We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of The Ely

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ely
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yateley
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Although remote location,we were made very welcome.
This was a Bank Holiday stay.Old English inns& very good value for money.
They had meal offers of two mains for £9.95.With Sunday carvery.The staff were all English & very helpfull.
Entertainment on the Sunday evening was a special.

Room Tip: We had room 5,Avoid as it's close to the staff room.Suggest rear better location,less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulD02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

we had our wedding here on the 4th and all we can say is WOW the staff, service, clenliness, and food were all top notch!!! because of the professionalism of there staff our big day was the best that it could possibly be!! the staff stayed late to help set up the night before and worked there hardest to make it the best it could be!! cannot rate this hotel, bar and resteraunt any higher!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emma y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Four of us stayed at The Ely on the 28th April 2013. The rooms were clean and bright but the taps in the bathroom could do with replacing. The beds were comfortable but a blanket would have been nice as I don't like sleeping with the heating on and it was cold that night. We chose this hotel because of the value and reviews and we were not disappointed. Breakfast was good with lots of choice and very friendly accommodating staff. The location of the hotel was ideal for us as we were going to spend the following day in Windsor and then on to Heathrow in the evening. Will definitely recommend The Ely to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building and away from the corridor doors are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We needed a stopover hotel for one night on Sunday 28th April and booked the Ely as it was good value for money and had good reviews. The pub is at the front, with the accommodation and plenty of car parking at the rear. When we arrived there was no-one at reception but the girl arrived after a few minutes and was very apologetic. We saw her a few times as we were coming and going and she was really friendly and cheerful.

The room was a lovely size with a sofa and chair, large TV, ironing board, hairdryer, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits. The bed was really comfortable and there was no road noise at all despite being near a main road. The bathroom was fine and the shower was powerful and easy to use.

We booked a table in the restaurant in the evening which was quite busy. Our starter came quite quickly however there was quite a long delay between starter and main course (about 30 mins) so we ordered another bottle of wine but this didn't arrive so when we finished the main course we cancelled it. The man who we spoke to was really nice and apologised and when we got our bill he had taken some money off. The food was lovely - typical pub fod - and we enjoyed a drink in the bar after our meal.

Breakfast was great - lots of cooked options which are cooked to order and cereal, fresh fruit, pain au chocolats, muffins, toast, yoghurts, fruit juice etc. Again the lady who served the coffee was friendly and kept coming back to top up our drinks.

All in all this is a great hotel, which is credit to the staff, and one I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheArnolds013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

A well organised straightforward place, with no frills... Accommodation is in a separate Travelodge type building behind the main pub/restaurant.

However, there is nothing else nearby other than a large common which is pleasant for a walk around: The nearest shops and other restaurants are a drive away, so think about what you need before you arrive. Convenient for W London and M3.

The breakfast was run of the mill - but on an inclusive it wouldn't be fair to expect a gourmet offering, however there are several choices on offer.

Certainly one I wouldn't hesitate to book at again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thankyou very much for your kind and constructive comments, we look forward to seeing you again. Regards, General Manager, Luke Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed here for one night recently,found the hotel,friendly and clean,no complaints other than breakfast was not as good as expected It had been built up to such a high standard by other reviews,so we were a little dissappointed,but on saying that we would certainly book in there again ,(prehaps the staff were just having a bad morning).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jethro047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We used this hotel as a one night stopover as we wanted to visit Windsor. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet and we heard no road noise at all. Spacious room with giant bed , large flat screen TV, plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits. Free WIFI in the hotel.

The breakfast was amazing and plentiful. Staff all very friendly. We would visit again.

One thing to bear in mind though is that apart from the Lakes and the Common, there is not really much in this area so best to use it as a base.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mercerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yateley
0.6 mi away
The Casa Hotel
The Casa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yateley
626 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
3.4 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
2,006 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Camberley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ely? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ely

Address: (A 30 London Road | Blackwater, Camberley, Yateley GU17 9LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Yateley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yateley
Price Range: £67 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ely 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ely reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ely Hotel Yateley
Ely Hotel Yateley
The Ely Yateley, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing