We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit to this place, hopefully the last.”
Review of The Casa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Casa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yateley
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Out of date and out of touch. My first visit earlier in the year the room was bad, smelling of cigarette smoke and I was woken by the staff flinging bottles in the recycling. The most resent stay, the room was worse;-really cold with no apparent method of rectifying this, and the flimsy curtains did nothing to keep the ultra bright outside light from shining in the room.
Food; pretentious presentation did nothing to improve the lacklustre evening menu.

Neither time did the staff enquire if I had enjoyed the stay when I checked out – probably best not to ask...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horace_Bismire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen-Brooks123, Manager at The Casa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are very disappointed to hear that you have no enjoyed either of your stays with us.

Since February 2013, all hotel bedrooms are non smoking.
All rooms in the hotel do have heating, which is either controlled by radiators, or with air conditioning in the executive rooms.
We have an extensive A La Carte menu and a Table D'Hote menu, which changes daily, as well as a bar menu and room service menu. Our Executive Head Chef does strive to create menus for that cater for the majority of our guests and was also disappointed to see your comments.

With a new A La Carte menu being launched in April, we very much hope that we will have the opportunity to change your negative opinions.

Yours sincerely

Helen Geere
Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

The initial impression of this hotel is "Ye olde Worlde", quite quaint with a traditional english feel.
Room was large with all services at hand. Clean and comfortable. Unfortunately the room was becoming very tired and in desperate need of a refurb (as admitted within the guests information) Bathroom had some mould (from age, not dirt). I was only staying one evening for a business trip, but wouldn't want to stay any longer.

I personally would prefer a travel lodge, or premier in. The value is better, whilst all the rooms would be clean, tidy and modern. £80 per night does not offer good value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wil_C_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen-Brooks123, Manager at The Casa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
We are always disappointed to hear when a guest hasn't enjoyed their stay.

We have brand new carpets in all of our standard rooms, flat screen tv's in all rooms and new complimentary Wi fi. We also have a bathroom refurbishment planned for the very near future.

We hope that you will consider The Casa Hotel for future reservations, so you can see the improvements for yourself.

Kind regards

Helen Geere
Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Superb food,pleasant staff, clean and comfortable room,excellent value for money. Not a place to spend all day in perhaps but a comfortable base for visiting the area or for business travellers.It is not a modern hotel with bright decor and would benefit from a makeover if the money was available. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This hotel brings a new meaning to "Shabby Chic" - more shabby than chic. Food and service was okay but unfortunately the tired decor in the bedrooms, moldy bath seals and half finished repairs spoilt the lovely impression of this old listed building. Issues with lack of hot water attributed to it be a listed building and rooms so small they would only accommodate standard double beds at a push. One of our guests even had a room with no windows. If you want to wine and dine your partner in a character restaurant fine if trying to impress and stay the night don't expect to impress them with the accommodation. This hotel has so much potential if the owners would spend some money on maintenance the accommodation does not reflect the quality of the restaurant or food and I was embarrassed to have housed our guests there:(

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen-Brooks123, Manager at The Casa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Dear Karen,

Thank you for your review of the hotel, we are so sorry to hear that your guests didnt enjoy their stay.
The venue where your daughter chose to hold her wedding use the hotel very frequently for accommodation and it is very unusual to receive feedback such as this.
We take cleanliness and maintenance issues very seriously at the hotel and we are disappointed that we didnt meet your expectations, particularly as we pride ourselves on our high standards and would never leave any repair unfinished. Other reviews continually mention how clean our bedrooms are.
Once again, thank you for your review.

Yours sincerely

Helen Geere
Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

My party of 10, mostly septuagenarians, enjoyed one of the best New Year celebrations compared against so many from so many previous years! Food and entertainment unsurprisingly priced appropriate to the time of year but still excellent value for money. The bonus of a modern excellent twin room complete with an English breakfast for £50 was virtually covered by the lack of taxi fares.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Comfortable cosy rooms, very quiet wooded location, attentive reception staff. Old style hotel building, lots of winding corridors dark wood and beams. Lovely warm room, loads of hot water for soak in the bath, tea and coffee making stuff, free Wi Fi with good speed in the room and an iron and ironing board as well ! We enjoyed an excellent cooked English breakfast every morning. The dining room looked splendid but we didnt try it on this trip.

Room Tip: Due to quiet wooded location, all rooms are likely to be quiet. Some involve a lot of corridor walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

An excellent value for money hotel with a surprising overnight rate including breakfast.

I stayed on business and was in room 10, which I think was partly refurbished with flat screen tv. Carpets and bending had been upgraded as per website. Bed was reasonably comfortable, pillows good. Wardrobes and fittings were more tired but were functional, steam iron and board both present which is good as so many hotels now only offer non-steam irons.

There are gaps under the door where corridor lighting can be seen shining through, however a rolled up towel is effective. This is a very common issue with many many hotels.

Early in the morning there was some noise outside which may have been bins being emptied, however this may only have been a weekly event. It won't concern the early riser on business but if looking for a lie in it may have been an unwelcomed intrusion.

Only downside in bathroom was the shaver/toothbrush charger socket was little loose, however, with a little ingenuity I was able to 'cobble' up a little balancing act to ensure the charging continued.

Food at dinner was very good standard and it is clear that this is a popular dining spot for locals. Good choice from both table dote and a la carte menus.

Breakfast was a bit of a mixture of cereal buffet and cooked to order. I ordered a cooked breakfast and it arrived in five minutes with eggs perfectly cooked, quite impressed.



Stayed: January 2013
Thank FlyingScotsmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen-Brooks123, Manager at The Casa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

All of our rooms have been recently recarpeted and have new flat screen tv's and Wi Fi. There are also plans to refurbish some of the bathrooms in due course.

As soon as we were made aware of the loose connection in the shaver socket, this was fixed by our maintenance team, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to The Casa in the near future.

Kind regards

Helen Geere
Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yateley
0.6 mi away
The Ely Hotel
The Ely Hotel
#4 of 8 in Camberley
617 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
3.1 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
3.5 mi away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#2 of 4 in Fleet
728 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aviator
Aviator
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Casa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Casa Hotel

Address: Handford Lane | Cricket Hill, Yateley GU46 6BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Yateley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yateley
Price Range: £82 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Casa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own large tranquil and rural grounds, The Casa Hotel is known for its excellent cuisine, accommodation and calm, traditional atmosphere. Home to Marco Pierre White's Wheeler's of St. James restaurant and boasting a purpose event and meeting space that can cater for up to 150 guests The Casa is the ideal choice for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Casa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dei Cesari Yateley
The Casa Hotel Yateley, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing