We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clayhill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clayhill House
Ranked #8 of 23 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice little B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Quirkly little house, ideal for busy tourists who just need somewhere to have a cup of tea and lay their heads after a long day/night out. Rooms quaint and clean, bed was comfy. Only real issue was the busy main road next to the house, made it difficult to drift off at first. But owners were chatty and helpful, no complaints really!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JescaJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    25
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
62
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
luton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

A fab little B and B. Brilliant friendly hosting, a beautiful room at the front of the house and the best ever breakfast with the most delicious jams i have ever tasted. We walked for miles on our first day across the Forest and didn't even need to use the car and had the best meal ever at the Oak just a taxi drive away as recommended by the lovely owner.

If you are reading reviews don't listen to the rubbish ones. This is a special little place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Very welcomed by our host , the room at the front of the house is fantastic which we were shown to when we arrived. King size bed en suite shower room 2 setties coffee tray and tv in the room with dressing table and wardrobe. we were welcomed in the morning by a choice of breakfast being full English (or choice of items) yogurts fruit cereal tea coffee juice. Which we were surprised to have such a choice and was very tasty. If you are looking for a place to just lay your heads for a few nights highly recommend clayhill house. Only thing is you don't have a view of the forest fields only a main road and B&B car park which some people like. We didnt who cares when you can drive 1/2 mile up the road to the beautiful town or opposite direction to the beaulieu motor museum or the fantastic landscape fields/horses ect . We had such a lovely time here I will definitely return again !! Thank you for such a lovely stay .. P.s don't listen to any bad reviews they don't know what their talking about !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahFromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed just for one night while visiting someone close by. The room, amenities and service were all of a good standard and it was very clean. My room was at the front of the house though facing the road which was very noisy throughout the night. Although Lyndhurst is a quiet town the main road has a lot of lorries passing through 24 hours a day. If you're a light sleeper and need a good kip, I'd ask to be put in a room at the back if possible. However, in the morning I was treated to a delicious breakfast which made me forget my poor night's sleep. I'd definitely go back, just ask for a different room next time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here so that we could go to the New Forest Show. The owners are very friendly. The room we had (at the back of the building) was very large, clean and overlooked the garden, which had chickens. The cooked breakfast was delicious. The building is close to the road, which means that the rooms at the front could be a bit noisy. Our room was at the back, so noise was not a problem for us.

Room Tip: The room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian-and-kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here for 1 night with my husband before attending a wedding in Lymington the following day.
There had been a major accident on the road leading to the B&B so the owner offered to come and collect us from the Train Station!!! How's that for service!?
Our double room was delightful, with a huge comfy bed, seating area and dressing table. The bathroom (shower, toilet and sink) was small but immaculate and the towels provided were pristine and soft. Talking of things being provided, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, tea, coffee, horlicks, hot chocolate, small chocolate bars, boiled sweets and bottled water all laid on.
The full english breakfast was delicious and the New Forest Jams and Marmalade were scrumptious.
After breakfast we made the mistake of going back to bed for a quick nap - only to sleep through until 11am when we should have been checked out by 10.30am! Ooops! The owner and cleaner were very understanding so we left a tip and donation to their charity by way of an apology and a thank you for picking us up!
We wouldn't hesitate to stay again the next time we're visiting Lyndhurst.

Room Tip: Our double room was number 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank styles100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed at Clayhill House for a one night stay prior to a cruise. Lovely warm welcome and very comfortable room with hospitality tray and toiletries provided. Good selection of food for breakfast. The reason I marked the location down was because the house is on a busy main road and during the present heatwave it was difficult to have the windows open. However there was a fan in the room, which helped. Obviously little road noise with the windows closed!! Only a short drive into the beautiful New Forest. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
1.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayhill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayhill House

Property: Clayhill House
Address: Clay Hill House Clay Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayhill House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clayhill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayhill House Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing