve Woodrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a family wedding in a local church with the reception being held at The Solent Hotel.
We were unlucky to be allocated a fairly dark room (room 100) for our two night stay (brick wall outside partially obscured the window). I would like to point out that the room was a bit shabby and could do with a makeover.
We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and the food was mixed to say the least. My choice was good and I enjoyed, my wife found her chicken to be on the cold side and two of our family had the same problem.
The drinks were VERY expensive which meant that at the Wedding Reception, we did not drink as much as we could have - maybe no bad thing!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and the wedding was a success. I am grateful for your comments regarding dinner and will discuss this with my team. Bar prices are very much in line with 4* Hotels within our area, and we aim to be competitive whilst offering a very good level of service.

I do hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Steve Woodrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We were staying 2 nights for a golden wedding anniversary. Our room was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant the first night and the food was wonderful. The golden wedding was held in the Hambleton suite. We had a lovely meal and dancing afterwards.
We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rchrdsr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your very praising review.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable two night stay with us, and both the hotel facilities and service plus the golden wedding event you were part of, were a success.

I shall be sure to pass on your kind feedback to all my team.

Kind regards
Steve Woodrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Just got back from the Solent Spa Hotel, had a lovely two night break with my husband and two kids aged 13 and 9. The hotel itself is lovely and the staff very friendly, the spa was really nice, i had a lovely time in the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna and had a bit of a swim, i liked the fact that it was laned off so people could swim lengths if they wanted whilst kids could play on the other side. Floats and the toys are only allowed for an hour in the morning but there was a family that ignored that rule and got them out anyway and everyone else joined in as well until the manager came out and said they needed to be put away! The only mistake I made here was not booking treatments in advance, I thought it would be ok to leave it til i got there but it was fully booked, there was a wedding going on so obviously the wedding parties had booked them all up and the spa was closed for treatments on bank holiday monday which I thought was a bit silly as the rest of the hotel was open so why not also open the spa on one of the busiest days of the year! We ate in the restaurant one night and in the bar the next. The food was really nice and quite reasonable we also drank alot and the bill wasn't that high. I have read reviews that have said it was very pricey but to be honest it was London prices which we are used to being from London so for us it was fine. The room was fine and big enough for a family but the bunk beds were ridiculously noisy so I would recommend going for the sofa bed option when booking a family room. Dont go for the bunk beds unless you have a 5 and 6 year old as with the older kids the weight of them makes them creak and squeak all night. The rooms do get really hot so on the second night we put the aircon on before we left for the evening to cool the room down and turned it off when we got back and the room was fine. The espa shower gels and shampoos in the bathroom were divine. We didnt have breakfast as we thought £12 each to preebook or £14 to just decide on the morning was a bit too steep so instead we went down to the Whiteleys shopping centre literally 5 mins away for breakfast in deans diner which was lush! We popped into the pub on site to have a look and maybe order some food but because it was bank holiday monday they had stopped serving food at 6! Also the restaurant in the main hotel asks that familys with children under 12 eat between 6 and 7.15! That i thought was a bit rude but as my 9 year old son looks and is the height of a 12 year old we got away with it! You can eat in the bar area with kids at any time though and it is a lovely area to sit in. On the whole a lovely stay, and would really recommend the Solent Spa hotel for a relaxing break, next time I will leave the kids at home and book my treatments in advance!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank andreaemilyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

I was delighted to read you had an enjoyable family break here at the Hotel, and your kind comments are very much appreciated. I will ensure all of the team see you feedback.

I am sorry you were not able to have any treatments due to us been fully booked, so when you do return, I would recommend you book these in advance of your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Steve Woodrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel. The quality of the food, both in restaurant and bar is great. Had one of the best steaks ever. The Sunday lunches are very good. The restaurant decor is good and the level of service is high with friendly trained staff.
The amenities are very good too. A good gym nice pool and spa facilities.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_Fareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your tripadvisor review.

I am delighted to read as you live locally to the Hotel, that you visit us on a regular basis and enjoy the facilities and food and service we offer our guests.

I note your comments regarding our steaks (thank you) and we source all our meats from quality and very reputable local butchers.

We hope to see you back again in the Hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Steve Woodrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whiteley
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
3.4 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,394 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,098 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solent Hotel & Spa

Property: Solent Hotel & Spa
Address: Rookery Avenue, Whiteley, Fareham PO15 7AJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham > Whiteley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiteley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Solent Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the AA Hotel Group Of The Year 2016/2017, Thwaites Hotel's luxurious 4 star Solent Hotel and Spa nestles in acres of glorious Hampshire woodland and provides a haven of peace and tranquillity for both business and leisure guests. Located just minutes from Junction 9 of the M27 motorway, the Hotel is midway between Southampton and Portsmouth, and less than thirty minutes from the New Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solent Hotel And Spa
Solent Hotel Whiteley
Solent Hotel & Spa Whiteley, Fareham, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing