We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Acres Down House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyndhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acres Down House
Ranked #14 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A really lovely B&B:
- Extremely welcoming and friendly owners
- Fantastic breakfast (best cooked breakfast I've had in ages, and I stay in a lot of hotels on business)
- Spotless, comfortable and well equipped room & bathroom
- Great location: you really feel like you're staying right in the forest

That alone would of got 5 stars for me. However, on the last day my girlfriend was taken ill with a stomach bug. Rather than attempt the 2 hour drive home when we were due to check out that morning, the owners were kind enough to let us stay in the room until 6pm that night. This obviously made a huge difference to us!

Couldn't of asked for more - thanks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicopolous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful three night break at Acres Down House. It's clean, comfortable, warm, welcoming and caters for your every need. The breakfasts were delicious and location lovely and peaceful. It is the nicest B&B I've been to and I thoroughly recommend it. Try the New Forest Inn for an evening meal. Great food and lots of choice.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Beautiful setting for this large detached house with gardens and a paddock, run by a friendly slightly-older couple. It's a family home, beautifully maintained, lots of nice little touches (plenty of classic books, an old curling-stone as a doorstop) and all the facilities you could want. Our room had a large bed, its own thermostat, very powerful shower, tea/coffee making things, TV, garden/forest view. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order, and while not the most extravagant menu, certainly more than adequate for our tastes. You can walk directly from the main gate out into the forest on a bridleway/cycle track, or go off through the trees on less well-trodden paths and go pony-spotting. The farm around the corner does cream teas in the summer months, and there are a couple of pubs doing decent food, each about a mile or so away (though probably best to drive if it's dark along those lanes). And it's all a ten minute drive from Lyndhurst. For £70. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyMateGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wotton-under-Edge
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed with David and Lindsay on a weekend break with friends and it was all I could ask for. Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful who live in a stunning house set in 5 acres in the New Forest, an area of outstanding natural beauty. Breakfast was very good the rooms were very clean and comfortable, especially the bed. We were made to feel very welcome and they had very good advice on where to eat. The only downside was that I didn't get to use their tennis court, no one in our party wanted to play and despite David's best attempts to get one of his sons to give me a game, it didn't happen (not David's fauly) However I did get to practice my golf chipping on their lawn!!! and also had some lovely walks from their house into the forest.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I chose this B&B because of its excellent reviews & we were not let down when we arrived. Beautiful house amongst the forest, clean & well equipped bedrooms.
Breakfast was gorgeous & set us up well for the day ahead.
The only blip we had was a air lock in the water pipe which caused a terrible noise in the night but was quickly resolved when the owners were informed & they could not apologise enough for the disturbance which obviously doesn't happen regularly.
Keep an eye out for the deers & white stag which we were lucky enough to see one evening as they were grazing on the lawn.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janio27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We visited Acres Down House in May 2013, based on the excellent reviews we'd seen and we weren't in the least bit disappointed!
Lindsay and David are incredibly warm and friendly, as we found out even before our arrival there. We'd mailed them asking quite a number of questions and Lindsay called back promptly and answered them all (and more) very patiently and pleasantly.
On arrival we were shown to our rooms which were really pleasant and beautifully kept.

Breakfast was really generous and the dining-room was gorgeous. An additional attraction was the guest-lounge with the TV and several games as well as the great bookcase outside the lounge that had a wonderful collection.

The cycle track begins right outside the door.
The only thing to keep in mind is that the B&B is not easily accessible from Lyndhurst without a car or a taxi as there are no buses that go here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank numberdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Lovely B&B. Very friendly couple; nice en suite room in a lovely house. Good breakfast. The main attraction on this B&B is that it is right in the heart of the New Forest, you can walk in the woods directly from the house.
Please note, however, that this is Acres Down House not to be confused with Acres Down Farm, which you will come across first along the track leading to the Acres Down area. The lady at Acres Down Farm has clearly been asked too many times and was not particularly polite or nice about the confusion!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BexW150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
2.0 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
832 reviews
5.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,175 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,061 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acres Down House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acres Down House

Property: Acres Down House
Address: Minstead, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7GE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Acres Down House Hotel Lyndhurst
Acres Down House Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing