We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful lunch”
Review of Lime Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lime Wood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
southampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful lunch”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Went for lunch in The Scullery restaurant as a Xmas gift from our Daughter. She has now been deemed daughter of the month!!
Food was amazing, staff were very courteous and professional without being over bearing, as sometimes can happen in these sort of hotels.
Will be returning again as soon as possible. The afternoon teas and cream teas looked amazing and were very reasonably priced so will try to sample these very soon.
The Lime Wood isn't cheap for it's lunch time menu but is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewitSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    220
    116
    53
    28
See reviews for
222
678
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stayed here summer 2011. We were upgraded to a corner room and it was fantastic with lovely pillows, furnishings and a view of the back garden area. Dinner was lovely in Scullery and the coffee out on the terrace was some of the best brewed coffee i have ever had to drink, and I am a New Yorker, so i know my coffee. Overall it was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandJNYUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I do not deliver a 5star reward easily on Trip Advisor but to my standards Limewood gets it right, not just in terms of the amenities, but the service was also excellent. Once a very dated "Parkhill" hotel, it is now a proper high end establishment with very up to date features. We stayed in a Pavilion room, generally very well appointed (apart from a temperamental fireplace) and the spa/pool area is possibly the best we have attended for years in the UK. Food at the scullery is good value and so is the breakfast....starting at £5. This is serious competition to the nearby Chewton Glenn (very expensive and more formal) or the Four Seasons Hampshire (same). Well done.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Frankieandcharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Lime Wood is a class act. We couldn't fault it. We had a family birthday tea there in December and stayed the night. The tea was great and the staff were consistently courteous and professional. We ate in the Scullery which was fine but we couldn't do it full justice as we were still full of cakes, sandwiches and scones. Our room in the crescent was extremely comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the log fire. Our only wish is that we could afford to stay more often.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seniorvasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I took a small group of senior staff for a pre christmas meal, choosing the Lime wood Hotel as it is a stunning place in a fantastic setting!

I have been to the Lime Wood for lunch on a few occasions and everything was fine. Now without this sounding like an overcritical whinge, I do feel that if certain hotels and restaurants promote themselves to be at the top end of service and quality they should ensure that these standards are delivered. (Especially as this is what you pay for)

Our meal at the Scullery was very average, we ordered two lobster and fillet steak main courses at £45.00 the steak was overcooked and the lobster was drowned in bernaise sauce. The other mains were ok but lacked and wow factor.

I asked for a bottle of sauternes desert wine as a treat with our deserts to be told by the waiter that they didn't have any!! About 10 minutes later he returned with a wine list with a half page choice of bottles, by this stage it was too late as everyone had finished there desserts?

Such a shame I will think twice about returning!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sichal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband treated me for my birthday last September 2011. We were greeted and checked into our room, which was lovely, bottle of champagne on their beautiful outside terrace overlooking the grounds and forest. We used the spa which was excellent. Dinner was very good, we tried the 'tasting' menu and the sommelier was very good in helping us select our wines. After dinner we decided to have a brandy in one of the many anti/study rooms, these are all beautifully decorated, we found a room that had the fire on which added the perfect touch. Following day we cycled to their sister hotel 'The Pig' (longer journey than we had been told !) and enjoyed some of their 'piggy bits' - overall we had the most perfect stay, just a couple of negatives (very small ones) 1. we had to open and pour our champagne, 2, the gears on one of bicycles didn't work. 3. A few too many children around for my liking, but it was at the end of the school summer holidays .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totally1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

we were welcomed warmly,the grounds were beautiful and the staff superb.The lime wood is without doubt luxurious,your every need is catered for,food excellent.A pure joy.Thank you everybody for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: the lodge rooms are exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
9.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
5.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Wood Hotel

Property: Lime Wood Hotel
Address: Beaulieu Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lime Wood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lime Wood, a boutique country house hotel in England, is set in the heart of the New Forest National Park, 1.5 miles from the small town of Lyndhurst and just an hour and a half drive from London. We like to think of ourselves as a luxury country house hotel with a difference. We've used Lime Wood's classical structure as the basis of our design but we've lovingly renovated it with a fresh approach, reviving its architecture and grounds. We've kept the spirit of its past, taken inspiration from its extraordinarily beautiful surroundings and added the odd contemporary twist to bring it to life. The food is by Luke Holder and Angela Hartnett. With its proximity to London, our New Forest boutique hotel really is the ultimate countryside getaway; perfect for weekend breaks, a dash from the city, or an escape from home; whatever your motivations, we can't wait to show you around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS so you can book your Lime Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime Wood Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing