We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding venue”
Review of The Ely

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ely
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yateley
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding venue”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Held our wedding reception here and had a perfect wedding. All the staff were so helpful ensuring our evening ran smoothly plus special thanks to Sam our wedding coordinator who helped organise our perfect reception, nothing was too much trouble. The BBQ was great, plenty of food, a mean chilli and curry followed later on for those who needed something to soak up the alcohol we can't recommend this brand new wedding venue enough, you won't be disappointed, plus good value bedrooms so you don't need to travel home and have that cooked breakfast before you do.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    197
    79
    28
    20
See reviews for
146
173
13
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yateley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We only live a few minutes from The Ely and so have been several times for a meal. Just returned home this evening after another good experience. We were warmly welcomed by Darren and given a nice table for two - gave 4 stars only for the reason that the Sunday Carvery had finished - so couldn't have a roast dinner - I guess we were late at 6.15pm - although it did say roasts served all day on the menu and they also didn't have any apple juice. Despite that slight disappointment - the service we received from Darren was very attentive, professional and polite. My husband especially enjoyed their house beer (Adams) and his Ultimate Burger was well cooked and my lamb cutlets were delicious and all very well priced. Thanks Darren - we will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Would highly recommend staying at The Ely. The rooms were very spacious, we had the family room. The food was fantastic and all the staff were very friendly. Room service available for breakfast and evening meal too! Plenty of parking too which was great :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leana2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were here for our son,s wedding Easter Saturday and stayed for 2nights.what a great time we all had because the hotel and hard working staff made our stay very enjoyable.room spacious with a comfy bed,great place to relax, great food,could not fault a thing Andy with his team thank you for making our son and daughter in law,s day really special.the newly built facility room was excellent. Looking forward to staying here again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 818sadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuweiba, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were invited to our Godson`s wedding reception at this venue which has just opened a new wing for such occasion`s. The building was ideal where we were served good food by very good waiters/waitresses and would recommend this venue to anyone looking for such a place. We also stayed in the hotel for the weekend and found the rooms very comfy and spacious, also the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I'd really like to give it 3.5 stars as it's better than "average", but not "very good". It is a typical Olde English Inns establishment...excellent value when you get one of their deals as we did.
It is a little tired but clean and efficient with a decent bar and restaurant.
Everything ran smoothly, the room was clean, if a little cramped and had all the necessary facilities, including the all important tea and coffee.
Breakfast (as always at Olde English Inns) was excellent, even for my non meat eating wife.
We ate in on one evening and it was typical chain pub fayre...acceptable but not outstanding.
In particular my chips (with a good steak) were overcooked and dry. However there was plenty of choice for my wife.
The bar had a pleasant atmosphere and a good selection of beers/wines etc. We had the wine of the month with our meal which at £8.95 a bottle was excellent value and perfectly quaffable.
Definitely worth a visit if you get one of their deals, but I wouldn't bother at full price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just returned from a night at The Ely, really can't fault it for value for money. Room was fine, clean, spacious (larger than other more expensive hotels we have stayed in), had an arm chair and a settee, tea/coffee, hair dryer, tv & an ironing board, bathroom was adequate. Meal was fine, reduced menu as it was Mother's Day, but what we had was fine, breakfast also ok, lovely poached egg, I asked for a lightly poached egg and that is exactly what I got, some places over cook their eggs (in my opinion), but not The Ely, it was spot on. Staff were all very good and friendly, especially the evening ones. We stayed here two years ago and were very satisfied and were not disappointed on our return, will certainly stay again when we are in the area. Keep up the good work Ely.

Room Tip: Stayed in downstairs room looking out to back garden last time, upstairs this time, looking to front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slainsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yateley
0.6 mi away
The Casa Hotel
The Casa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yateley
603 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
3.4 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#1 of 4 in Fleet
658 reviews
4.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,849 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crowthorne
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ely? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ely

Property: The Ely
Address: (A 30 London Road | Blackwater, Camberley, Yateley GU17 9LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Yateley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yateley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ely 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ely reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ely Hotel Yateley
Ely Hotel Yateley
The Ely Yateley, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing