We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous place in the New Forest”
other travellers have booked this property
Rear aspect of The Old School House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear aspect of The Old School House
Front of The Old School House Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Rear aspect of The Old School House
Front of The Old School House
Lounge
Dining area
Outside the house
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Kitchen
Sun Room
Rear Garden View
Bed 1
New Forest ponies outside the house
Bathroom 2
Bathroom 1
Sinks in Bathroom 1
Nearby walk
The Bramshaw Piggies asleep
Our local Highland cattle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lyndhurst, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Michele C
1 review
“Gorgeous place in the New Forest”
Reviewed 30 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Pictures do not do it justice!
Lovely, clean and spacious, equipped with everything you would need and more.
The garden was perfect for our dog and us to enjoy. Helen and Paul had even supplied the first bbq and a nice chilled bottle of wine.
We enjoyed some lovely walks at Bolderwood Deer Sanctuary and the New Forest Reptile Centre (dogs allowed) to name a few.
Also visited the local towns and pretty villages. Plus Salisbury, Southampton, Winchester and Bournemouth during our stay. Perfectly located!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2018
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and found everything you needed at The Old School House.

Helen and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely, Private, Quiet escape in the Country”
Reviewed 25 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Loads of positives:
- very conveniently located near motorway exit but not in the busy Lyndhurst town area
- private and safe
- modern and clean and warm ! (weather during our stay was poor)
- full access to garden
- kitchen well equipped
- a very handy welcome pack on arrival
- quality finishings throughout
- a brilliant base for exploring the New Forest.
- Bramshaw location has wild cows, donkeys, pigs wandering around the streets so a chance to experience the 'real' New Forest
- some great drinking and dining locations nearby

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2018
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Old School House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Feb 2018
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had the chance to see so much of the near by area during your stay.

Helen and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Snowbabe8...
England
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Christmas break”
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Old Schoolhouse for a week over Christmas, just my husband and I for the first 4 days and then a couple of friends joined us for the rest of the week. The cottage is well located and easy to find (even in the dark!). It is not too far from most of the places you would want to visit in the New Forest. The cottage is lovely - well equipped, spacious, clean and comfortable - the official photos do not do it justice! There are a couple of pubs close by (The Green Dragon was good for dinner) and there are supermarkets within a 10-20 minute drive.

Helen and Paul had decorated the sun room with a beautiful Christmas tree and Christmas table decorations including crackers, a gift and card for us!

There were some issues with the heating prior to our visit which Helen and Paul did their best to get fixed given the time of year; it was working but not as well as it should have been, however with the log burner the cottage remained warm enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2018
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind comments. Whilst we were relieved the heating was working for your arrival, after we had let you know the day before your arrival that it had failed, we are sorry that it was not fully sorted in terms of balance between rooms but we were pleased we found a plumber who by luck had the part to repair it on his van before Christmas for you.

We are glad you still enjoyed your stay and we also appreciated your comments to improve the house further.

Kind regards

Helen and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Nov 2017
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again to explore some more of the New Forest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LLBBSSSS2...
2 reviews
“Perfect base”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just stayed 4 nights at The Old Schoolhouse with a toddler and baby. The property was extremely clean and perfectly suited for our young family. The location is excellent and it was lovely to have our own large enclosed garden. We would definitely recommend it to others and will look to return ourselves!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future to explore more of the New Forest and surrounding sites.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C M
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous - Not like the what we remember school as !”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The stunning old school house is situated in a quiet location surrounded by beautiful countryside. Some lovely welcome touches on arrival such as wine from the local vineyard (it tastes delicious and we visited for more). There are a variety of pubs & restaurants all within a short distance along with shops and supermarkets a little further away (within 10mins drive typically). The property is very well decorated with large spacious areas. The kitchen was is well equipped and the large conservatory / glass room is a gorgeous setting for an evening meal. We enjoyed many walks direct from the house, in particular the 'Royal Oak' at Fritham. The quiche and gammon come highly recommended. There is a huge amount of free roaming animals in the area - Pigs, horses, sheep - which all added to the wonderful location. The house is an ideal location to visit all areas of the new forest, Portsmouth, Bournemouth etc. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments on The Old School House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing