We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”
Review of The Casa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Casa Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yateley
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Over from Canada for a wedding at the Rivervale Barn we, along with other members of the family, stayed at this hotel. Upon checking in, we asked if there was a lift, as we had large suitcases with us but we had a curt "No!". The room, once we found it with the odd numbering system, was ok at best. We needed the fan on all night as it was so hot, no tissues, no notepaper or pens. Coming from Canada, we are used to these things in all hotel rooms, even budget hotels. The bathroom had nowhere to lay anything, toilet bags had to perch on top of the toilet or on the floor, the light above the mirror did not work, soap was in a container attached to the wall above the bath. Ok for having a shower, but if you had a bath you had to stand up to get soap. Towel rail above the bath at a height of about 6', no toiletries i.e. Shampoo, Conditioner, Shower Cap etc. Remember this is not a budget hotel! And, one pillow each looking lost on a big bed.
The staff were curt when asked for anything. The breakfast was cold, as the burners under the chafing dishes were not on.
We had to check out early, before the hotel was up and about, as we had an early flight but heard from other family members that the breakfast fiasco got worse the next day with no seats available and staff clearing breakfast away before guests had eaten!
Would we stay there again, I don't think so, there's way better value for money out there and the management need to seriously look around to see how other hotels are run and you really should be able to get mobile phone and internet service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmabroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen-Brooks123, Manager at The Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Thank you for your review.
We are always sorry to hear that a guest has been disappointed with their stay at The Casa Hotel.
I would like to apologise that you weren't able to use the lift as it was being serviced at the time, this should have been explained to you.
Regarding the lack of notepaper and other facilities in the room, we are currently in the process of rebranding the Hotel and are looking into providing guest facilities with the new logos on.
The building is very old, therefore we do sometimes have some problems with mobile phone signal. We have wi fi available in all public areas and plug in broad band in the bedrooms for guest use.
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to The Casa Hotel in the future.
Kind regards

Helen Brooks
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    152
    133
    83
    82
See reviews for
130
216
15
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Wentto brothers wedding and was very impressed with team who looked after the guests. The waiters and waitresses were polite and charming with the kids. The management have a great team. Many thanks

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyweasel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen-Brooks123, Manager at The Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Thank you very much for your review and your kind comments, which have been passed on to our staff.
It was a pleasure to host your brother's wedding and we are very glad that you enjoyed the day.
We hope to welcome you back to The Casa Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The good:
Great location for Riverdale Barn
Tucked away in a quiet spot
Spacious room
Decent menu in the restaurant

The bad:
Room incredibly hot
Bit of a rabbit warren and very odd sequence to room numbering
Bar not permanently staffed so could be a long wait for service
Found the staff on occasion to be a bit abrasive

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raymond1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen-Brooks123, Manager at The Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Thank you very much for your review.
We receive many wedding accommodation bookings from Rivervale Barn and The New Mill, because as you mentioned, we are in a great location, very close by.
The Casa Hotel is an old building and many of our guests think that 'being a bit of a rabbit warren' adds to it's charm.
Following your review, we have made sure that our bar is always staffed in the evenings for the ease of our guests.
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Casa Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Stayed for 1 night after attending a wedding at the Rivervale Barn.
The hotel is about 10 minutes drive from the Barn, so is a very convienient place to stay. A taxi home from the Barn was approx. £10 at midnight.

Before booking I asked if we could have a 'bulk buy' discount by booking multiple rooms for wedding guests. I was offered a reduced rate of £75/night, however, this is still more than when booking via a 'cashback' website - so booked via hotels.com clicking through from topcashback.co.uk.

We also requested an early checkin due to the wedding starting at 1pm, however, the hotel was unable to commit to this prior to our arrival. However, on our arrival at 12.30pm we were able to checkin to our room, much to our relief as we didnt fancy checking in at midnight.

1st impressions of the room were good.
However, on returning after the wedding we noticed that the room was very hot, managed to open the window, but due to a locking mechanism on the window it could only be opened a crack - resulting in a very sweaty nights sleep.
In the morning we discovered that there was a/c in the room (doh!), but on turning it on it was very noisey and had one temperature setting of 21C - which is still too hot for me.
From 'earwigging' at breakfast learnt that we werent the only guests that were too warm, and those who discovered the a/c turned it off for being too noisey.

The bathroom met expectations, however, we were only provided with 1 bath and 1 hand towel - we were 2 people, so would have liked a towel each! The shower was also quite powerful, so much so that the shower screen on the bath is not sufficient and we managed to get water all over the floor. I can understand why the hotel has choosen a screen over a shower curtain, but they may need to rethink due to the amount of water on the floor, and the tiles on the floor becoming slippery when wet.

The inside of the hotel is like a maze, and not well signposted, we get lost on our way to and from breakfast.

Breakfast was fine, hot food cooked to order.

Would I stay here again...... possibly if I was attending another wedding in Yateley.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuthbert_the_octopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I booked a table for 10 people for lunch last sunday, i must say i was more than pleased.
the surroundings of the hotel are beautiful, the staff attentive and the food exceptional.
All in all a wonderful experience that i will be repeating very soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

six of us were there for a family birthday lunch , but the service - altho obsequious - was poor and the food worse than most pubs. We were roughly told to go back to the bar when we wandered in and tried to find someone. We had pre ordered a glass each of bubbly - but were served the whole bottle without being asked, the food was served sloppily, and having let slip that it was mothers birthday at the start - at the end he produced a slice of cake - on its side with 4 candles stuck in it.....when we left I had to hunt for my coat in a side room ( while he rushed back to find his tip?).
The food was pooly presented and mine was totally tasteless. The childs spagetti looked unappatising and seemed to be, the salad was poor, vegetables overcooked
( for which you pay extra) and the ice creams served as in a cafe... no attempt at presentation.
Overall expensive for a mediocer meal.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antrobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen-Brooks123, Manager at The Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2011
Thank you for your review.
We are very sorry that you have had a negative experience at The Casa Hotel.
Please contact me at your earliest convenience to discuss this - sales@casadeicesari.co.uk.

Helen Brooks
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yateley hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Booked 4 rooms for a family occasion. It certainly doesn't live up to it's name, house of the emperors. The rooms were 'tired' to put it politely, when we could find them. The welcome folder was full of spelling and grammatical errors. The internet didn't work. It was impossible to get a phone signal. The disabled room was not easily accessible; the wash hand basin had no plug. There was no double glazing or air conditioning; this meant having the windows open at night and being woken up at 2 o-clock in the morning by the bin men!
The 'residents menu' was so appealling that we went out to another restaurant for our evening meal. Breakfast on the first morning was a buffet style; at least the scrambled egg wasn't grey. On the second morning breakfast was 'to order' but the foreign staff couldn't understand instructions so none of us got what we ordered.
Even with a substantial discount for block bookings, (other family members had also booked), it was overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chilternprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenmichele1983, Manager at The Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Thank you for your review.
We are currently in the middle of a big change here at 'The Casa.'
We have a new management team in place as of this week, who are working hard to address the issues that you have raised.
Please do contact me at your earliest convenience (sales@casadeicesari.co.uk) to discuss your experience at the Hotel and to see if we can change your opinion for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yateley
0.6 mi away
The Ely
The Ely
#1 of 2 in Yateley
569 reviews
3.1 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
89 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,909 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crowthorne
187 reviews
4.3 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Casa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Casa Hotel

Property: The Casa Hotel
Address: Handford Lane | Cricket Hill, Yateley GU46 6BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Yateley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yateley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Casa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own large tranquil and rural grounds, The Casa Hotel is known for its excellent cuisine, accommodation and calm, traditional atmosphere. Home to Marco Pierre White's Wheeler's of St. James restaurant and boasting a purpose event and meeting space that can cater for up to 150 guests The Casa is the ideal choice for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Casa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dei Cesari Yateley
The Casa Hotel Yateley, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing