We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another superb visit.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Pierre White Wheelers of St. James

Marco Pierre White Wheelers of St. James
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Yateley
Price range: US$17 - US$69
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Marco Pierre White Wheeler’s of St James’s restaurant Yateley, Camberley is open for lunch, afternoon tea or dinner seven days a week.The restaurant caters for all, with stylish and comfortable dining, with the emphasis on British and French classics in Marco’s trademark style.All dishes on the menu use seasonal produce, sourced locally where possible, so diners can be assured of honest, high quality food at affordable prices. As well as our A la carte menu, there is a menu du jour and a traditional Sunday lunch menu offering something to suit all appetites and pockets.
Yateley
Level Contributor
246 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Another superb visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We have been to this restaurant many times both before and after becoming Wheelers. We always loved the old restaurant, though it did need changing. Since the extensive refurb and change on Menus we have been about 5 times. We are always greeted by friendly staff even if we are going or be using a Gourmet card and this time was no different. The food was very good, I had the yellow fin Tuna which was cooked pink as I like it and Hubby had the Fish and Chips, which were excellent. The service was very good and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Will we go again. You bet, in fact we have already booked another visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank aitchraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCasaManager, Guest Relations Manager at Marco Pierre White Wheelers of St. James, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Aitchraz

Thank you so much for your review.
The team and I are delighted you had a great time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    115
    82
    67
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb food, some iffy staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I went for lunch,using an Amazon Local voucher. We were greeted by a waiter who said sneeringly," Oh, you have some sort of voucher", which came close to an unpleasant incident. If Marco Pierre White does not wish people to use such vouchers, then why issue them??
However,things got a lot better from then on. The three course set lunch was superb.The duck rillette,steak and cream brulee were all excellent. Very generous portions.beautifully cooked and presented.The waiter, a different one to the clown who greeted us, was polite and charming. One minor gripe was the addition of 12.5% "Gratuity", I believe customers should add their own tip, not be dictated to. Overall,well recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HughHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCasaManager, Guest Relations Manager at Marco Pierre White Wheelers of St. James, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Hugh

Thank you so much for your review.
The team are delighted you had a great experience and I wish to note that your comments regarding your initial welcome have indeed been addressed.

Do come again.

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel during Royal Ascot week. I then looked on Tripadvisor. It had been slated good and proper! SO I was dreading the place, in the end just went for it.
It was a busy place. The hotel has been part refurbished (bathrooms).

We had supper in the restaurant. Only had a main course, but it was very good. Good enough to tell the chef of it's quality. I had the Dover Sole and my wife had the Mushroom risotto. Equally breakfast was good. The service was excellent, but failed to check our table.

Yes I would return here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramrap10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCasaManager, Guest Relations Manager at Marco Pierre White Wheelers of St. James, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear marzi P

Thank you so much for your review.
We are thrilled you had an enjoyable experience and do hope to see you again.

The team at The Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“OK but only just”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We used an Amazon Local special offer voucher for lunch. The restaurant was clean and bright but if Marco Pierre White puts his name to this Restaurant then perhaps he might like to eat there.
On arrival we were seated and asked if we would like a drink. We declined but asked for a large bottle of sparkling water. The bottle never appeared but instead 2 pint glasses of sparkling water arrived which we thought was odd.
Next we were allowed strictly one roll each.
The mackerel mouse was not mousse at all but rather mashed up mackerel.
The lamb leg was so overcooked as to be tasteless.

Overall the food was very disappointing and had we had to pay full price we would have complained bitterly.
The coffee came in breakfast cups and was forgotten when the bill came.
The bill came just as a piece of paper - not in a cover or on a plate.

Would we go back - no. Were the staff pleasant - yes but very undertrained. Were the management eager to please - there appeared to be no management on site.

Ok but only just OK.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank normalNW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCasaManager, Guest Relations Manager at Marco Pierre White Wheelers of St. James, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Normal

Thank you for your review.
We are indeed going through a substantial change which not only includes a New Head Chef but also a new Restaurant Management team .. All of this is part of a long term plan to work with our new General Manager on a complete refurbishment and re-launch of our restaurant to take things to a new level.
We have many frequent regular guests who keep returning due to fantastic experiences they have with us. I am sorry that we seem to have let you down on a couple of points and do hope it wont actually deter you from visiting again in the coming months ..

Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely fathers day treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We took my dad here for lunch and we all had a fantastic meal with great friendly service and beautiful food!
The staff were very knowledgeable about the food and ingrediants as iam allergic to gluten and oranges this is very important and they put me at ease.
We all had 3 courses which was a set price of £29.95 and for what we ate we all thought it was very reasonable!
We will definatly be back .

Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCasaManager, Guest Relations Manager at Marco Pierre White Wheelers of St. James, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Emily P

Thank you so much for your review.
We are thrilled you had a great time and hope you may come and see us again ....

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marco Pierre White Wheelers of St. James also viewed

 
Eversley Cross, Hampshire
 
Yateley, Hampshire
Yateley, Hampshire
 

Been to Marco Pierre White Wheelers of St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing