We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in the heart of the New forest.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Acres Down House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyndhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acres Down House
Ranked #13 of 23 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay in the heart of the New forest.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We visited Acres Down House in May 2013, based on the excellent reviews we'd seen and we weren't in the least bit disappointed!
Lindsay and David are incredibly warm and friendly, as we found out even before our arrival there. We'd mailed them asking quite a number of questions and Lindsay called back promptly and answered them all (and more) very patiently and pleasantly.
On arrival we were shown to our rooms which were really pleasant and beautifully kept.

Breakfast was really generous and the dining-room was gorgeous. An additional attraction was the guest-lounge with the TV and several games as well as the great bookcase outside the lounge that had a wonderful collection.

The cycle track begins right outside the door.
The only thing to keep in mind is that the B&B is not easily accessible from Lyndhurst without a car or a taxi as there are no buses that go here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank numberdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Lovely B&B. Very friendly couple; nice en suite room in a lovely house. Good breakfast. The main attraction on this B&B is that it is right in the heart of the New Forest, you can walk in the woods directly from the house.
Please note, however, that this is Acres Down House not to be confused with Acres Down Farm, which you will come across first along the track leading to the Acres Down area. The lady at Acres Down Farm has clearly been asked too many times and was not particularly polite or nice about the confusion!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BexW150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We were lucky to find this B&B at the last minute a few years ago. Since then we have been back at least 3 times. The B&B is very quiet and peaceful with direct access to the forest - the location is quite isolated which is perfect for us, although there are a few good local pubs for lunch & dinner. The closest two are walking distance (within an hours walk), again this is perfect for us but may be a tad too far for some people.
The rooms are always clean and have everything you could need included for a comfortable stay. The hosts are lovely, very welcoming and serve a fantastic breakfast. What more could you need?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayandKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is better than can be described, best will be to experience it yourself. Acres Down House is truly what it says in these reviews, the hospitality, the cleanliness, the service, the facilities, the location, …… & the breakfast is so tasty, served in a beautifully decorated room by David – with a smile, huge pots of tea and coffee to start your day ready to be enjoyed. The surrounding tranquility at its best, the house offers so much more with a guest lounge, fully equipped rooms including TV, hair dryer, hospitality tray and is tastefully decorated with everything crisp and fresh.
This place will certainly not only recommended to our friends but certainly visited again. Great hosts – thank you David and Lindsay for sharing your beautiful home with us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

What a great find! Excellent value, new bathroom, comfortable and clean room. So quiet. Lovely hosts who were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast included some of the best scrambled egg. Get place to spend the weekend. Would definitely recommend it and we will coming back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perugia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Beautiful and comfortable room, brand new bathroom. Everything is extremely clean and well kept. Breakfast was really really great! Also, we had a problem in the airport and could get there only very late at night, causing them some trouble, but the owners were very kind.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnSey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Such a lovely BnB! Chickens, dogs and horses set in lovely grounds.
Met by the owners who were extremely friendly and helpful.
Our room was clean and the bed very comfortable! Had a lovely nights sleep.
Breakfast was tasty and good choice!

Lovely home away from home!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules6525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
5.3 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
5.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.0 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#11 of 11 in Brockenhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acres Down House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acres Down House

Property: Acres Down House
Address: Minstead, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7GE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Acres Down House Hotel Lyndhurst
Acres Down House Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing