We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than last time.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Pierre White Wheelers of St. James

Marco Pierre White Wheelers of St. James
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Yateley
Price range: US$17 - US$69
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Marco Pierre White Wheeler’s of St James’s restaurant Yateley, Camberley is open for lunch, afternoon tea or dinner seven days a week.The restaurant caters for all, with stylish and comfortable dining, with the emphasis on British and French classics in Marco’s trademark style.All dishes on the menu use seasonal produce, sourced locally where possible, so diners can be assured of honest, high quality food at affordable prices. As well as our A la carte menu, there is a menu du jour and a traditional Sunday lunch menu offering something to suit all appetites and pockets.
Hamsphire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Much better than last time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have been to Casa a number of times, both before Marco Pierre White took over and after. We use to love it but was so disappointed with the menu and service after it changed hands. However we were delighted by our experience last night.
We wanted somewhere nice for a special occasion and thought we would give this 'one more chance', and how glad we are!
The menu was much improved and all sounded delicious, the service was great; friendly and attentive without being pushy. The price reflects the fact that the restaurant carries the Marco Pierre White name.
We will be going back. So pleased it is back to the standard it use to be.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank weezadance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCasaManager, General Manager at Marco Pierre White Wheelers of St. James, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Weezadance

Thank you for your review.
Our new Head Chef who is only 2 weeks into his role is thrilled to read your comments.
We are working to replace and retrain a substantial portion of the team in our food and beverage department and hope that the hard work and dedication will continue to improve our product.

Do come and see us again.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    115
    82
    67
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea...missing the cakes!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had Amazon vouchers for afternoon tea, however I presume we were given the same food and service that we could expect without the vouchers. Our tea was slow arriving, we had to ask for our food. We were never offered more tea, we had to keep asking for top ups... Although 6 of us, I would have preferred the food to be served in the traditional afternoon tea way, rather than on what looked like large meat serving plates. Sandwiches were very good and bread fresh, no sign of dried edges (which has happened elsewhere), so a 5* for those. Scones were ENORMOUS, (mine slighty gooey and undercooked inside!) completely wrong for English afternoon tea. Jam very tasty. As for cakes, well there weren't any!!!! We were given a small glass of custard and fruit topped with cream. 4 of the 6 remained uneaten. There were 6 squares of very dark bitter chocolate on a small biscuit, which I presume could be called a cake, but surely not for a traditional English tea. Only 1 of those was eaten completely. Their afternoon tea advertisement pictured food that is nothing like we were served unfortunately. They even listed home made cakes which we didn't get. We were not asked if we enjoyed our tea, as I might have been tempted to say something. I have eaten in the restaurant many times before but will not be having afternoon tea there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCasaManager, General Manager at Marco Pierre White Wheelers of St. James, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Mary N

A complete oversight on our part ! ... The cakes were clearly missed off by our new team,
In the past month we have replaced the entire kitchen team including the Head Chef who is delighted you enjoyed his huge scones ! ...
Please do contact me directly so that I may invite you back to see you great his cakes are to !

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unplanned dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Whilst staying in the hotel for a wedding we had not planned to dine on the night before the event. It was an unexpected pleasure to find the Marco restaurant onsite. A great meal with some really enjoyable wine. Some of the staff are clearly very new so service was not perfect but I am sure they will get there. My wife loved the eton mess.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCasaManager, General Manager at Marco Pierre White Wheelers of St. James, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Steve

Many thanks for your review.
The new team are working very hard to create fantastic dining experiences and we are therefore thrilled you had a great time.

Do come again soon.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner & afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a really nice set menu dinner and afternoon tea here as part of a competition prize that I won.

Every course for dinner was delicious and expertly presented. The waitering staff were attentive without being intrusive. We were given a free bottle of house white wine which my fiancée said was very nice. We were also given plenty of time between courses before the next one was brought out so as to have not felt rushed.

As it was a prize that I won we were limited with the choice of food which was disappointing. However, what we were offered we were thoroughly impressed with once we had eaten it.

Afternoon tea was served on the decking area outside the restaurant. We were treated to courses of sandwiches and two glasses of champagne. Followed by a selection of cakes and scones with clotted cream.
The afternoon tea in all was extremely good and to be able to sit in the sunshine on the decking area was a bonus.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben7884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCasaManager, General Manager at Marco Pierre White Wheelers of St. James, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Ben

We are so pleased you enjoyed your dining experiences and we hope to see you both again in the not too distant future.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Meal out”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a special meal booked one week or so ago, to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary but when getting to the hotel we had been met by a young blonde girl with real attitude on the reception, she was very forward with her remarks as though she she knew us, when i said to her she was a bit forward and should kerb her attitude she said whatever and moaned about rubbish hours and poor job, my wife was very upset i think her name was emily? Darren.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montecristo52014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCasaManager, General Manager at Marco Pierre White Wheelers of St. James, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Darren (which we know is not your name)

I appreciate that when your advances on a young lady are declined consistently it can be upsetting and frustrating. I would however suggest you find alternative outlets to vent that disappointment other than tripadvisor. Please cease from harassing my reception girls.

Fake reviews will never be taken seriously by anyone.

Many thanks

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marco Pierre White Wheelers of St. James also viewed

 
Eversley Cross, Hampshire
 
Yateley, Hampshire
Yateley, Hampshire
 

Been to Marco Pierre White Wheelers of St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing